肝臟知識

  • 肝臟是人體最大及新陳代謝功能最複雜的器官。
  • 肝臟有500多種功能,包括對抗疾病感染、中和有毒物質、製造蛋白質和賀爾蒙、控制血糖水平及幫助血液凝固等。
  • 肝臟是唯一能自我再生的器官,因此可以從一位捐贈者以活體移植部份肝臟給另一位接受者。當移植部份肝臟之後,捐贈者體內的肝臟會自我再生至原來的體積,而被移植的肝臟部份亦會生長至適合接受者的體積。
  • 肝臟的希臘文是“hepar”,因此很多有關肝臟的英文醫學名詞都是以“hepato”或“hepatic”開首。
  • 在任可時間中,肝臟儲存著您體內約10的血液,而它每分鐘約泵出1.4公升的血液。
  • Dr. Thomas E. Starzl 1963年在科羅拉多大學( University of Colorado)的醫學院進行首次人體肝臟移植,但由於缺乏有效的抑制免疫力藥物,令手術的成功受到限制。四年後,因為有更有效的抑制免疫力藥物出現,讓Dr. Starzl進行了首次成功的肝臟移植。 
  • 加拿大首次肝臟移植,由 Dr. Pierre Daloze 1970年在魁北克的滿地可進行。
  • 希臘人認為肝臟能反映一個人的情感。他們進行所謂的「祭牲剖肝占卜術」(hepatoscopy),以牛或山羊作祭品,剖腹檢查牠們的肝臟來預知他們的軍隊會否作戰成功。希臘人視肝臟為最接近神靈的器官。
義工
捐款
分享您的故事

Liver Facts


  • The liver is the largest internal and most metabolically complex organ in humans.

  • The liver performs over 500 different functions including fighting off infection, neutralizing toxins, manufacturing proteins and hormones, controlling blood sugar and helping to clot the blood.

  • The liver is the only organ that can regenerate itself thus making it possible for one person to donate part of their liver to another person. When a portion of the liver is transplanted, the donor's liver will regenerate back to its original size while the transplanted portion will grow to the appropriate size for the recipient.

  • The Greek word for liver is 'hepar' -­ that's why medical terms related to the liver often start in 'hepato'- or 'hepatic'.

  • At any one time, the liver contains about 10% of the blood in your body and it pumps about 1.4 litres through per minute.

  • Dr. Thomas E. Starzl performed the first human liver transplant in 1963 at the University of Colorado Medical School; however, lack of effective immunosuppressive drugs limited the success. Four years later, the availability of more effective immunosuppressives enabled Dr. Starzl to perform the first successful liver transplant.

  • The first liver transplant in Canada was performed by Dr. Pierre Daloze in Montreal, Quebec in 1970.

  • For the Greeks, the liver was considered the seat of the emotions. They practised something called 'hepatoscopy' which involved sacrificing oxen or goats and examining their livers to determine whether their military campaigns would succeed or fail. The Greeks viewed the liver as being the organ in closest contact with divinity.
VOLUNTEER
DONATE NOW
YOUR STORY