Advocate

A hand gripping a microphone on a black background

成为肝脏健康支持者!

研究持续带来肝脏疾病诊断和治疗方面的突破性进展。 尽管如此,某些患者可能难以从研究中获益。

每1个加拿大人,就有4个可能会受到肝脏疾病的影响。 对肝脏疾病的沉默,令这个国家在肝脏医疗保健付出惨重代价。 作为病人,家庭成员,医生,护士或联盟卫生专业人士,您可以通过借助您的声音和以下参与,帮助改变未来:

  • 消除对肝病的误解;
  • 分享肝脏疾病对个人和家庭的影响;
  • 强调肝脏健康的重要性,鼓励人们进行测试;
  • 帮助影响政府的对患者进行护理和治疗的政策。

我们需要您的反馈!

Link to online survey

我们正在征寻患者、护理人员及医护专业人士对于不可切除肝细胞癌(无法通过手术切除的肝癌)的新疗法Cabozantinib(品牌名称:CABOMETYX)的意见及建议。您完成一份简短的调查,可以帮助患者和医生获取更多肝细胞癌二线疗法的选择。点击浏览此处,以完成调查

 分享您的肝癌经历、或代表他人分享肝癌经历的截止日期为EST东部时间1028日星期一下午5

 

要了解具体的倡导举措,请点击下面的链接填写表格,与我们联系。我们将跟进 CLF 倡导工作的信息,知会您如何参与。 为肝脏健康发声呼吁!

我们的立场

加拿大肝脏基金会的倡导努力,旨在确保患者具有平等和可负担渠道,获取最有效的治疗方法,不论他们的收入多少或居住何处。 我们已经成功地倡导在加拿大使用新的丙型肝炎药物治疗,现在正继续推动省级政府为其辖区的患者提供这些治疗方法。

我们还通过提倡更好的筛查和病患护理,致力于改善肝脏疾病的预防,提高肝脏疾病患者的生活质量。 我们通过与联邦,省,市政府,社区组织和个人的合作,提高对肝脏相关问题的认知,并推动政策变革。

以下是与肝脏健康有关的一些关键问题,以及我们的立场:

酒精

对乙酰氨基酚

丙型肝炎检测

甲型肝炎免疫

乙型肝炎免疫

肝癌筛查

肝脏检测

酒精
加拿大肝脏基金会支持“加拿大低风险酒精饮用指南”中提出的饮酒水平:

  • 女性,每周 10杯,每天不超过 2杯;
  • 男性,每周 15杯,每天不超过 3杯。

加拿大肝脏基金会还建议以下人员应完全避免饮酒:

  • 肝病患者,由医生决定
  • 服用药物的人 – 处方或非处方药
  • 孕妇或哺乳母亲

饮酒已是日常生活的一部份。适量饮酒对健康有好处,但过量饮酒会损害健康。每日饮用一杯酒可降低心脏病的风险。但是,如果男性每日饮酒超过三杯,女性每日饮酒超过两杯,将增加患上肝病的风险。酒精在人体内进行代谢的差异受年龄、性别、体重及遗传因子等因素影响。因肝病导致肝脏功能受损者饮用酒精的话,受到额外伤害的风险更高。因此,并没有靠谱的方法确定每个人饮用多少酒精是「安全的」。

酒精与药物,特别是与对乙酰氨基酚(泰诺®及其他药物)也会相互影响,而导致严重甚至致命的肝脏损害。

 对乙酰氨基酚
对乙酰氨基酚是北美最流行的止痛药之一,是急性肝衰竭的主要原因。 加拿大肝病基金会支持在含有对乙酰氨基酚的所有产品上引入警告标签,在组合这些产品时向人们通报过量的危险。 CLF 还建议小学,高中和大学生接受关于​​对乙酰氨基酚和酒精组合的风险的教育。

对乙酰氨基酚是一种镇痛剂。它既可作单独的痛楚舒缓剂(泰诺®),也是数百种处方药和非处方药的成分。若遵照建议剂量的指引服用,对乙酰氨基酚通常是安全的镇痛剂。但是,因为许多药物都含有此成分,意外服用过量相对普遍,特别对儿童而言。儿童很可能过量服用对乙酰氨基酚,因为较之成年人,儿童使用较低份量也可能是过量服用。父母为缓解子女的病情症状,可能无意中给子女服用了成年人的剂量,或在短时间内多次给子女服用含有对乙酰氨基酚的药物。对乙酰氨基酚和酒精同时服用也可能导致肝功能衰竭。

对肝病患者而言,对乙酰氨基酚是医生建议的镇痛药,因为它没有如阿斯匹林(aspirin)等镇痛药带来溃疡和流血的风险。只要不超过建议剂量,对乙酰氨基酚对肝病患者则是安全的。

意外服用过量对乙酰氨基酚是导致许多儿童和成年人入院甚至死亡的原因。因此,采取一切所需的措施以降低风险至关重要。

丙型肝炎检测
加拿大有超过300,000人患有慢性丙型肝炎,但超过一半的患者毫不知情。在丙型肝炎导致大部份肝脏损害前,患者并不会出现症状,所以病人通常在肝病发展到晚期前,还没有被诊断出来。若无诊断和治疗,慢性丙型肝炎可导致肝硬化、肝癌或肝功能衰竭。目前丙型肝炎是加拿大肝脏移植的主要原因。

加拿大肝脏基金会建议所有介乎1945 – 1975年出生的成年人接受丙型肝炎测试。在加拿大,丙型肝炎在此年龄组别最为普遍,但利用风险基础测试方法(risk-based testing)并不能有效地查找出所有感染丙型肝炎的成年人。由于丙型肝炎可能通过血液接触感染,且许多成年人不知道自身的风险因素,针对成年人推行普及检查,将能更有效地发现染上丙型肝炎和已患病多年的病人。

通常建议有风险因素者接受丙型肝炎抗体测试,这些风险因素包括:曾经使用注射药物(即使只有一次),输血或在1990年前使用过血液产品,曾接受过医疗手术, 或曾在丙型肝炎流行的国家接受免疫注射。基于风险的测试检查还未普及,而丙型肝炎病人一直被“意外”地诊断出来。而且,采用基于风险检测法,病人或医生在识别风险因素方面的成效并不佳,因而病人通常在肝脏严重受损时,才会被诊断出丙型肝炎。

2012年8月,美国疾病控制中心提出建议,认为所有介于1945 –1965年间出生的成年人都应该接受一次性的丙型肝炎测试。基于加拿大丙肝流行的数据,并考虑到来自丙肝流行国家的移民,加拿大肝脏基金会认为应审慎地扩大测试的范围至介于1945 –1975间年出生的所有成年人。丙型肝炎抗体测试费用低,而且包含在加拿大各省的医疗保健计划内。早期发现及干预对有效治疗丙型肝炎至为重要,所以对成年人群进行广泛的检查势在必行。

甲型肝炎免疫
甲型肝炎可能导致不同症状的严重肝病 —- 从持续几天类似轻微流行性感冒的症状,至长时间不适需要入院治疗的病况。日常生活中很难完全避免无意的甲型肝炎病毒接触。被甲肝病毒污染的食物和水,以及经甲型肝炎带菌者处理过的食物都有可能成为病毒传播的途径。

CLF 建议所有加拿大人接种甲型肝炎疫苗,以减少这种可预防疾病的发生。

以下人士在感染和传播甲型肝炎病毒,及/或出现甲型肝炎併发症的风险在平均水平以上:

  • 前往甲型肝炎流行的高危地区旅游的旅客,这些地区包括墨西哥、加勒比海、非洲、亚洲、拉丁美洲和东欧
  • 处理食物的人
  • 日间托儿所工作人员
  • 到甲型肝炎流行的高风险地区旅游的成年人,特别是中年人
  • 任何患有长期肝病的人
  • 甲型肝炎流行国家的移民在加拿大所生的小孩

接种疫苗是最有效的预防甲型肝炎的方法。

乙型肝炎免疫
慢性乙型肝炎是一种严重的肝病,影响约五十万加拿大人。感染慢性乙型肝炎的最高风险是婴儿期和儿童早期 – 预计90%的感染上乙型肝炎的新生儿的将终生携带病毒。

目前,省份和地区疫苗接种方案不一致 – 某些省区接种小学生,另一些则是接种婴儿。 加拿大肝脏基金会支持对加拿大全国各省初生婴儿注射乙型肝炎疫苗,而且促请在全国范围内所有省政府统一疫苗注射日程,使跟随父母从一个省移居到另一个省的儿童不会因各省的疫苗注射时间的差异而被疏忽。

在较高年龄染上乙型肝炎后受到终生影响的风险则大大降低(约1%),而且大部分人感染后,可完全康复。若没有接受治疗,慢性乙肝病人因肝功能衰竭及肝癌而早逝的机率高达20%。尽管在成年接受治疗可降低发展至严重后果的风险,但治疗费用昂贵,并可能需要终生接受治疗。而且在成年期接受治疗,远不如及早预防乙型肝炎有效。

加拿大提供全国性预防乙肝的疫苗,但在大多数省份,疫苗仅提供给青少年,而非初生的婴儿 —— 而实际上婴儿感染乙型肝炎后发展成为长期疾病的风险最高。加拿大没有任何两个省份的疫苗注射日程是相同的,因此,那些出生在只为青少年注射疫苗的省份的人,若之后移居到仅为初生婴儿注射疫苗的省份,他们将失去接受注射疫苗的机会。

几乎所有在全国范围内提供乙肝疫苗的国家都是为初生婴儿接种疫苗 ——这是世界卫生组织(WHO)所建议的策略。在加拿大,预防策略是由所有相关的专业医学会推荐的,这些学会包括加拿大儿科协会(Canadian Pediatric Association)、加拿大医学微生物及传染病协会(Canadian Association of Medical Microbiology and Infectious Disease),及加拿大肝脏研究协会(Canadian Association for Study of the Liver)。

肝癌筛查
肝癌是加拿大增长最快的,最致命的癌症形式之一。 主要原因是乙型肝炎,丙型肝炎和非酒精性脂肪性肝病。 我们有政府资助的乳腺癌,结肠癌和子宫颈癌筛查计划,但没有政府资助的肝癌筛查计划。

加拿大肝脏基金会建议所有肝硬化患者、以及有肝癌风险的乙肝患者应该每隔六个月接受超声波筛查,以及早发现病情,接受治疗,并有可能治癒 — 若不採取这些措施,肝癌可以致命。加拿大肝脏基金会促请所有省级卫生部门採取与筛查乳癌、结肠癌和子宫颈癌类似的肝癌筛查计划。提供超声波筛查的单位应该得到认证与授权。

肝硬化病人,以及部分患有慢性乙肝的病人患上肝癌的机率介乎每年 3% — 8%。此机率大大超过女性患乳癌的机率、总体人群患结肠癌的机率、和总体人群患子宫颈癌的机率。政府资助乳癌、结肠癌和子宫颈癌的筛查计划,但没有推行任何资助肝癌的筛查计划。

大量抽查受控制的实验显示,肝癌筛查可将肝癌导致死亡的机率降低37%。使用更先进的放射性检测及采取积极干预很可能进一步降低死亡率。10年前,肝癌基本上是一种致命的疾病;医学发展至今,肝癌成为大致可治疗的疾病 —- 这种治疗,只有通过定期筛查并及早发现肿瘤才可实现。

肝脏检测
肝病难以诊断,因为症状可能模糊,且容易与其他健康状况混淆,或者甚至没有症状。 然而,若在早期得到诊断,许多形式的肝脏疾病可以治疗甚至逆转。

肝酶测试 – 丙氨酸氨基转移酶(ALT)和天冬氨酸氨基转移酶(AST)是用于确定肝脏健康的最常用的血液检测。

加拿大肝脏基金会建议将肝脏酶检测纳入年度身体检查的血液检查方案中。 如果 AST 或ALT 的水平升高,则需要额外的测试来确定升高的原因。 永远不能忽视肝脏酶检测异常结果。 并非所有异常的肝脏检查都需要治疗潜在的肝脏疾病,但是所有异常的肝脏检查结果,即使是最低限度的异常结果,也应该查找原因。

此类测试是对肝脏受损的敏感测试。ALT和AST通常存在于肝脏细胞中,当肝脏细胞受损,ALT和AST就会从肝脏细胞被释放到血液内。ALT被视为肝脏受损的更为有效的指标,因为AST也存在于身体的其他器官如心脏内,也存在于其他肌肉中。

非酒精性肝病及病毒肝炎很常见,并且越来越普遍。这些疾病可能影响超过10%的人口。早期诊断及干预是有效治疗肝病的关键,因此对成年人进行定期的体检筛查至为重要。

“可怕的是它可能发生在任何人身上。 我的疾病不是因为不良生活方式导致、传染或者引起的,没有人知道到底是什么原因造成的。 我很幸运,我的疾病可以通过药物控制,但有成千上万的人没有我这么幸运。“ – Carrie,加拿大肝脏基金会志愿者,慢性自身免疫性肝炎患者。

联系我们了解更多关于我们的倡导举措及如何参与。

Advocate

A hand gripping a microphone on a black background

Be a champion for liver health.

Research continues to lead to exciting breakthroughs in the diagnosis and treatment of liver disease. Despite this, some patients may have difficulty benefiting from this research

1 in 4 Canadians may be affected by liver disease. The silence surrounding liver disease is taking a devastating toll on liver healthcare in this country. As a patient, family member, physician, nurse or allied health professional, you can help change the future by lending your voice and getting involved by:

  • dispelling misconceptions about liver disease;
  • sharing the impact liver disease can have on individuals and families;
  • emphasizing the importance of liver health and encouraging people to get tested;
  • helping influence government policy governing access to care and treatment for patients.

Your experience matters!

If you have liver cancer (hepatocellular carcinoma) that cannot be removed with surgery (unresectable) or are caring for someone who has it, we would like to hear from you. The Canadian Liver Foundation (CLF) is seeking patient, caregiver and health professional input to include in our submission to Health Canada in regard to regorafenib (Stivarga). We invite you to be part of it by sharing your comments and personal experiences completing this survey English, French or Chinese.

To learn about specific advocacy initiatives, connect with us by clicking one of the links below to fill out a form and we will follow up with information on the CLF’s advocacy efforts and how you can get involved. Speak up for liver health!

Our Position

The Canadian Liver Foundation’s advocacy efforts seek to ensure that patients have equal and affordable access to the most effective treatments regardless of their income or where they live. We have successfully advocated for new hepatitis C drug therapies for use in Canada and are continuing to push provincial governments to provide access to these treatments to patients in their regions.

We strive to improve prevention of liver disease and to enhance the quality of life of those living with liver disease by also advocating for better screening and access to patient care. We do this by working with federal, provincial and municipal governments, community organizations and individuals to raise awareness of liver-related issues and to push for policy changes.

The following are some key issues related to liver health and where we stand on them:

Alcohol

Acetominophen

Hepatitis C Testing

Hepatitis A Immunization

Hepatitis B Immunization

Liver Cancer Screening

Liver Tests

 Alcohol
The Canadian Liver Foundation supports the level of alcohol consumption proposed in Canada’s Low Risk Alcohol Drinking Guidelines:

  • 10 drinks a week for women with no more than 2 drinks a day;
  • 15 drinks a week for men, with no more than 3 drinks a day.

The Canadian Liver Foundation also recommends that the following people should avoid alcohol completely:

  • People with liver disease, as determined by a doctor
  • People taking medication – prescription or over-the-counter
  • Pregnant women or nursing mothers
Read more...

Alcohol consumption is very much part of everyday life. There are health benefits to alcohol consumption, but there are also health hazards to excessive alcohol consumption. One drink of alcohol a day decreases the risk of heart disease. However, more than 3 drinks a day for men or 2 drinks a day for women increases the risk of liver disease. Differences in the way alcohol is metabolized by the body are influenced by factors such as age, gender, body weight and genetic factors. People with impaired liver function due to many different causes of liver disease are at higher risk of additional damage due to alcohol. Therefore there is no reliable way to determine how much alcohol is ‘safe’ for an individual. 

Alcohol can also interact with medications, particularly acetaminophen (Tylenol® and other medications) to cause serious and even fatal liver injury.

 Acetaminophen
Acetaminophen is one of the most popular pain relievers in North America and is the leading cause of acute liver failure. The Canadian Liver Foundation supports the introduction of warning labels on all products containing acetaminophen, advising people of the dangers of overdose when combining these products. The CLF also recommends that elementary, high school and university students receive education regarding the risks of combining acetaminophen and alcohol.

Read more...

Acetaminophen is an analgesic sold as a stand-alone pain reliever (Tylenol®) and as an ingredient in hundreds of prescription and over-the-counter products. Acetaminophen is generally a safe analgesic as long as recommended dosing guidelines are followed. Unfortunately as many medications contain acetaminophen, accidental overdoses are relatively common, particularly in children. Children are especially vulnerable because overdose can occur at lower doses of acetaminophen than for adults. Parents attempting to alleviate their children’s symptoms may inadvertently give their children adult dosages or too many doses of a medication containing acetaminophen within too short a period of time. Combining acetaminophen with alcohol can also lead to liver failure. 

For liver disease patients, acetaminophen is the recommended pain reliever because it does not carry the same risk of ulcers or bleeding as pain relievers such as aspirin.  Acetaminophen is safe for liver disease patients as long as recommended doses are not exceeded. 

Accidental acetaminophen overdoses are responsible for many hospital admissions and even deaths among both children and adults.  It is therefore important to take whatever steps are possible to reduce this risk.

Hepatitis C Testing
More than 300,000 people in Canada are living with chronic hepatitis C but as many as 44% are not aware that they have it. Since chronic hepatitis C causes no symptoms until it has destroyed much of the liver, those who are infected often are not diagnosed until the disease has reached an advanced stage. Left undiagnosed and untreated, chronic hepatitis C can lead to cirrhosis, liver cancer or liver failure. Currently, hepatitis C is the leading indication for liver transplant in Canada

The Canadian Liver Foundation recommends that all adults born between 1945 and 1975 undergo a test for hepatitis C. In Canada, chronic hepatitis C is most prevalent within this age group but risk-based testing has not been effective in identifying all infected adults. As the hepatitis C virus can be transmitted via any blood-to-blood contact and many adults are unaware of their own risk factors, age-based testing (in addition to risk-based) has a much higher probability of identifying those who contracted hepatitis C and have been living with it for many years.

Read more...

Until now, the hepatitis C antibody test was recommended for individuals with recognized risk factors including injection drug use (even a single episode), blood transfusions or use of blood products prior to 1990 or participation in medical procedures or immunization in countries where hepatitis C is common. Risk-based testing has not been widespread and patients continue to be diagnosed by ‘accident’. Unfortunately when risk-based testing has been adopted, risk factor recognition by patients or doctors is poor and as a result the diagnosis is only made when symptoms of advanced liver injury begin to appear. 

In August 2012, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control issued its recommendation that all adults born between 1945 and 1965 should have a one-time hepatitis C test. Based on the prevalence data in Canada and taking into account immigration from countries where hepatitis C is endemic, the CLF believes it would be prudent to expand the age bracket for testing to all adults born between 1945 and 1975. The hepatitis C antibody test is inexpensive and is covered by all provincial health care plans. Since early identification and intervention are critical to the effective treatment of hepatitis C, widespread screening of the adult population is warranted. 

Hepatitis A Immunization
Hepatitis A is a potentially serious liver disease that can vary in severity from a mild flu-like illness lasting a few days to a prolonged illness requiring hospitalization. It is difficult to avoid inadvertent exposure to the hepatitis A virus. Exposure can occur as a result of contaminated food, water or food handling/preparation by someone infected by the hepatitis A virus.

The CLF recommends that all Canadians be vaccinated against hepatitis A in order to reduce the incidence of this preventable illness.

Read more...

The following groups have a higher than average risk of contracting, transmitting and/or suffering complications from the hepatitis A virus:

  • travellers to high risk areas, such as Mexico, Caribbean, Africa, Asia, Latin America and eastern Europe, where hepatitis A is endemic
  • food handlers
  • daycare workers
  • adults, particularly those of middle age, who travel to high risk areas
  • anyone with chronic liver disease
  • Canadian-born children of immigrants from countries where hepatitis A is endemic

Vaccination is the most effective way to protect against hepatitis A. 

Hepatitis B Immunization
Chronic hepatitis B is a serious liver disease that affects up to half a million people in Canada. The highest risk for acquiring chronic hepatitis B is in infancy and early childhood – an estimated 90% of newborns infected with hepatitis B will be infected for life.

Currently, provinces and territories have inconsistent vaccination programs – some vaccinate elementary school children while others vaccinate infants. The Canadian Liver Foundation supports universal neonatal vaccination against hepatitis B for all provinces in Canada, and urges the provincial governments to harmonize vaccination schedules across the country, so that children do not slip through the cracks as they move with their parents from province to province.

Read more...

Infection at an older age carries a much lower risk for life-long infection (about 1%), and in most cases the patient recovers completely. Untreated chronic hepatitis B will cause premature death from liver failure and liver cancer in up to 20% of those who have the disease. Although the risk of these outcomes can be reduced with treatment in adulthood, treatment is expensive and may be required for life and is not as effective as prevention of hepatitis B in the first place.  

Canada provides universal vaccination against hepatitis B, but in most provinces the vaccine is provided to adolescents, rather than neonates, who have the highest risk of developing chronic disease.  No two provincial vaccination schedules are the same. Thus, a child born in a province that provides only adolescent vaccination that moves subsequently to a province that provides only neonatal vaccination will not be vaccinated all.  

Almost all countries that provide universal hepatitis B vaccination for their populations provide vaccine to newborns. The strategy is recommended by the World Health Organization, and in Canada is the strategy that is recommended by all the professional medical associations that deal with this issue, including the Canadian Pediatric Association, The Canadian Association of Medical Microbiology and Infectious Disease, and the Canadian Association for Study of the Liver.  

Liver Cancer Screening
Liver cancer is one of the fastest rising and deadliest forms of cancer in Canada. The major causes are hepatitis B, hepatitis C and non-alcoholic fatty liver disease. There are government-sponsored screening programs for breast, colon and cervical cancer, but no government screening programs for liver cancer.

The Canadian Liver Foundation recommends that all patients with cirrhosis and those with hepatitis B at risk for liver cancer should be screened with ultrasound every 6 months to allow for early detection, treatment and possibly cure of this otherwise deadly cancer. The Canadian Liver Foundation calls on all Provincial Ministries of Health to develop screening programs similar to those for breast cancer, colon cancer or cervical cancer. Units providing ultrasound screening should be accredited.

Read more...

The risk of developing liver cancer in patients with cirrhosis and in some patients with chronic hepatitis B is between 3-8%/year. This greatly exceeds the risk of breast cancer in women, the risk of colon cancer in the general population, and the risk of cervical cancer in the general population.  There are government-sponsored screening programs for breast, colon and cervical cancer, but no government screening programs for liver cancer.  

Liver cancer screening has been shown in a large randomized controlled trial to reduce mortality from the disease by 37%. It is likely that even better reductions in mortality could be achieved with newer radiological tests and active intervention. Liver cancer has gone from a virtually universally fatal disease about 10 years ago, to one which is largely curable, but this can only be achieved by regular screening and early detection of tumours. 

Liver Tests
Liver disease is difficult to diagnose because symptoms may be vague, easily confused with other health conditions or even non-existent. When diagnosed early however, many forms of liver disease can be treated or even reversed.

Liver enzyme tests – alanine aminotransferase (ALT) and aspartate aminotransferase (AST) are the most commonly used blood tests to determine the health of the liver.

The Canadian Liver Foundation recommends that liver enzyme tests be included in the regimen of blood tests that are part of an annual physical.  If the levels of AST or ALT are elevated, additional testing to determine an explanation for the elevation is required. Abnormal liver enzyme tests should never be ignored. Not all abnormal liver tests will require treatment for the underlying liver disease, but all abnormal liver tests, even minimally abnormal tests require an explanation.

Read more...

These are sensitive tests of liver injury.  Normally found in liver cells, ALT and AST leak out of liver cells and into the blood when the liver cells are damaged. ALT is considered to be the more effective indicator of liver damage as AST is also found in other organs such as the heart and other muscles.  

Non-alcoholic liver disease and viral hepatitis are common and are increasing in prevalence.  These diseases may affect more than 10% of the population.  Since early identification and intervention are critical to the effective treatment of liver disease, routine screening of the adult population is warranted. 

“The scary thing is this can happen to anyone. My disease is not caught, transmitted or created by lifestyle choices but no one knows what causes it. I’m lucky that my disease is being controlled by medication but there are thousands of others who aren’t so lucky” - Carrie, CLF Volunteer and patient living with chronic autoimmune hepatitis.

Contact us today to learn more about our advocacy initiatives and how you can get involved.