Cornwall Stroll

Group of CLF supporters at the Stroll for Liver

加入我们在Cornwall & SD&G 地区的第二届 “为肝漫步Stroll for Liver” 活动!

2020年6月21日,星期六,

帮助我们改变加拿大肝病患者的未来! 加入我们 于 康沃尔及Stormont, Dundas 与 Glengarry 联合郡的第二届年度“为肝漫步 STROLL for LIVER” 活动:一个包括健行、午餐、健康展览、抽奖、老少皆宜的有趣活动的精彩周六。我们期待着通过此次全国性活动,提升公众对肝病及器官捐赠的认知,推广肝脏健康。

您的肝脏在维持整体健康方面起着至关重要的作用。运动是保持这一重要器官的健康的绝佳方式。 通过参与漫步活动,您可以增进肝脏健康,同时帮助募集急需的资金,以继续资助可以拯救生命的肝脏研究与教育活动。今天就报名!

1/4的加拿大人受肝脏疾病的影响,金妮就是其中之一。

Kim Stroll participant

辛苦的工作与繁忙的生活,令金妮忽视了自己肝脏面临的危险。

一个完全偶然的机会令金妮发觉到自己的危险:她自愿为放射仪器培训作模拟病人,他们于是发现了她的肝脏上有一个黑点,而建议她去看专科医生。这一偶然的幸运,可归因于她乐于助人的天性。在看了多个一直误诊她的病情的专家后,金妮终于被告知她的肝脏上有一个西瓜大小的肿瘤。

金妮与肝病共同生活的历程如同过山车般起伏,但是她的热情、毅力及关心她的人令她坚持了下来。继续阅读她的故事, 请点击此处

今年夏天,你可以在康沃尔的漫步活动中见到金妮与她的团队,现在就报名参加

我们的“为肝漫步”于Lamoureux Park举行。Lamoureux Park 是康沃尔市区圣劳伦斯河边的一个大型公园,连接康沃尔的水边步道,一条多用途环绕全城的休闲小路,徜徉其中,圣劳伦斯河的美景一览无余。

报名参加

登记、健康展与抽奖票开售: 上午 10:00 开始(Lamoureux Park’s Lion’s Club Bandshell)
开场致辞/暖身: 上午10:30  – 11:00
健行: 上午11:00  – 11:45
午餐与娱乐:上午11:45 – 下午12:45
感谢及抽奖: 下午12:45 – 1:00
活动地点: Lamoureux Park located at 100 Water St E, (Water and Pitt) 。现场免费停车。

现在就报名!点击此处.

已经报名了?打印 募捐表 随身携带。无法亲临参加活动?您仍然可以通过电脑捐款手机捐款 支持活动。

更多照片,请点击此处

认识金妮

Kim Stroll participant

金妮得知自己肝脏有问题纯属偶然。那时她与朋友拼车上下班,其中一位朋友是放射仪器技术员,培训操作人员使用仪器为病人查体。金妮自愿作培训课上的模拟病人。两次培训课后,技术员朋友告诉她,仪器显示她的肝部有一个明显的“小斑点”,建议她去看专科医生。

金妮的去看的第一位专科医生没有把“小斑点”当回事,但金妮开始感觉到腹痛,因此她换了一位专科医生,接着又换了第三位,第四位……经过一年半的求诊,金妮被转介到了渥太华的肝脏专科医生。检测发现,她肝脏上的“小斑点”已经大如西瓜般了。

医生给金妮使用缩小肿瘤的药物无效,于是通过手术切除了2/3的肿瘤,但三个月后肿瘤长回到原大,并开始发生突变。由于肿瘤阻碍了肝脏中的两条静脉,无法通过手术切除,肝脏移植成了金妮最后的希望。

等待肝脏移植时日子痛苦不堪,金妮需要通过人工法清除胆汁,每天清出约两升,一直持续了一年半,还未等到合适的捐赠的肝脏;而随着时间的推移,她疼痛越来越严重,不得不暂停工作。她变得更加沮丧,甚至觉得自己时日无多。

在三次等待器官失败后,金妮接到了第四个告知有捐赠肝脏的电话,她即刻去到医院“待命”,最终,她被告知那个被捐赠的肝脏是她的了!2014年4月,金妮接受了肝脏移植,“再续”了生命。“我重获新生,因为这位器官捐赠者的善良、无私和爱,一个陌生人挽救了我的生命。”金妮再次充满了希望。

手术后的康复并非一帆风顺,除了与手术并发症抗争,金妮还承受着丧母之痛,而某些朋友也因为无法理解金妮所经历的疾病而疏远了她。

但是,令金妮高兴的是,她找到另外给她支持的群体。她参加了加拿大肝脏基金会在康沃尔地区举办的“为肝漫步”活动。金妮的“闺蜜”仙蒂,一位陪伴她经历了艰难时刻的好朋友,与她一同参加了活动。像金妮一样,仙蒂也认同,回馈社区、鼓励他人是非常有意义的事。

“参加过一次后,我明白了为什么称活动为‘漫步’,” 金妮说。 “因为当你和别人一起漫步时,你们会交流,会加深了解,你们的友谊将从此开始。”金妮说自己未来的目标很简单:好的健康,好的时光,好的朋友,回馈社区,鼓励和帮助肝病患者。

会参加2020年康沃尔的“为肝漫步”活动吗?“当然!”金妮说。

今年夏天,加入金妮与她的团队在康沃尔的漫步活动。现在就报名!

加拿大肝脏基金会感谢以下机构支持我们的使命:通过研究、教育、患者支持和宣导,将肝脏研究变成拯救生命的工具,使有益于所有加拿大人的肝脏健康。

 2020 全国赞助

独家跑步零售赞助商

Running room logo

区域赞助

4 Print Cornwall Stroll sponsor logo

Cornwall multisport club

Cornwall Square

Home hardware sponsor

Love love logo

National Valley News logo

Cristill Rock logo

OPG logo

St. John Ambulance logo

Cornwall Standard logo

UPS Store logo

四分之一的加拿大人可能受肝病的影响——考比就是其中之一。

Colby Demerchant and his family

考比是一位老师、朋友、兄弟、儿子、丈夫,最重要的是一位父亲。与他作为三个可爱的孩子的父亲的角色相比,他所有的其他成就都显得微不足道。

2006年,考比被诊断出患有溃疡性结肠炎,经过漫长的插管、穿刺、吞咽味道古怪的液体以进行多项不同的检测后,医生发现他的肝功能测试指标异的高。一年后,在2007年夏天,考比最终被诊断出患有原发性硬化性胆管炎(PSC)。

得知我们目前还没有PSC的治愈方法,甚至没有有效的药物可以减慢其发展,考比决定为肝脏研究筹款,希望帮助找到PSC和其他肝脏疾病的治愈方法。

Cornwall Stroll

Group of CLF supporters at the Stroll for Liver

Join us for the 2nd Cornwall & SD&G Stroll for Liver!

Sunday, June 21, 2020

Help us change the future for Canadians with liver disease! Join us for Cornwall and the United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry 2nd annual STROLL for LIVER, a day of a healthy walk, entertainment, lunch, health fair, raffles and fun activities for adults and children. We’re excited to help increase awareness of liver disease and organ donation and to promote liver health at this national event.

Your liver plays a critical role in maintaining your overall health. Getting involved in physical activities is a great way to keep this vital organ healthy. By taking a Stroll, you can take control of your liver health while helping raise much-needed funds to continue funding lifesaving liver research and education programs. Register Today!

1 in 4 Canadians may be affected by liver disease – Kim is one of them.

Kim Stroll participant

Kim’s hard work and busy life kept her unaware of the danger that was growing in her liver.

It was totally by chance that Kim was alerted to her dangerous situation. She had offered herself up as a mock patient for radiologist’s training on the use of a new machine, and it was then when they found a spot on her liver and suggested that she see a specialist. That bit of luck that can be attributed to her giving nature and willingness to always help others. After seeing many specialists who misdiagnosed her, Kim was finally told that she had a liver tumour of the size of a watermelon.

Kim’s journey, living with liver disease, has been a true roller coaster, but her passion, determination, and the caring people who stayed with her, keep her going. To continue reading her story click here.

Meet Kim and her team at the Cornwall STROLL this summer. Register now!

Our STROLL will take place at Lamoureux Park which is a large park running along the shoreline of the St. Lawrence River in the Downtown area of Cornwall. This site connects to Cornwall’s Waterfront Trail, a multi-use recreation path that spans the entire city’s waterfront, offering stunning views of the St Lawrence River.

Register now

Registration, Health Fair and Raffle: Starting at 10:00 AM (Lamoureux Park’s Lion’s Club Bandshell)
Opening Remarks/Warm Up: 10:30 AM – 11:00 AM
Walk: 11:00 AM – 11:45 AM
Lunch and Entertainment: 11:45 AM – 12:45 PM
Thank You and Raffle Draw: 12:45 – 1:00 PM
Location: Lamoureux Park located at 100 Water St E, (Water and Pitt) Free parking available on site.

Register Now! Click here.

Already registered? Print a pledge form and don’t forget to bring it with you everywhere you go. Can’t make the stroll? You can still support the event by making a donation from your desktop or mobile device.

To see more photos click here.

Meet Kim

Kim Stroll participantKim hadn’t been feeling right for quite some time, but, like so many people do, she chalked it up to hard work and exhaustion. She had been working lots of overtime on a project she loved, so she kept going and going. “Kind of like the Energizer bunny,” she says.

One spot of fun in Kim’s busy days was her carpool to work, and among her commuting friends was a radiology technician who had been put in charge of training her colleagues in the use of a new piece of imaging equipment. Kim volunteered to be a mock patient, and after two training sessions, her friend approached her with a suggestion that she should see a specialist. The machine had revealed a very small but pronounced spot on Kim’s liver.

Initially, Kim’s doctor referred her to someone who didn’t seem to give her concerns due consideration, but by the time that consultation happened, she was beginning to experience some pain, so she insisted on a second opinion. Then a third. And a fourth. Finally, after a year and a half of follow up, Kim was seen by a liver specialist team in Ottawa. They found that the spot on her liver had grown to the size of a watermelon.

When medication meant to shrink the tumour didn’t work, the team advised surgery. The hope was that removing 2/3 of the tumor would alleviate Kim’s symptoms, but within three months, it had re-grown to its original size and begun to mutate. A second surgery was scheduled to remove the tumour, but tests leading up to that procedure showed that the tumor had impeded two of the three veins going into her liver, allowing only one vein to function. Additionally, the walls of the tumour had fused with the wall of the main portal vein. Surgery was impossible under those circumstances. Kim would need a liver transplant.

Life while waiting for a transplant was very difficult. Kim had to endure a drain that was put in so that bile could drain away—about two litres each day for a year and a half. Then, of course, there was the pain that was increasing as time went on. Eventually, Kim was left with no choice but to take a leave from work. Depression soon overtook her, and, feeling that her story was not going to have a happy ending, Kim began to put her personal affairs in order.

Three attempts to get a viable organ failed, as did Kim’s hopes. When a fourth call came, Kim couldn’t muster any excitement, but went through the motions in spite of herself. Numb and indifferent, she went to the hospital. She got “prepped.” The more time passed, the more hopeful things seemed. Soon it became clear. This liver was going to be “the one.”

On April 30, 2014, Kim received the most precious gift she could ask to receive—a life renewed by a donated liver. “I was on my way to a new life all because of the kindness, unselfishness, and love of this donor—a total stranger who saved me.” Hope returned.

Transplant stories don’t end with the transplant surgery, however. Kim experienced some post-surgical complications. Sadly, these will keep her from returning to the job she loved for so long. But none of the medical complications were so troubling to Kim as the loss of some friends and family who were unable understand her experience. “They don’t know what to say,” Kim comments. “They don’t know what to ask, when to broach the subject.” Worst of all was the loss of her biggest supporter, her mom, who passed away recently.

Even as her social circle was shrinking in some areas, Kim found it was opening wide in other areas. The Canadian Liver Foundation hosts an annual Stroll for Liver event, and Kim attended the one in her area of Cornwall, Ontario. Her “bestie” participated with her, one of the rockstar friends that Kim gives credit for sticking with her through the tough times. Kim and her friend, Cindy, felt it was important to give back to the community and encourage others who are also affected by liver disease.

“I think I know why the CLF calls the event a ‘stroll,’” Kim says. “Because when you stroll with someone, you talk with them. You bond. You may begin a friendship, and most likely, you talk about how you’re feeling.”

Kim’s goals for the future are simple: good health, good times, good friends, and a determination to give back to the community–supporting, encouraging, and helping those who are suffering from liver disease.

Will Kim do the STROLL for LIVER again? Definitely. She says she wants to “literally walk the talk.”

Join Kim and her team at the Cornwall STROLL this summer. Register now!

The Canadian Liver Foundation acknowledges the following organizations for their support of the CLF’s mission of “bringing liver research to life” to benefit the liver health of all Canadians through research, education, patient support and advocacy.

 National 2020 Sponsor

Exclusive running retail sponsor

Running room

Regional Sponsors

4 Print Cornwall Stroll sponsor logo

Cornwall multisport club

Cornwall Square

Home hardware sponsor

 

Love love logo

National Valley News logo

Cristill Rock logo

OPG logo

St. John Ambulance logo

 

Cornwall Standard logo

 

UPS Store logo

1 in 4 Canadians may be affected by liver disease – Colby is one of them.

Colby Demerchant and his familyColby is a teacher, friend, brother, son, husband, and most importantly, a father. All his other accomplishments pale in comparison to his role as a father to his three beautiful children.

In 2006, Colby was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis, and after a lengthy process of poking, prodding and drinking what seemed like gallons of vile tasting concoctions for several different tests, the doctors discovered that his liver functions tests were atypically high. A year later, in the summer of 2007, Colby was finally diagnosed with Primary Sclerosing Cholangitis (PSC).

With no known cure for PSC or even effective medications to slow its effects down, Colby’s goal is to raise funds for liver research to help find a cure for PSC and other liver diseases.