儿童非酒精性脂肪肝病(NAFLD)

儿童非酒精性脂肪肝病(NAFLD)

为什么你的肝脏很重要?

肝脏在体内具有许多重要功能,包括分解体内有毒物质,代谢和储存能量,帮助消化,分解和储存营养物质(如脂肪,碳水化合物,蛋白质和维生素和矿物质)从你吃的食物中获得。 肝脏通过产生胆汁帮助身体消化吸收脂肪和一些维生素。 当肝脏受损时,身体会出现问题,例如体内毒素和废物含量过高或肝脏内脂肪堆积。 当肝脏受伤时,许多这些正常功能受损。

什么是非酒精性脂肪肝病 (NAFLD)?

多余脂肪储存在肝脏时发生NAFLD。 这会对肝脏造成伤害,使其难以进行正常的活动。 脂肪在肝脏中的积聚可导致炎症增加和更严重的肝脏疾病,称为非酒精性脂肪性肝炎(NASH)。 脂肪肝和/或NASH均代表称为NAFLD的肝脏疾病谱。

谁可能有NAFLD,它是如何形成的?

在加拿大,NAFLD被认为发生在五分之一的超重或肥胖儿童中。但是,它也可能发生在体重标准、但腰围比其他同样体重和身高的同龄人大的儿童身上。 非酒精性脂肪肝病在男孩中比在女孩中更常见,并且往往发生在高加索人或南亚人的血统中。也较常见于家庭成员中有人患脂肪肝或II型糖尿病的儿童中。非酒精性脂肪肝病的成因,与进食高脂肪与高单糖食物、不活跃的生活方式等因素有关,特别是在超重或肥胖的儿童或青少年中。

儿童NAFLD如何诊断?

在儿童期,脂肪肝可以由多种疾病引起,包括与铜代谢问题(如威尔森氏症)、病毒性肝炎或多种自身免疫性疾病相关的病症。请务必让医生检查,首先确认您的孩子没有这些疾病;只有当所有其他潜在的原因被排除后,才能够确诊儿童的非酒精性脂肪肝病。如果医生或医护人员认为您的小孩有非酒精性脂肪肝病的风险,他们可能需要进行一些血液检查和腹部超声检查,以确认您的小孩是否患有非酒精性脂肪肝病。请谘询您的医生,了解孩子需要接受什麽类型的测试,以确诊是否患有非酒精性脂肪肝病。

NAFLD的症状是什么?

大多数患有非酒精性脂肪肝病的儿童没有任何与脂肪肝相关的症状。 然而,对于那些出现症状的人来说,最常见的是全身疲劳或虚弱。 虽然很少见,但有些孩子也可能出现呕吐和肝脏肿大引起的压痛。

儿童健康体重

确定孩子的体重是否在健康范围内的最佳工具,是 在生长曲线图上绘制您的孩子的体重和身体质量指数(BMI)。 当您的孩子的体重或BMI介于第三百分位数和95百分位数之间时,属于健康体重。 如果您孩子的BMI高于95th百分位,则属于肥胖。 如果您孩子的BMI介于85th百分位数和95th百分位数之间,则他们可能超重。 重要的是要遵循孩子在增长曲线上“追踪”的“趋势”,而不仅仅是一个时间点。 记住你的孩子正在成长,所以你应该期望孩子的BMI会随着时间的推移而改变。

BMI的计算方法,是以您孩子的体重(千克)除以孩子身高(米)的平方。

BMI =体重_____

身高x身高

腰围(WC)

测量腰围和你的孩子的身高可以帮助你确定你的孩子是否在他们身体的中间附近堆积了额外的脂肪。 以同样的方式测量你的孩子的腰围是很重要的,每次完成。 最好的方法是用卷尺轻轻地将它包裹在孩子的腰部上,距离肚脐上方约2厘米。 确保卷尺平放在身体上并将两端放在一起。 不要拉紧,但要让它轻轻贴在孩子的皮肤上。

您为孩子的WC获得的确切数字并不重要,因为每个孩子以不同的比率成长,因此每个孩子可能有不同的数字。 一般的经验法则是测量孩子的WC与身高之间的比例(cm)。 大于0.5的比率可能意味着孩子可能在他们的中间周围存放一点额外的脂肪。 但是,这并不意味着您的孩子有NAFLD。

腰高比= 腰围(cm)

身高(cm)

NAFLD的治疗方法是什么? 

对非酒精性脂肪肝病并没有特定的医学治疗方法。然而,改变生活方式和减轻体重可以帮助逆转脂肪肝病,防止肝脏进一步受损。目前,对于脂肪肝病的儿童,建议遵循 《加拿大食品指南》吃得健康,摄取均衡的饮食。饮食应该减少 脂肪和含糖食品,如含糖饮料和/或油炸食品,应重点关注各种食品,包括新鲜水果和蔬菜,全谷物,瘦肉和/或乳制品。

吃均衡和健康的饮食可以很有趣!

  • 父母,包括您的孩子准备膳食以及决定从杂货店购买哪些食物。 它可以很有趣。
  • 遵循《加拿大食品指南》建议的每日食物种类及数量的摄取(视年龄和性别而不同)。
  • 阅读加工食品标签,并尝试选择更健康的食品
  • 避免饮食软饮料(或至少饮用无糖型),巧克力和糖果
  • 用全新鲜水果代替水果饮料
  • 用脱脂或1代替全脂牛奶和酸奶%
  • 更经常使用全麦面包/谷物,例如添加一半最喜欢的燕麦片或更健康的谷物
  • 选择低脂肉类
  • 添加更多的蔬菜(份量占半个餐盘)

请咨询注册营养师,了解如何为您的肝脏提供更健康的饮食。

增加运动可以很有趣!

身体活动很重要! 但也是重要的 减少您的久坐活动时间。 这里有一些技巧,可以减少您在久坐活动中花费的时间并变得更加活跃!

  • 全家出门时,尝试可以多走路的方式
  • 坐公交时提前一站下车
  • 走楼梯而不是乘坐电梯
  • 滑滑板,骑自行车或步行,而不开车
  • 在家里做一些杂事(铲雪,携带杂货或清洁)
  • 跳舞到你喜欢的音乐
  • 去操场活动或散步
  • 减少静坐在电脑或者电视前的时间,并经常休息(起身和走动一下)
  • 教师:在日常课堂活动中建立积极的机会,并鼓励学生加入学校运动队,或者干脆在教室里走动。 这是多么令人惊讶的是,在学校里散步有多少乐趣可以作为一个群体!

点击这里 查看《加拿大青少年体力活动指南》。

支持

全国帮助热线:
这种支持资源可以让您和您所爱的人在诊断后找到答案,帮助您了解您的疾病,并为您提供所需的资源。 你可以打电话 1-800-563 5483 , 周一至周五,从9 AM到5 PM EST。

病友支持网络:
这是一个由肝病患者组成的全国性网络,供患者们分享各自的经历。它是由加拿大肝脏基金会组织,旨在将有同样经历的人联系在一起,包括家中有肝病患者的人,照顾肝病患者的人,或曾被诊断为患有肝病的人,令人们可以与有相同经历者讨论自己的顾虑。

如果您想与您所在地区的同行支持者联系或希望加入同行支持网络,请拨打全国帮助热线 1-800-563 5483 , 或发送电子邮件 Chinese@liver.ca

请咨询您的医疗保健提供商,以获取如何增加体力活动的提示。

记住,每次的小小的改变,会对你的整体肝脏健康起重要作用!

基于2017四月份的最新信息。

 

助人助己!  如果您对刚刚阅读的信息,或我们网站上的任何信息不满意,请花一点时间,发邮件给我们,告诉我们您对所希望看到的内容的意见和建议。请在您的电子邮件的主题行中包含您要评论的页面。请点击此处发送电子邮件。

NAFLD in Childhood

Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease (NAFLD) in Childhood

Why is your liver important?

The liver has many important functions in the body including the ability to break down toxic substances in the body, metabolize and store energy and to help with digestion, breakdown and storage of nutrients (e.g fat, carbohydrate, proteins and vitamins and minerals) that you get from the foods that you eat.  The liver helps the body to digest and absorb fat and some vitamins by producing bile.  When the liver becomes damaged, the body can experience problems such as high levels of toxins and waste substances in the body or the build-up of fat in the liver.  When the liver is injured, many of these normal functions become impaired.

What is NAFLD?

NAFLD occurs when excess fat is stored in the liver.  This can cause damage to the liver making it harder to perform its normal activities. The accumulation of fat in the liver can lead to increased inflammation and a more serious liver disease called nonalcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH).  Both fatty liver and/or NASH represent the spectrum of the liver disease that is called NAFLD.

Who can get NAFLD and how is it caused?

In Canada, NAFLD is thought to occur in one in five overweight or obese children.  However, it can also occur in children with healthy body weights but who may have larger waist circumferences than other children of the same weight and height.  NAFLD is more common in boys than girls and tends to occur in children of Caucasian or South Asian ancestry.  It is also more common in children who have family members with fatty livers or type 2 diabetes. The cause of NAFLD is understood to be related to factors such as diets high in fatty foods and simple sugars and inactive lifestyles, particularly in children or adolescents who are overweight or obese.

How is NAFLD diagnosed in children?

In childhood, a fatty liver can be caused by a variety of disorders including those related to problems with copper metabolism (e.g Wilson Disease), viral hepatitis or a variety of autoimmune diseases.  It is very important that your doctor makes sure that your child does not have these conditions first.  Hence, NAFLD can only be diagnosed in children once all other potential causes of fatty liver have been ruled out.  If your doctor or healthcare provider thinks your child may be at risk for NAFLD, they may order some blood tests and an ultrasound of the abdomen to determine whether your child has NAFLD or not.  Consult your doctor about what types of tests your child needs to undergo to determine if your child has NAFLD. 

What are the symptoms of NAFLD?

Most children with NAFLD do not experience any symptoms associated with fatty liver. However, for those that do present with symptoms, the most commonly experienced is generalized fatigue or weakness.  Although rare, some children may also present with vomiting and tenderness of an enlarged liver. 

Healthy Body Weights for Children

The best tool to decide if your child’s body weight is in the healthy range is to plot your child’s weight and body mass index (BMI) on growth curves.  A healthy body weight is when your child’s weight or BMI falls between the third percentile and the 95th percentile. If your child’s BMI is above the 95th percentile then your child is obese.  If your child’s BMI is between the 85th percentile and 95th percentile, they may be overweight. It is important to follow the ‘trend’ of where your child is ‘tracking’ on the growth curve and not just one point in time. Remember your child is growing and so you should expect that your child’s BMI will change with time. 

BMI is calculated as your child’s weight (in kg) divided by your child’s height (in meters) squared.

BMI =  weight_____

           height x height

Waist Circumference (WC)

Measuring waist circumference and your child’s height can help you determine if your child is depositing extra fat around the middle of their body. It is important to measure your child’s waist circumference, in the same way, each time it is done. The best way is to take a tape measure and gently wrap it around your child’s waist approximately 2 cm above the belly button. Make sure the tape measure lays flat on the body and bring the ends together. Do not pull tight, but let it rest gently against the child’s skin.

The exact number that you get for a child’s WC is not what is important as each child grows at different rates and so each child may have a different number.  A general rule of thumb is to measure the ratio between your child’s WC and their height (in cm).  A ratio of greater than 0.5 may mean the child may be depositing a little extra fat around their middle. However, it does NOT mean your child has NAFLD.  

Waist-to-height ratio = WC (cm)

                                     Height (cm)

What is the treatment for NAFLD? 

There is no specific medical treatment for non-alcoholic fatty liver disease. However, lifestyle changes and weight loss can help to reverse fatty liver disease and prevent further damage to the liver. Currently, it is recommended that children with fatty liver disease follow a balanced diet based on the recommendations of Eating Well with Canada’s Food Guide. The diet should be focused on lowering your consumption of fatty and sugary foods such as sugar-sweetened beverages and/or fried foods and should focus on eating a variety of foods including fresh fruits and vegetables, whole grains, lean cuts of meats and/or dairy products.


Eating a balanced and healthy diet can be fun! 
 

  • Parents, include your child in meal preparation and decisions about what foods to buy from the grocery store. It can be a lot of fun. 
  • Follow the Canadian Food Guide recommendations for the type and amount of food group consumption per day (specific for age and gender)
  • Read processed food labels and try to choose the healthier options
  • Avoid soft drinks (or at least substitute with diet), chocolate and candies
  • Substitute fruit drinks with whole fresh fruits
  • Substitute full-fat milk and yogurt with skim or 1%
  • Use more often whole grain bread/cereals e.g. add half of a favourite cereal with oats or a healthier cereal
  • Choose lower fat meat options
  • Add more vegetables to meals (half your plate)

Consult a registered dietitian for more tips on how to eat a healthier diet for your liver.


Increasing Physical Activity can be fun!

Physical Activity is important! But it is also important to decrease your sedentary activity time. Here are some tips to decrease your time spent in sedentary activity and become more active!

  • When going out as a family looks for ways to walk more
  • Get off the bus one stop early
  • Take the stairs instead of the elevator
  • Take a skateboard, bike or walk instead of getting a drive
  • Do some chores around the house (shovel snow, carry groceries or cleaning)
  • Dance to your favourite music
  • Go to the playground or go for a walk
  • Reduce screen time and take frequent breaks (get up and walk around)
  • Teachers: Build active opportunities into daily classroom routines and encourage students to join a school sports team or simply to move around the classroom. It’s amazing how much fun walking around the school inside can be as a group!

Click here to access the  Canadian 24-Hour Movement Guidelines for Children and Youth

Support

National Help Line:
This support resource gives you and your loved one somewhere to turn for answers after diagnosis, helps you understand your disease, and provides you with the resources you need.  You can call 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM EST.

The Peer Support Network:
This is a national network of people living with liver disease that have offered to share their experiences with others. It was developed by the Canadian Liver Foundation as a means to link Canadians like you who have a family member who has liver disease, who care for someone who suffers from liver disease, or who have been diagnosed with a liver disease, to talk about your concerns with a peer in a similar situation.

If you would like to be connected with a peer supporter in your area or would like to join the peer support network, please call the National Help Line at 1 (800) 563-5483 or email Billie Potkonjak.

Consult your healthcare provider for tips on how to increase your physical activity.

Remember making one small change at a time can be important to your overall liver health!

This information is current for April 2017.

Help us help you! 
If you are not satisfied with the information you just read or any information on our website, please take a moment to send us your comments and suggestions on the type of content you would like to find on liver.ca. Please include the page you are commenting about in the subject line of your email.