肝脏移植

一名男医生站在病人面前,问候他

器官捐赠:生命的恩赐。

肝脏移植是一种维持生命的手术,是用健康的肝脏取代患病和功能衰弱的肝脏。 肝脏移植接受者可以接受整个肝脏或一部分健康肝脏。 肝脏移植已成为肝功能衰竭患者的广为认可的治疗方案。 在加拿大,每年都会进行超过400例肝脏移植手术。 移植的肝脏或来自于被宣布脑死亡者(征得死者的亲属同意后捐赠),或来自于活体捐赠者如亲戚或朋友的捐赠。 肝脏移植中心根据肝脏的大小和血液类型,匹配供体与受体。

肝移植过程

移植过程

与肝移植一起生活

移植后

肝捐赠

活体捐赠者

大学健康网络移植计划:肝移植会议和网络研讨会的途径
二月12,2019(面对面)或二月27,2019(在线)
位置 (亲自):多伦多综合医院,安斯泰来室,11th楼层Munk Build博士开发的技术萃取的

免费教育会议和网络研讨会,供患者,护理人员和公众了解:t治疗肝病和治疗方案,d器官捐赠与器官捐赠相比,life移植后,p有活力和活着的捐赠经验。

有关此会议和网络研讨会的更多信息,请单击 点击此处。。 在2月8,2019周五之前注册。
(会议和网络研讨会仅提供英文版)

移植过程

肝脏移植是一项大手术,需要六至八小时完成。此手术跟其他重大的医疗程序一样,都是存在风险的。在病人的名字被放进新器官的轮候名单之前,手术的风险及其带来的益处都会被仔细衡量。手术成功与否受很多因素的影响,那些身体极度衰弱的病人会有较高的死亡率。同样地,对于那些已经有心脏及呼吸系统疾病的年长者,肝脏移植也是一项重大挑战。

当肝病能够用其他治疗方式去控制的时候,医生可能会避免或推迟做肝脏移植手术。可是当肝病进一步恶化,肝功能永久性受损的时候,便需要考虑做肝脏移植手术。不是所有人都适合做肝脏移植手术的,所以每一位潜在的移植手术病人必须被审慎评估。评估过程由病人的专科医生或家庭医生把病人转介给移植医护小组开始,病人会接受全面的医疗评估,包括进行各种医疗测试及与移植医护小组的成员面谈,以决定移植手术对病人来说是否是最适当的治疗方式。整个移植手术的评估及决策过程皆需要患者及/或其家人的积极参与。

轮候一个新的肝脏所需要的时间是很难预料的,轮候过程也会充满压力。那些病得最重的病人通常可以获得做移植手术的优先权。优先次序会根据肝病的严重程度而定,衡量方法是採用MELD的计分方式,即是末期肝病模式。对于病童,采用的是调整的评分系统PELD,即儿童末期肝病模式来评定需要肝脏移植的儿童。 如果病人及其家人在轮候过程中感到困难的话,可以寻求合资格的专业医护人员帮忙。

欲了解更多信息,请联系加拿大肝脏基金会全国帮助热线 1(800)563-5483。

移植后

在加拿大,成人和儿童移植的长期成功率在80%以上。 手术之后,病人会被送到深切治疗部(ICU)驳上机器,一款帮助他们呼吸的呼吸机。医护人员会密切留意病人身体有没有出现受细菌感染的情况,并不断替他们进行各种测试,以评估新肝脏的运作情况。大部份病人会留在深切治疗部一至三天,然后会被转送到移植手术观察病房。这时候,病人已经可以自行呼吸,但是仍然需要以静脉注射方式为身体输送药物。当病人情况有进展及已经开始接受物理治疗的时候,病人便可以在10至14天之后出院。之后两个星期,病人需要与移植中心保持紧密联繫,并需要前往门诊部覆诊,以密切监测新肝脏的运作情况。大部份病人可以在手术后三至六个月内回复正常生活。

在3时代,亚历山德里亚被诊断出患有原发性硬化性胆管炎(PSC),这是一种影响胆管的疾病,可导致严重的肝损伤。 虽然PSC主要影响中年男性,但越来越多的女性和儿童被诊断出来。 这种肝病的确切原因尚不清楚。 今天,没有治愈方法,也没有具体的治疗方法。 亚历山德里亚的父母担心有一天她可能需要进行肝脏移植手术。

网上捐赠 支持那些有一天能够治愈像Alessandria这样的患者的研究。继续阅读,了解活体供肝移植。


所有肝移植患者必须终生服用抗排斥药物。 必须监测这些药物,以确保患者血液中存在适量的药物。 这些药物抑制免疫系统,这使病人的身体能够接受新肝脏而不是攻击它。 然而,这些药物也使所有肝移植患者更容易发生感染。 在接受移植后,采取感染预防措施非常重要。 与抗排斥药物相关的副作用很多,因患者接受的药物治疗方案而异。 许多患者在治疗过程中会出现某种形式的副作用; 然而,许多副作用是暂时的或易于管理的。另外,副作用的风险取决于为保护移植器官所需的抗排斥药物的剂量。 移植小组通常会使用最少量的抗排斥药物,以期避免或尽量减少不需要的副作用的风险。 此外,移植小组会密切监视患者,以便能够快速识别和处理副作用。

大多数肝移植受者能够恢复正常和健康的生活方式。 大多数人表示,他们觉得重获生机,生活质量改善,再次开始享受日常活动。 肝移植受者在康复后能够参与正常的运动,女性能够怀孕并进行正常的移植后怀孕和分娩。

活体捐赠者

由于肝移植期等待时间长,期间肝病会进一步恶化,因此许多家庭考虑活体器官捐赠。 但应该指出,并非所有等待移植者都适合这一选择。 肝移植中心会根据肝脏大小和血型,匹配捐赠者与受体。

示出一个肝脏的一部分的图
给予婴儿的活体器官,可以是成人供体肝脏左叶的一小部分。成人与成人活体供体移植,使用活体肝脏的整个右叶。 不是所有潜在的捐赠者都适合作器官捐赠。移植小组采取非常谨慎的预防措施,以确保捐赠的决定是非胁迫且无条件的。 活体捐赠手术是重大手术,需要五至XNUMX日留院,及二至三个个月的康复期。 供体手术的死亡风险非常低,而且在几个月内,供体的肝脏会再生回90%原始肝脏尺寸。

Transplants

A male doctor stands in front of his patient, greeting him

Organ donation: The gift of life.

A liver transplant is a life-preserving operation that replaces a diseased and poorly functioning liver with a healthy donated liver. A liver transplant recipient can receive either an entire liver or a portion of a healthy liver. Liver transplantation has become a well-recognized treatment option for people with liver failure. In Canada, over 400 such operations are performed every year. Livers are donated either from individuals who have been declared brain dead and with the consent of their next of kin, or from a living donor such as a relative or friend. Liver transplant centres match donors with recipients based on compatible liver size and blood type.

Transplant Process

Living with a Transplant

Being a Liver Donor

 

The Transplant Process

A liver transplant is a major surgery with an operation lasting between six and eight hours. As with any major medical procedure, liver transplantation has risks. These risks along with the benefits are carefully considered before a patient is placed on a waiting list for a new organ. A successful outcome depends upon many factors. Patients who enter surgery very ill carry a higher risk of dying. Similarly, older patients with cardiac or respiratory illnesses will find the transplant a greater challenge.

When medical therapy is effective in stopping the progression of liver disease, transplantation may be avoided or delayed. If a patient develops advanced disease, with impaired liver function, which is non-reversible, liver transplantation should be considered. Liver transplantation is not suitable for everyone, so all potential transplant patients must be carefully assessed. The assessment starts when the specialist or family doctor makes a referral to the transplant team. Patients receive a comprehensive medical evaluation which includes various tests and interviews by various team members to determine whether transplantation is the best treatment option. The patient and/or family members are extensively involved in the transplant assessment and decision-making process.

The waiting time for a new liver may be uncertain and stressful. The sickest patients receive priority for a transplant. Prioritization is based on severity of the liver disease measured by a Model for End-stage Liver Disease score (MELD). In children, a modified scoring system, called Pediatric End-stage Liver disease score (PELD), is used to prioritize children in need of a liver transplant. If patients and families are having difficulty in coping during this time, it is recommended that they seek the assistance of a qualified health professional.

For more information please contact the Canadian Liver Foundation’s National Help Line at 1 (800) 563-5483.

 

Living with a Transplant

In Canada, the long-term success rate of transplantation for both adults and children is over 80%. Immediately after surgery, patients are taken to the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) where they are placed on a machine known as a mechanical ventilator that supports their breathing. They are carefully monitored for signs of infection. Frequent tests are conducted to assess the functioning of the new liver. Most patients spend one to three days in the ICU before they are transferred to a step-down transplant unit. At this point, they are able to breathe on their own but will continue to have intravenous lines delivering medication. Following continued improvement and physiotherapy, patients usually leave the hospital after 10 to 14 days. They will be required to remain close to the transplant centre for several weeks and will attend an outpatient clinic for continued monitoring of their new liver. Most patients return to a good quality of life within three to six months after surgery.

At the age of 3, Alessandria was diagnosed with primary sclerosing cholangitis (PSC), a disease that affects the bile ducts and can lead to severe liver damage.  Although PSC affects primarily middle-aged men, a growing number of women and children are being diagnosed. The exact cause of this liver disease is still unknown. Today, there is no cure and no specific treatment. Alessandria’s parents fear that one day she may need a liver transplant.

Donate now to support research that may one day lead to a cure for people like Alessandria, and keep reading to learn about living donor transplants.


All liver transplant patients must take anti-rejection medications for life. These medications must be monitored to ensure the right amount of medication is present in the patient’s blood. These medications suppress the immune system, which enables your body to accept the new liver without attacking it. However, these medications also make all liver transplant patients more susceptible to developing infections. Infection prevention techniques are very important after receiving a transplant. The side effects associated with anti-rejection medications are many and are specific to the medication regimen a patient receives. Many patients experience some form of side effect during their course of treatment; however, many of the side effects are temporary or manageable. The risk of side effects also depends on the amount of anti-rejection medications one requires to protect the transplanted organ. The transplant team will often use the least amount of anti-rejection medications needed in hopes of avoiding or minimizing the risk of unwanted side effects. Furthermore, the transplant team monitors patients closely so that side effects can be identified and dealt with quickly.

Most liver transplant recipients are able to return to a normal and healthy lifestyle. Most report that they feel re-energized, have an improved quality of life and enjoy everyday activities once more. Liver transplant recipients are able to participate in normal exercise after their recuperation and women are able to conceive and have normal post-transplant pregnancies and deliveries.

 

Being a Liver Donor

The long waiting time for a liver transplant and the progression of the liver disease that occurs during this period has motivated many families to consider living donation. It should be noted, however, that not all candidates are suitable for this option. Liver transplant centres match donors with recipients based on compatible liver size and blood type.

A diagram showing that a portion of one liver isLiving donor transplants in babies involve transplanting a small portion of the left lobe of the adult donor’s liver to an infant. Adult to adult living donor transplant is achieved by using the entire right lobe of the donor’s liver. Not all potential donors are suitable for living donation and extra precautions are taken by the transplant team to ensure that the decision to donate is without coercion and is unconditional. The living donation operation is a major surgery and requires a five to 10-day hospitalization and two to three-month period of recovery. The donor surgery has a very low risk of death and within a few months, the donor’s liver regenerates to within 90 per cent of its original size.