卡尔加里慈善晚会

Calgary Gala photo group

2019 卡尔加里LIVERight 慈善晚会

支持肝脏研究和教育的筹款晚会。

2019年11月22日,Sheraton Cavalier,卡尔加里 第6届年度LIVERight慈善晚会。 这一年度筹款活动将为来宾提供一流的娱乐、美食,以及与患者和知名肝脏专家交流的机会。 晚会将为您呈现精彩的表演、抽奖、无声拍卖和现场竞拍,以及颁奖典礼。

肝病可能影响四分之一的加拿大人,包括男士、女士和儿童。 今年,我们将表彰 Dr. Kelly Burak,卡尔加里大学医学系教授、南阿尔伯塔肝脏移植中诊所总监。

日期与时间

星期五, 2019年11月22
6:00 PM – 12:30 AM MDT

地点

Sheraton Cavalier
2620 32 Ave NE
Calgary, AB T1Y 6B8

Kwan Family shot

We are happy to announce that this year we will  be honouring our Champions, Carolyn and Warren Kwan and Family. The Kwan Family have been Champions of the cause and great supporters of the CLF since Dylan was diagnosed with biliary atresia fourteen years ago. They have supported many of our events, in particular the STROLL for LIVER, and they have raised a great amount of funding for liver research over the years.

Come meet this outstanding family and be inspired by their contagious enthusiasm and commitment to liver health. Buy tickets today! 

 

票价每张 $150  ($50 退税收据)包括小吃、三道菜晚宴、娱乐及更多精彩。

每桌票价 $1200  ( 8 位, 包括 $400 退税收据)

 点击此处购票!

 2019年活动赞助机会,请联系 Debralee 或者致电 (403) 276-3390

Head Shot of Dr. Kelly

Kelly W. Burak, MD, FRCPC, MSc(Epid)

持续医学教育与专业发展副院长
医师学习项目(PLP)联合负责人
医学与肿瘤学系教授
卡明医学院
卡尔加里大学

Kelly Burak博士在萨斯喀彻温大学(University of Saskatchewan)获得理学士学位(生物学)、医学博士学位及内科医学培训,后在卡尔加里大学(University of Calgary)完成了胃肠病学培训,之后又于卡尔加里大学(University of Calgary) 完成了CASL / MRC肝病研究奖学金实习,于明尼苏达州罗切斯特市梅奥诊所完成了肝病和肝移植临床研究奖学金实习。 2005年,Burak博士在卡尔加里大学获得流行病学硕士学位,并于2012年自澳大利亚阿德莱德的弗林德斯大学(University in Adelaide)获得了临床教育研究生证书。

Burak博士现是卡尔加里大学的医学教授,并交叉任职于肿瘤学系。自2001年以来,他一直担任艾伯塔省南部肝脏移植诊所的主任。Burak博士刊发过80余篇同行评审的出版物,其中包括加拿大有关病毒性肝炎和HCC管理的临床实践指南。

他对医学教育充满热情,曾荣获多项本地和全国性的教学奖,包括加拿大胃肠病学协会青年教育者奖。 2017年,Burak博士成为卡尔加里大学继续医学教育和专业发展的副院长以及内科医生学习计划的联合负责人。

2019年活动赞助机会,请联系 Debralee 或致电 (403) 276-3390

2019 National Sponsors.

Silver

Speciality Rx Solutions logo

Bronze

2018 LIVERight 嘉宾

塔亚 与珍妮弗(Taya & Jennifer)

Jennifer Taya and sister Tyren塔亚的肝病历程始于2007年8月份,当她刚刚降生于这个世界的时候。 她出生后的几个星期里,一切如预计的一样正常;尽管她的眼睛和皮肤有些许发黄,她正常地发育并成长。

“她有10个小脚趾和手指,以及一对非常健康的肺,”塔亚的妈妈珍妮弗说。 “当我们问护士黄色是怎么回事时,他们说可能是母乳黄疸”。

后来,由于一位朋友(在艾伯塔省儿童医院工作的护士)的建议,珍妮弗和她的丈夫将塔亚送到急诊室。 他们的生活很快发生了翻天覆地的变化。

塔亚被诊断为新生儿胆道闭锁,一种新生儿和儿童肝功能衰竭首要成因的肝脏疾病,她的父母感到非常震惊。 在刚刚11周的时候,塔亚接受了为期5个小时的手术 ——“Kasai手术”,以防止她的肝脏进一步受损,并挽救她的肝脏。 手术很成功,但有一点是肯定的:将来她需要接受肝移植手术…… 点击阅读全文

图片回顾

Calgary Gala

Calgary Gala photo group

Calgary LIVERight Gala 2019

A Fundraiser in Support of Liver Research and Education.

Join us for Calgary’s 6th Annual LIVERight Gala on November 22nd, 2019 at the Sheraton Cavalier. This annual fundraiser event provides guests a night of top-notch entertainment, gourmet food, and the opportunity to mingle with patients and liver specialists who are making a difference. The evening comes alive with exciting performances, prize draws, silent and live auctions, and award ceremonies.

Liver disease may affect one in four Canadians – men, women and children. This year we will honour Dr. Kelly Burak, currently a Professor of Medicine at the University of Calgary where he serves as the Director of the Southern Alberta Liver Transplant Clinic.

 

DATE AND TIME

Friday November 22, 2019
6:00 PM – 12:30 AM MDT

LOCATION

Sheraton Cavalier
2620 32 Ave NE
Calgary, AB T1Y 6B8

Tickets $150 each  ($50 tax receipt) Includes hors d’oeuvres, three-course dinner, entertainment and much more.

Tables $1200  (seats 8, includes $400 tax receipt)

Buy tickets today! 

For 2019 sponsorship opportunities, please contact Debralee or call us at (403) 276-3390

Head Shot of Dr. Kelly

Kelly W. Burak, MD, FRCPC, MSc(Epid)

Associate Dean, Continuing Medical Education & Professional Development
Co-Lead, Physician Learning Program (PLP)
Professor, Departments of Medicine and Oncology
Cumming School of Medicine
University of Calgary

Dr. Kelly Burak received his BSc (Biology), MD and Internal Medicine training at the University of Saskatchewan before completing training in Gastroenterology in Calgary. He completed a CASL/MRC Research Fellowship in Hepatology at the University of Calgary followed by a Clinical Fellowship in Hepatology and Liver Transplantation at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. In 2005, Dr. Burak was awarded his MSc in Epidemiology from the University of Calgary, and in 2012 he obtained a Graduate Certificate in Clinical Education from Flinders University in Adelaide, Australia.

Dr. Burak is currently a Professor of Medicine at the University of Calgary and is cross-appointed to the Department of Oncology. He has been the Director of the Southern Alberta Liver Transplant Clinic since 2001. Dr. Burak has more than 80 peer-reviewed publications, which include Canadian clinical practice guidelines on the management of viral hepatitis and HCC.

He has a passion for Medical Education and has won a number of teaching awards, both locally and nationally, including the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology Young Educator Award. In 2017, Dr. Burak became the Associate Dean of Continuing Medical Education & Professional Development at the University of Calgary and the Co-Lead of the Physician Learning Program.

For 2019 sponsorship opportunities, please contact Debralee or call us at (403) 276-3390

2018 LIVERight Special Guest

Taya & Jennifer

Jennifer Taya and sister TyrenTaya’s journey with liver disease began in August of 2007 when she entered into the world. The first couple weeks of life went according to plan; she was developing and growing normally, despite a nagging yellow tinge in her eyes and skin.

“She had 10 little toes and fingers, and a set of very good lungs,” says Jennifer, Taya’s mom. “When we asked nurses what the yellow tinge could be, they suggested that perhaps it was breastmilk jaundice”.

Later due to the advice of a friend (a nurse at the Alberta Children’s Hospital), Jennifer and her husband were advised to take Taya to the emergency room. Their world would soon be turned upside.

Taya was diagnosed as a newborn with biliary atresia, a liver disease that is the leading cause of liver failure in newborns and children, her parents were in absolute shock. At just 11 weeks-old, Taya underwent a five-hour surgery called the “Kasai procedure” required to prevent further damage on her liver and save her liver. The surgery was a success, but one thing was certain; Taya would need a liver transplant in her future. Read full story here.

Photo Gallery