护理者

两名由父母亲举行的小孩彼此握手

许许多多的人,在许许多多的层面上,受到肝脏疾病的影响。

作为肝病患者的护理者,您可能感同身受着您的挚爱经历的情绪:恐惧,孤立甚至愤怒。 加拿大肝脏基金会的工作之一,就是帮助你将这些消极情绪变成希望和力量。

在应对不同程度的疾病中,为了避免时常遇到的精疲力尽的情形,您不只要照顾好病人,也同样应该照顾好自己。 该页面上的信息,从预期到加拿大肝脏基金会提供的支持计划,都是专门为护理者而设计的。

想要求更多有关护理者的资源,或想了解更多现有的支援,请 请联系我们。.

肝脏问题

您要做什么

肝脏支持服务

支持服务

提示肝脏健康

给您的提示

肝脏健康资源

更多资讯


您要做什么

身为照顾肝病患者的家庭成员或护理者,您可能需要扮演各种角色,这通常意味着承担身体和情感护理的双重责任。 这些责任包括:

  • 负责家务,如杂货店购物,准备饭菜,清理和管理财务
  • 帮助梳理,洗澡和穿衣
  • 管理就诊服药,包括保持就诊记录和准备药物
  • 留意肝脏疾病恶化和药物副作用的体征和症状
  • 安排就诊时间
  • 接送及陪伴患者去看医生
  • 了解肝脏疾病,代表您所护理的病人与医护人员和社会服务提供者进行沟通
  • 倾听和提供必要的情感支持
  • 在所有情况下为您所爱的人呼吁

护理者常见问题和疑虑包括:

如果亲人的疾病进展至晚期,会怎么样?
随着肝脏疾病的进展,肝脏的疤痕持续,您的亲人可能会出现症状和并发症,其中可能包括:

  • 食欲不振,恶心呕吐,体重减轻
  • 皮肤和眼白呈黄色(黄疸)
  • 搔痒(瘙痒),主要是由皮肤中积留的胆汁引起
  • 体液积聚和腿部疼痛肿胀(水肿)和腹部积水(腹水)
  • 思绪紊乱及其他精神变化,可能导致昏迷
  • 血管血压升高,导致食道静脉肿胀或破裂,
  • 虚弱

即使出现并发症,通常也可以治疗。 请与您的亲人的医护人员讨论治疗方案。

我会从我护理的家人身上染到肝脏疾病吗?
有超过100肝病:一些是由病毒(如甲型肝炎,乙型和丙型肝炎)引起的,一些是遗传的(如血色素沉着病,威尔逊病),还有一些是由生活方式和环境造成的疾病。 如果您的家人患有病毒性肝炎(甲型肝炎,乙型肝炎或丙型肝炎),请向医护人士咨询如何预防和接种免疫甲型与乙型肝炎。想了解更多有关特定肝脏疾病,以及如何保护自己的资讯,请浏览 肝脏疾病 部分。

我可以为有肝病的孩子做什么?
如果您的小孩患有肝脏疾病,治疗因病因而异。 一般来说,医生可能会开具特殊的婴儿配方奶粉和维生素补充剂。 一些代谢疾病,如半乳糖血症,需要特定的饮食或药物治疗。 对于某些疾病,如胆道闭锁,需要进行肝脏手术。

在许多情况下,儿童期的肝脏疾病可以通过饮食,药物或其他干预措施进行管理或控制。 如果肝脏因为过度损伤而不能正常发挥作用,您宝宝在一岁之内可能需要进行肝脏移植。

请告知医护人士您的孩子可能需要的特别的饮食和治疗方法。

持续肝病的警示是什么?
未消退的皮肤及眼白的黄色(黄疸)是持续肝脏疾病的征兆,且通常表明是严重的肝脏问题。 对于看起来从肝脏疾病中恢复的婴儿,黄疸的再次出现也是疾病复发的征兆。

肝脏疾病是否会在同一家庭中重复出现?
病毒感染和胆道闭锁非常不可能影响一个以上的家庭成员。 肝脏代谢紊乱通常是遗传的,因此可能发生在多个家庭成员中。 家中最先出生的儿童应该接受此类遗传性疾病的检查,之后出生的婴儿也要仔细检查。产前检查适用于某些先天性疾病,遗传咨询可能对那些有遗传性肝病史的家庭有帮助。。

回到顶部


支持计划和服务

当某人最初被诊断患有肝脏疾病时,他们可能会有很多问题想问,关于他们的病情有,病情如何影响他们的生活方式,以及可能采取什么治疗或其他干预措施。 作为护理者,您对病人的病情可能有相同的疑问。 请记得,我们既可以为您,也可以为您的家人提供帮助。

全国帮助热线:
咨询热线提供了一个资源,令您和您的亲人在诊断之后有一个可以解难答疑的地方,帮助您更好地了解相关疾病,并为您提供所需的资源。 你可以致电 1-800-563 5483 , 星期一至五从9AM到5pm EST。

病友支持网络:
这是一个全国性病友网络,供您与他人交流及分享经验。 它由加拿大肝脏基金会组织,将加拿大与肝病相关的家庭联系一起 ---- 家里有肝病患者的,家里有护理肝病患者的,家里曾被诊断为肝病的 ---- 供您与有过相同经历的人相互交流。

如果您想与您所在地区的病友支持者建立联系,或者想加入病友支持网络,请致电全国帮助热线 1-800-563 5483 , 或发送电子邮件 Chinese@liver.ca

17岁的Matthew Ayuen在预定参加G2驾驶考试的那一天,驾驶考试成了他最不关心的事情 ----- 他没有坐在方向盘后面,而是被送进手术室,在那里医生将他父亲肝脏的一部分移植到他的身体里。

在从最初诊断患有PSC到接受移植手术之间的充满压力的日子里,马修和他的家人参加了加拿大肝脏基金会的“护肝生活”教育讲座。 这些讲座使他们有机会与面对同样问题的其他病友和家庭互相联系。 现在,马修及其家人通过帮助提升肝脏研究及教育的筹款与意识,作出自己的贡献。

您正在寻求额外的支持,或者寻求回馈社区的方法吗? 了解更多关于 你可以帮忙的方法。


给您的提示

  • 不要忽视你自己的需要,无论是情感还是身体方面的。 务必记得,您也需要休息,以免自己患病或者被累倒。
  • 拥有支持网络对您自己的情绪健康至关重要。 加拿大肝脏基金会帮助您获取病友支持网络等类似的资源,令您可以与其他有相同经历的人联系。
  • 寻求医疗保健提供者,雇主,社会援助工作者,社会工作者或社交圈中的人的帮助,以查找所需的资源。
  • 如果您的财务状况发生变化,租金和还贷可能会变得难以应付。 如果您认为您的住房状况将因收入变化而受到影响,请与您的银行或财务顾问联系,看看他们是否可以为您和您的家人提供一些短期解决方案。
  • 许多雇主都有“雇员援助计划”(EAP),可以为员工提供免费的咨询服务。 想了解如何获取此类支援,请联系您的工作机构的福利负责人。
  • 如果您照顾的家人的病情恶化到无法穿服,走路或洗澡,您可以找一名护士或家庭护理人员上门服务,这样病人就不需要住到医院。 护士可能会安排其他支持,让病人可以留在家中。咨询您的医护人士,看如何安排上门护理服务。

回到顶部


更多资讯

在加拿大,所有药物必须经过药物审查程序才能出售给患者或通过公共资助的药物计划获得。 当药品制造商向加拿大卫生部提交申请时,药物审查和批准程序即开始。 加拿大卫生部的科学家和其他外部专家审查了该药物的安全性,有效性,质量以及潜在的益处和风险。 一旦他们同意该药物是安全有效的,它就会被批准并颁发药物识别号(DIN)。 然后制造商能够在加拿大销售该药物。

一旦药物获得加拿大卫生部的批准,制造商必须向共同药物审查(CDR)提交申请,如果他们希望将其药物列入公共资助的药物计划中。 CDR审查并就是否应在公共资助的药物计划中涵盖新药提出建议。 除魁北克省外,所有省和地区都参加了CDR。 一旦提出建议,省级药物计划决定是否将该药物纳入其省级处方集。 省级药物计划不需要遵循CDR建议,因为每个省和地区都考虑到他们自己的医疗保健优先事项和可用资源。

私人医疗保险或药物计划
如果您的公司提供私人医疗保险或药物计划,您可通过该计划为您支付药费。请向您的私人医疗保险或药物计划提供者查询您的药物是否获得资助。

公共资助药物计划
每个省和地区都有自己的规则。 一些省级药物计划为65和老年人或社会援助者提供保险。 一些省份(如安大略省)为低收入人群提供特殊支持。 请致电您的省部或卫生部,以获取有关贵省公共资助药物计划条款的更多信息。 (参见“如何健康指南”第13页的链接)

魁北克公共药物计划
在魁省,所有人都通过私人或政府药物资助计划获得处方药物资助。

各省和地区政府都为合格的团体提供药物福利计划。 有些是基于收入的普遍计划。 大多数人口群体都有特定的计划,这些计划可能需要对高昂的药物费用加大覆盖面。 这些群体包括老年人,社会援助的接受者,以及患有高毒品成本的疾病或病症的个人。 欲了解更多详情,请联系您所在省或地区的卫生保健部门,或点击下面的相应链接。

•阿尔伯塔省(处方药方案)
• 不列颠哥伦比亚省 (医药护理)
•曼尼托巴省 (药典计划)
•新不伦瑞克省 (处方药方案)
•纽芬兰 (制药服务)
•西北地区 (药物覆盖)
• 新斯科舍省 (医药护理)
•努纳武特 (药物覆盖)
•安大略省 (药物利益计划)
• 爱德华王子岛 (药物成本援助计划)
•魁北克省 (处方药保险)
•萨斯喀彻温省 (药物计划)
•育空 (保险业)

制药公司
一些制药公司向无法负担医疗费用的患者提供药物,或者根据“体恤使用计划”向没有政府或私人保险的患者提供药物。 每个计划都有自己的资格条件。 请和你的医生谈谈,看看你是否有资格参加这样的项目。

可用于丙型肝炎治疗的患者援助计划
Abbvie Care 1-844-471 2273 ,
- Holkira Pak(Ombivasvir / paritaprevir / ritonabir + dasabuvir)
- Maviret(Glecaprevir / pibrentasvir)

Gilead Momentum HCV支持计划 1(855) 447-7977
- SOVALDI(Sofosbuvir)
- EPCLUSA(Sofosbuvir / velpatasvir)
- HARVONI(Ledipasvir / sofosbuvir)
- VOSEVI(sofosbuvir / velpatasvir / voxilaprevir)

•MerckCare丙型肝炎项目 1-866-872 5773 ,
- Zepatier(Grazoprevir / elbasvir)

可用于乙型肝炎治疗的患者援助计划
Gilead Momentum HBV支持计划 1-888-453 8885 ,
- VEMLIDY(替诺福韦丙氨苯丙胺)

可用的原发性胆管炎治疗患者援助计划
•导航患者支持计划 1-844-628 4484 ,
- OCALIVA(二乙醇酸)

“知识即良药” (Knowledge is the Best Medicine,简称KiBM)计划可帮助您管理自己的健康,并可与您的医生或医疗团队共同合作,以安全及适当的方法管理您的药物。这个计划由加国一些主要的医疗机构资助,这些机构都相信一个对药物有认知的病人便是一个更健康的病人。

KIBM产品将使您和您的家人能够:

•始终随身携带最新的药物清单
•在与医疗保健系统的每个联系点传达您的药物/健康相关需求
•轻松访问药物/健康相关信息

要了解有关知识的更多信息,最好的医学, 点击这里.

如果您或您所关爱的人想了解与某疾病相关的医疗服务或者支援信息,您可以採取行动确保您获得最佳的医疗协助。由加拿大健康慈善团体联合会出版的「医疗系统指引」可以助您:

•了解医疗保健系统
•查找所需的信息和服务
•与您的医生或医疗保健提供者交谈
•要求第二意见
•管理您的病情
•支付药费
•参加临床试验
•倡导并寻求您所需的支持

要下载如何健康指南, 点击这里。

加拿大胆道闭锁注册处(CBAR)是加拿大小儿肝脏病学研究组(CPHRG)和加拿大儿科外科医师协会(CAPS)之间的一个合作伙伴关系,这两个结构完善的加拿大网络一起参与胆道闭锁患儿的护理。

要查看加拿大胆道闭锁注册中心的患者和家长资源, 点击这里。

For Caregivers

Two young children, being held by their parents, hold hands with each other

The effects of liver disease are felt by many people, on many levels.

As a caregiver of someone living with liver disease, you may share many of the same emotions your loved one is experiencing: fear, isolation, or even anger. This is why part of our job at the Canadian Liver Foundation is to help you turn those negative emotions into feelings of hope and strength.

To avoid the burnout that is often felt while dealing with an illness at any level, it is important to take care not only of your loved ones, but of yourself as well. The information on this page has been designed specifically with caregivers in mind – from expectations to support programs provided by the Canadian Liver Foundation.

To request more caregiver-specific resources or to learn more about the support available to you, please contact us.

liver questions

What to Expect

liver support services

Support Services

tips for liver health

Tips for You

liver health resources

Additional Resources


What to Expect

As a family member or a caregiver looking after someone who has liver disease, you may need to play a variety of roles, which often means taking on responsibility for both physical and emotional support. These responsibilities often include;

  • Taking care of household activities such as grocery shopping, preparing meals, cleaning, and managing finances
  • Helping with grooming, bathing and dressing
  • Managing medical care including maintaining medical records and giving medication
  • Watching for signs and symptoms of worsening liver disease and side effects of medication
  • Scheduling medical appointments
  • Driving and accompanying the person you care for to medical appointments
  • Learning about liver disease and communicating with healthcare and social service providers on behalf of your loved one
  • Listening and providing the necessary emotional support
  • Advocating on behalf of your loved one in all situations

Common questions and concerns from caregivers include:

What can I expect if my loved one’s disease becomes advanced?
As liver disease progresses, the scarring of the liver continues, and your loved one may develop symptoms and complications which may include:

  • loss of appetite, nausea and vomiting, weight loss
  • a yellow discoloration of the skin and whites of the eyes (jaundice)
  • itching (pruritus) which is primarily caused by retention of bile products in the skin
  • fluid build-up and painful swelling of the legs (edema) and abdomen (ascites)
  • confusion and other mental changes, potentially leading to coma
  • swelling or rupture of veins in the esophagus from increased blood pressure in the blood vessels
  • weakness

Even when complications develop, they can often be treated. Please discuss treatment options with your loved one’s healthcare provider.

Can I get a liver disease from my loved one?
There are over 100 liver diseases: some that are caused by viruses (such as hepatitis A, B and C), some that are inherited (like hemochromatosis, Wilson disease) and others that are caused by lifestyle and the environment. If your loved one has viral hepatitis (hepatitis A, hepatitis B or hepatitis C), talk to your healthcare provider about prevention and getting immunized against hepatitis A and hepatitis B. For more information on a specific liver disease and how to safeguard yourself, please read our Liver Diseases section.

What can I do for my child that has liver disease?
If your child has liver disease, the treatment varies with the cause. In general, your child’s physician may prescribe a special baby formula as well as vitamin supplements. Some metabolic diseases, such as galactosemia, require specific diets or drug treatments. For some diseases, such as biliary atresia, surgery on the liver is required.

In many cases, childhood liver diseases can be managed or controlled through diet, medications or other interventions. If the liver is too damaged to function effectively, a liver transplant may be necessary in the first year of your baby’s life.

Please talk to your healthcare provider regarding the specific diet and treatments your child may require.

What are the warning signs of continuing liver disease?
A yellow discolouration of the skin and whites of the eyes (jaundice) that does not disappear is a sign of ongoing liver disease and generally indicates severe liver problems. In an infant who appears to recover from a liver disorder, the return of jaundice is a sign of ongoing disease.

Does liver disease recur in the same family?
Viral infections and biliary atresia are extremely unlikely to affect more than one person in a family. Metabolic disorders of the liver are usually inherited and therefore may occur in more than one family member. Older children in the family should be checked for these diseases, and infants should be followed carefully after birth. Prenatal diagnosis is available for some of these disorders, and genetic counselling may be useful to families who have a history of hereditary liver disease.

Back to top


Support Programs & Services

When someone is first diagnosed with liver disease, they may have many questions about their condition, how it will impact their lifestyle and what treatments or other interventions might be available to them. As a caregiver, you will likely have the same questions about your friend or family member’s health. It is important to know there is help available for both you and your loved one.

National Help Line:
This support resource gives you and your loved one somewhere to turn for answers after diagnosis, can help you better understand your disease, and provides you with the resources you need. You can call 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9am to 5pm EST.

The Peer Support Network:
This is a national network of people living with liver disease that have offered to share their experiences with others. It was developed by the Canadian Liver Foundation as a means to link Canadians who have a family member who has liver disease, who care for someone who suffers from liver disease, or who have been diagnosed with a liver disease, to talk about your concerns with a peer in a similar situation.

If you would like to be connected with a peer supporter in your area, or would like to join the peer support network, please call the National Help Line at 1 (800) 563-5483 or email Billie Potkonjak.

On the day that 17-year-old Matthew Ayuen was scheduled to take his G2 road test, driving was the furthest thing from his mind. Instead of being behind the wheel, Matthew was in surgery having part of his father’s liver transplanted into his body.

During the stressful time between his initial diagnosis of PSC and his transplant, Matthew and his family attended the Canadian Liver Foundation’s Living with Liver Disease Program. The sessions allowed them the opportunity to connect with other individuals and families coping with the same concerns. Now Matthew and his family make their own contribution by helping to raise awareness and funds for liver research and education.

Looking for extra support, or for ways to give back to your community? Learn more about the many ways you can help.


Tips for You

  • Do not neglect your own needs, both emotional and physical. It is important to remember that you also need a break from the disease and the toll it can take on you.
  • Having a support network is important for your own emotional wellbeing. The Canadian Liver Foundation is here to help you access resources like the Peer Support Network where you can connect with others who are going through the same experiences that you are.
  • Ask your healthcare provider, employer, social assistance worker, social worker or someone in your social circle to help you find the resources you need.
  • If your financial circumstances change, rent and mortgage payments may become difficult to manage. If you think that your housing situation will be affected due to a change in income, check with your bank or financial advisor to see if they may be able to provide some short-term solutions for you and your family.
  • Many employers belong to an Employee Assistance Program (EAP) and provide free counselling services to employees. Contact your benefit advisor at your workplace for details on how to access this support.
  • If your loved one becomes very sick or has difficulty getting dressed, walking or bathing, you may be able to have a nurse or home care provider come to your home so your loved one does not have to enter a hospital. A nurse may be able to arrange for other support to allow your loved one to stay at home. Talk to your healthcare provider who can arrange home care services.

Back to top


Additional Resources

How are medications approved in Canada? Why do some provinces cover drugs when others will not?

In Canada, all drugs must go through a drug review process, before they can be made available for sale to patients or access through publicly funded drug plans.  The drug review and approval process starts when a drug manufacturer submits an application to Health Canada. Health Canada scientists and other outside experts review the safety, effectiveness, quality, as well as the potential benefits and risks of the drug.  Once they agree that the drug is safe and effective, it is approved and issued a Drug Identification Number (DIN). The manufacturer is then able to sell the drug in Canada.
 
Once a drug has been approved by Health Canada, the manufacturer must submit an application to the Common Drug Review (CDR) if they wish to have their drug listed on publicly funded drug plans. The CDR reviews and makes recommendations as to whether new drugs should be covered under publicly funded drug plans. All provinces and territories, with the exception of Quebec, participate in the CDR.  Once a recommendation is made, the provincial drug plans decide whether or not to include the drug on their provincial formulary.  Provincial drug plans are not required to follow the CDR recommendation, because each province and territory takes into account their own health care priorities and available resources.

How can I pay for my medication?

Private health insurance or drug plans
If you have private health insurance or a drug plan at work, you may be able to have the medication paid through your plan. Please consult your private health insurance or drug plan provider to see if your drug is covered.

Publicly funded drug plans
Each province and territory has their own rules.  Some provincial drug plans provide coverage for individuals 65 and older, or those on social assistance.  Some provinces (e.g. Ontario) provide special support to low income individuals. Please call your Provincial Ministry or Department of Health to get more information about the terms of the publicly funded drug plan in your province. (see links on page 13 of the “How To Health Guide”)

Quebec public drug program
In Quebec, everyone must be covered by prescription drug insurance either through private or publicly funded plans.

Pharmaceutical companies
Some pharmaceutical companies provide medications to patients who cannot afford them or who do not have government or private insurance under the Compassionate Use Programs. Each program has its own terms for eligibility. Please talk to your doctor to see if you are eligible for such a program. 

Each provincial and territorial government offers a drug benefit plan for eligible groups. Some are income-based universal programs. Most have specific programs for population groups that may require more enhanced coverage for high drug costs. These groups include seniors, recipients of social assistance, and individuals with diseases or conditions that are associated with high drug costs. For more details, please contact your provincial or territorial health care ministry, or click on the appropriate link below.  
• Alberta (Prescription Drug Programs)
• British Columbia (Pharmacare)
• Manitoba (Pharmacare Program)
• New Brunswick (Prescription Drug Program)
• Newfoundland (Pharmaceutical Services)
• Northwest Territories (Drug coverage)
• Nova Scotia (Pharmacare)
• Nunavut (Drug coverage)
• Ontario (Drug Benefit Program)
• Prince Edward Island (Drug Cost Assistance Programs)
• Quebec (Prescription Drug Insurance)
• Saskatchewan (Drug Plan)
• Yukon (Insured Health)

How do I manage my medication? ‘Knowledge is the Best Medicine’ Program

Knowledge is the Best Medicine (KIBM) is a program that helps you take control of your health and work with your prescriber and the rest of your healthcare team to manage your medicines safely and appropriately. This program is supported by leading health organizations in Canada who believe that an educated patient is a healthier patient.
 
KIBM products will enable you and your family to:

• Keep an up-to-date medication list with you at all times
• Communicate your medication/health related needs at each point of contact with the healthcare system
• Easily access medication/health related information

To learn more about Knowledge is the Best Medicine, click here.

How do I navigate the health care system? The ‘How to’ Health Guide

If you, or someone you love and care for, are trying to find health services support or information for an illness or disease, there are actions you can take to help get the best possible health care. The Health Charities Coalition of Canada has prepared a How to Health Guide that can help you:

• Understand the health care system
• Find the information and services you need
• Talk with your doctor or health care provider
• Ask for a second opinion
• Manage your condition
• Pay for your medication
• Participate in a clinical trial
• Advocate and ask for the support you need

To download The How to Health Guide, click here.

Canadian Biliary Atresia Registry ‘Resources for Patients and Parents’

The Canadian Biliary Atresia Registry (CBAR) is a collaboration between the Canadian Pediatric Hepatology Research Group (CPHRG) and the Canadian Association of Pediatric Surgeons (CAPS), the two well-established networks in Canada involved with the care of children with biliary atresia.

To view the Canadian Biliary Atresia Registry's Resources for Patients and Parents, click here.