胆道闭锁 – 加拿大肝脏基金会

胆道闭锁

一只抱着母亲肩膀的宝宝的特写镜头图像胆道闭锁是一种相对罕见的疾病,始于婴儿早期,每10,000至20,000个婴儿中约有一例。 在胆道闭锁情形中,由肝脏通向肠道的胆管受到损伤,阻滞了胆汁流出肝脏。

疾病早期,主要是肝脏外的胆管受到影响,但在后期,肝脏内的胆管也会受损。 胆管受损会导致肝脏内胆汁积贮,对肝脏造成损害。 如果不恢复胆汁流动,患儿的肝功能将逐渐丧失,很少能够活过两岁。

肝脏显示胆囊所在位置的图示什么是胆汁?

胆汁是在肝脏中合成而储存在胆囊中的黄绿色液体。胆汁通过胆总管流向小肠,帮助消化和吸收膳食脂肪和脂溶性维生素。胆汁也是清除代谢废物和体内毒素所必需的物质。

原因

胆道闭锁的原因尚不清楚。 它不具传染性,不能从一个孩子传给另一个孩子。 胆道闭锁不被认为与遗传有关,与产前保健的任何方面都没有关系。 研究人员目前认为,一个复杂的过程会导致炎症和胆管堵塞。

症状

胆道闭锁通常在婴儿出生的头两个月被诊断。 常见的迹象是:

  • 新生儿黄疸至两周龄时不见好转,或是两周后出现黄疸。
  • 尿色深和白陶土色粪便。
  • 肝脏肿大,腹部肿胀。

诊断

由于胆道闭锁的症状也可能见与其他疾病,因此需要进行若干检测以进行诊断,包括:

  • 血液、尿液和大便样本分析
  • 超声波检查肝脏和胆管
  • 肝CT扫描检查肝脏和胆管
  • a 肝脏活检 进行肝脏活组织检测。

如果上述检查结果提示胆道闭锁,则还需要外科手术以进一步检查胆管,外科手术时需用X光确定胆管是否梗阻。

治疗

恢复胆汁引流至关重要。否则肝脏将遭受持续损害,导致肝功能衰竭。最常用的治疗方法是一种叫做Kasai手术(以开发它的外科医生命名,也称为门静脉造口术)。  该Kasai手术这种手术的方法是切除发生病变的肝外胆管,用部分小肠壁取而代之重建一套新的胆汁引流系统。这种手术可能会部分或全部消退黄疸,但不能逆转已经存在的肝脏病变或预防轻微的进行性肝脏损害。Kasai手术的成功率是三分之一到二分之一。如果手术后黄疸完全消退,大部分患儿能够正常生长发育。然而,尽管取得了成功 Kasai手术肝硬化或肝内结疤通常会继续缓慢形成。

如果最初的治疗失败将会发生什麽?

食道和胃静脉曲张的例证

如果 Kasai手术 由于未能建立胆汁流动,孩子将面临持续的健康问题,如维生素缺乏,发育迟缓,生长受抑制,感染,腹部肿胀,烦躁,睡眠障碍和胃肠道出血。

维生素缺乏症
维生素A,D,E和K被称为脂溶性维生素,因为身体只有在它们结合脂肪时才能使用它们。 如果肠道中的胆汁太少而不能进行脂肪消化,那么这些维生素的吸收变得困难。 婴儿可能患有维生素缺乏症,可能需要口服额外的维生素补充剂。

延缓发育,抑制生长
如果没有足够的胆汁到达肠道,婴儿将无法消化他/她的食物中的脂肪。 这使得体重增加变得困难。 特殊的婴儿配方奶粉可以帮助保持体重增加。

如果胆汁流量未达到,胆道闭锁的孩子可能看起来很黄疸。 肝脏可能会变大,形成“大肚子”的外观。 经常住院和长时间的不适感可能会延误坐,走和其他活动的发展。 然而,心理发展通常是正常的。

肿胀的腹部
当肝脏功能不正常时,婴儿经常会在腹部产生液体。 这种情况称为腹水。

多数婴儿不会被轻度腹水影响,但如果过多体液积存,可能会变得不舒服。医生通常给患儿使用利尿药物,通过增加尿量,来帮助他们清除积液。

烦燥不安和睡眠障碍
由于肝脏不能很容易地从体内清除新陈代谢或毒素的废物,因此婴儿经常感到不适,因为肝脏损害会恶化。 结果,婴儿变得更加烦躁,随着时间的推移,他们也可能变得难以安静。 睡眠模式可能受到影响,许多孩子白天开始睡得更多,而在晚上醒着。 为了帮助治疗和预防这些毒素的积聚,可以给予药物治疗。

胃肠道出血
肝脏损害可能会干扰正常的血液通过肝脏。 结果,来自肠的血液绕过肝脏,导致胃部与食道内静脉的血压升高 。 这些静脉可能会变大并可能开始破裂,导致内部出血。

并发感染
特别是在儿童中 Kasai手术 缓解黄疸,感染可能是一个问题。 感染可以在新的引流管中发展。 感染的症状包括发烧,烦躁和增加黄疸。 感染用抗生素治疗。

何时有必要进行肝脏移植?

当患者被证实十分困难或是没有可能恢复适当的胆汁引流、并已发生肝衰竭时,肝脏移植是最后的选择。 对于此类病例,大约80-90%的肝脏移植手术能获成功。对于胆道闭锁所致肝功能衰竭的患儿来说,进行肝脏移植的最大障碍是缺乏相应年龄的肝脏供体。对某些患儿,生活相关捐赠者(LRD)移植可能是一种选择。

应采取什么预防措施?

目前对于胆道闭锁没有任何预防措施,它总是突然出现并只发生于婴儿,但不会从一个孩子传给另外一个孩子。早期干预是最好的行动方式。如果新生儿黄疸持续超过两週龄后,或两週后出现黄疸,或者有粘土色的粪便,应该即刻带婴儿去看医生。

我们还可以了解什么?

目前研究的主要目的是进一步明确小儿胆道闭锁及其他肝脏疾病的病因。加拿大肝脏基金会支持相关的教育课程以及有关肝脏疾病病因、诊断、预防和治疗方面的研究。

支持

全国帮助热线: 这一支持资源可以让您和您的亲人在诊断之后找到答案,帮助您了解您的疾病,并为您提供所需的资源。 你可以打电话 1-800-563 5483 , 周一至周五,从9 AM到5 PM EST。

病友支持网络: 这是一个由肝病患者组成的全国性网络,供患者们分享各自的经历。它是由加拿大肝脏基金会组织,旨在将有同样经历的人联系在一起,包括家中有肝病患者的人,照顾肝病患者的人,或曾被诊断为患有肝病的人,令人们可以与有相同经历者讨论自己的顾虑。
如果您想与您所在地区的同行支持者联系或希望加入同行支持网络,请拨打全国帮助热线 1-800-563 5483 ,或发电子邮件至 Chinese@liver.ca

助人助己!  如果您对刚刚阅读的信息,或我们网站上的任何信息不满意,请花一点时间,发邮件至Websitefeedback@liver.ca,告诉我们您对所希望看到的内容的意见和建议。请在您的电子邮件的主题行中包含您要评论的页面。发送电子邮件。

Biliary Atresia

Biliary Atresia

A closeup image of a baby holding on to a mother's shoulderBiliary atresia is a relatively rare disease that begins in early infancy and affects about one in every 10,000 to 20,000 infants. In biliary atresia the bile duct that leads from the liver to the intestine becomes damaged preventing bile from leaving the liver.

In the early stages the bile duct outside the liver is mainly affected, but in later stages bile ducts inside the liver are also damaged.  This can lead to build up of bile in the liver which can be harmful to the liver. Unless bile flow can be established, liver function is gradually lost and affected children rarely survive beyond two years of age.


An illustration of a liver showing where the gallbladder is locatedWhat is bile?

Bile is a yellow-green fluid made in the liver and stored in the gallbladder.  It then flows through the common bile duct to the small intestine, where it helps with digestion and absorption of dietary fats and fat-soluble vitamins. Bile is also necessary for removing waste products from metabolism and toxins from the body.

 

Cause

The cause of biliary atresia is not known.  It is not contagious, and it cannot be passed from one child to another.  Biliary atresia is not believed to be related to genetics, and is not connected to any aspect of prenatal care.  Researchers currently believe that a complex process causes inflammation and blockage of the bile ducts.

 

Symptoms

Biliary atresia is usually diagnosed during the first two months of life. Common signs are:

  • newborn jaundice that does not improve by two weeks of age, or jaundice that appears after two weeks of age
  • dark urine and pale, clay-coloured stools
  • enlarged liver or swollen abdomen

 

Diagnosis

Since the symptoms of biliary atresia may also be seen with other diseases, several tests are necessary to make a diagnosis. The following tests are performed:     

  • blood, urine and stool samples are analyzed
  • the liver and bile ducts are examined with ultrasound
  • a liver scan showing the liver and bile ducts is performed
  • a liver biopsy is obtained

If the test results suggest biliary atresia, an operation is performed to examine the bile ducts and an x-ray is taken during the operation to determine whether the bile duct is blocked.

 

Treatment

It is essential that bile flow is established.  Otherwise, the liver will suffer ongoing damage, resulting in liver failure.  The most common treatment is an operation called the Kasai procedure (named for the surgeon who developed it, also referred to as portoenterostomy).  In this operation, the damaged bile duct outside the liver is removed and replaced with a new drainage system made from a piece of the small intestine.  This may partially or fully alleviate the jaundice, but it will not reverse the liver damage that has already occurred or prevent any low-grade ongoing damage.  The Kasai procedure is successful in one-third to one-half of all children and if jaundice is fully relieved, most children will grow and develop quite normally.  However despite a successful Kasai procedurecirrhosis, or scarring of the liver, generally continues to slowly occur.

 

What happens if the initial treatment fails?

An illustration of the esophageal and gastric varicesIf the Kasai procedure fails to establish bile flow, the child will suffer ongoing health problems such as vitamin deficiencies, delayed development, inhibited growth, infections, a swollen abdomen, irritability, sleep disturbances, and bleeding into the gastrointestinal tract.

Vitamin deficiencies
Vitamins A, D, E and K are called fat-soluble vitamins because the body can only use them when they are bound to fat.  If there is too little bile in the intestine for fat digestion, absorption of these vitamins becomes difficult. The baby may suffer from vitamin deficiency and may need to take extra vitamin supplements by mouth.

Delayed development and inhibited growth
If not enough bile reaches the intestine, the baby will not be able to digest the fat in his/her food.  This makes it difficult to gain weight. Special baby formula can help maintain weight gain.

A child with biliary atresia may look quite jaundiced if bile flow has not been achieved. The liver may become enlarged, creating a 'pot-bellied' appearance.  Frequent hospitalizations and long periods of feeling unwell may delay development of sitting, walking and other activities.  Mental development, however, is usually normal.

Swollen abdomen
When the liver is not functioning properly babies often develop fluid in their abdomen. This condition is called ascites. 

Most babies are not bothered by mild ascites, but if too much fluid builds up, it can become uncomfortable. Diuretic medications are often given to help children remove this fluid by increasing the amount of urine they produce.

Irritability and sleep disturbances
Babies often feel unwell as liver damage worsens because the liver is not able to remove the waste products of metabolism or toxins as easily from the body. As a result infants become more irritable and over time they may also become difficult to settle. Sleep patterns can be affected and many children begin sleeping more during the day and are awake at night. To help treat and prevent build up of these toxins, medications can be given.

Bleeding into the gastrointestinal tract
Liver damage may interfere with normal blood flow through the liver. As a result, blood from the intestine by-passes the liver, causing increased blood pressure in the veins of the stomach and esophagus. These veins may become enlarged and may begin to leak, causing internal bleeding.

Infections
Especially in children in whom the Kasai procedure relieves jaundice, infection can be a problem.  Infections can develop in the new drainage tube.  Symptoms of infection include fever, irritability and increasing jaundice.  Infections are treated with antibiotics.

 

When is a liver transplant necessary?

When it proves difficult or impossible to achieve adequate bile flow and liver failure develops, liver transplantation is a final option.  Replacing the liver in this way is successful in about 80-90 per cent of cases.  The largest obstacle to the transplantation of all children with liver failure from biliary atresia is the lack of liver donors in this age group. For some children, living related donor (LRD) transplants may be an option.

 

What precautions should be taken?

No precautions are possible as biliary atresia occurs without warning, only in infants and is not passed from one person to another. Early intervention is the best course of action. If jaundice persists after two weeks of age or develops after two weeks of age, or clay-coloured stools are noticed, it is important to have the infant see a doctor.

 

What else can we learn about?

Identifying causes of biliary atresia and other liver diseases in children is the key research goal. The Canadian Liver Foundation supports educational programs and research into the causes, diagnoses, prevention and treatment of liver disease.

Support

National Help Line:
This support resource gives you and your loved one somewhere to turn for answers after diagnosis, helps you understand your disease, and provides you with the resources you need.  You can call 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM EST.

The Peer Support Network:
This is a national network of people living with liver disease that have offered to share their experiences with others. It was developed by the Canadian Liver Foundation as a means to link Canadians like you who have a family member who has liver disease, who care for someone who suffers from liver disease, or who have been diagnosed with a liver disease, to talk about your concerns with a peer in a similar situation.

If you would like to be connected with a peer supporter in your area, or would like to join the peer support network, please call the National Help Line at 1 (800) 563-5483 or email Billie Potkonjak.

Help us help you! 
If you are not satisfied with the information you just read or any information on our website, please take a moment to send us your comments and suggestions on the type of content you would like to find on liver.ca. Please include the page you are commenting about in the subject line of your email.