威尔森氏症

威尔森氏症

威尔逊病是一种遗传性疾病,其中过量的铜积聚在体内,主要在肝脏中。 该疾病每30,000加拿大人中约有1人受到影响。 少量的铜对身体健康至关重要。 肝脏的其中一项工作就是保持体内铜的平衡。 肝脏也是储存铜的主要器官。 在威尔逊病中,当其储存容量充足时,铜会释放到血液中。 然后它累积在各种器官如大脑和眼角膜。 这种铜过载会损坏这些器官。 如果不治疗,威尔逊病可能会致命。

原因

威尔森氏症是遗传性疾病,患者只有得到一对缺陷基因患病基因才会出现症状,这对患病基因分别来自父母双方。患者自出生起肝脏就开始储存铜,可能经过数年后才会显现出症状。只有一个缺陷基因不会引起此症。

症状

威尔逊病比较难以诊断。 受影响的人可能多年没有症状。 出现症状后也相对轻微,不易引起重视。 有时Wilson病的症状类似于肝炎。 或者,一些个体肝脏和脾脏和肝脏检查异常增大。 大脑中的铜积累可以通过两种方式呈现:( 1)作为身体症状,如言语不清,声音流涎,流口水,震颤或吞咽困难,或者(2)作为精神疾病,如抑郁,躁狂行为或自杀冲动。

很少,Wilson病可能导致肝功能衰竭。 这种肝功能衰竭可能是患有Wilson病的第一征兆。这些患者需要 肝脏移植。

诊断

大多数患有Wilson病的人在相当年轻时表现出肝脏或神经精神疾病的迹象。 3和45年龄之间显示任何前述症状迹象的任何人都应该接受Wilson病的筛查。 任何患有不明原因的肝病的儿童或青少年都应接受Wilson病的检测。 有时威尔逊病直到中年以后才明显。 诊断可以通过确认 血液检查 测量血清铜和血浆铜蓝蛋白,这是一种含有铜的血液蛋白。 在24小时内测量尿液排出多少铜也可用于诊断。 对这种疾病的另一个诊断测试是找到Kayser-Fleischer环由于角膜中铜的积累,有时在虹膜周围可见棕色环,但通常需要特殊的眼睛检查。 尽管铜积累,但视力不受影响。 血液中的铜可能导致红细胞分解,导致贫血或胆结石。

已经发现了导致Wilson病的基因, 是遗传性疾病 。 对于患者的兄弟姐妹,可以用基因检测进行检查,以在他们出现症状之前就能确诊 。 在症状出现之前及早确诊,就能及早开始治疗。

治疗

一旦确诊,有效的治疗方法可用于治疗此疾病病,即使在晚期。必须消除体内铜的毒性浓度。必须防止铜的重新累积。这是通过使用脱青剂如D-青霉胺或高剂量锌来完成的。这些药物是药片,每天服用2-3次。除肝功能衰竭患者外,绝大多数威尔森氏症患者不需要肝移植。

能彻底治癒吗?

治疗不能纠正肝功能的根本缺陷。 因此,为了防止体内铜的重新积累,必须在整个人的整个一生中继续治疗。 接受治疗并持续服用的个体通常享有良好的健康和正常的预期寿命。

威尔森氏症可以预防吗?

威尔森氏症是遗传性疾病,患病基因分别来自父母双方。患者的兄弟姐妹有四分之一患病的机率,因此一旦患者被确诊,其兄弟姐妹应接受筛检。患者的父母及子女也应该接受筛查。

我们还能知道些什么?

加拿大肝脏基金会很自豪能支持有助于发现“威尔逊病基因”的研究。 鉴于基因缺陷已被确定,需要更多的研究来确定基因变化可能导致威尔逊病的所有方式。

加拿大肝脏基金会所筹得的款项,用来资助肝脏疾病的基础研究,例如威尔森氏症。我们的任务是降低所有肝脏疾病的发病率和对患者生活的不良影响。研究工作会增加人们对疾病的认识,最终目的是将来能发现更好的治疗方法。

支持

全国帮助热线:

这一支持资源可以让您和您的亲人在诊断之后找到答案,帮助您了解您的疾病,并为您提供所需的资源。 你可以打电话 1-800-563 5483 , 周一至周五,从9 AM到5 PM EST。

病友支持网络:

这是一个由肝病患者组成的全国性网络,供患者们分享各自的经历。它是由加拿大肝脏基金会组织,旨在将有同样经历的人联系在一起,包括家中有肝病患者的人,照顾肝病患者的人,或曾被诊断为患有肝病的人,令人们可以与有相同经历者讨论自己的顾虑。

如果您想与您所在地区的同行支持者联系或希望加入同行支持网络,请拨打全国帮助热线 1-800-563 5483 ,或电子邮件 Chinese@liver.ca

助人助己!  如果您对刚刚阅读的信息或我们网站上的任何信息不满意,请花一点时间向我们发送关于您希望在liver.ca上找到的内容类型的意见和建议。 请在y的主题行中包含您正在评论的页面产品将 点击此处发送电子邮件。

Wilson Disease

Wilson Disease

Wilson disease is a hereditary disease in which excessive amounts of copper accumulate in the body, mainly in the liver. The disease affects approximately one in every 30,000 Canadians. Small amounts of copper are essential to good health. One of the liver’s jobs is to maintain the balance of copper in the body. The liver is also the main organ to store copper. In Wilson disease, when its storage capacity is full, copper is released into the blood stream. It then accumulates in various organs such as the brain and the cornea of the eye. This copper overload damages these organs. Left untreated, Wilson disease can be fatal. 


Cause

Wilson disease is inherited. In order to have the disease, a person must get two defective genes, one from each parent. The liver begins to retain copper at birth and it may take years before symptoms manifest themselves. Having only one defective gene does not lead to Wilson disease.  

 

Symptoms

Wilson disease is sometimes difficult to diagnose. Affected individuals may have no symptoms for years. When symptoms develop, they can be subtle. Sometimes symptoms of Wilson disease resemble hepatitis. Alternatively, some individuals have an enlarged liver and spleen and liver test abnormalities. Copper accumulation in the brain can present itself in two ways: (1) as physical symptoms such as slurred speech, failing voice, drooling, tremors or difficulty in swallowing or (2) as psychiatric disorders such as depression, manic behaviour or suicidal impulses. 

Very rarely, Wilson disease may cause the liver to fail. This liver failure may be the first sign of having Wilson disease. These individuals require liver transplantation.

 

Diagnosis

Most people with Wilson disease show signs of liver or neuropsychiatric disease while fairly young. Anyone between 3 and 45 years of age who shows signs of any of the previously mentioned symptoms should be screened for Wilson disease. Any child or teenager with unexplained liver disease should be tested for Wilson disease. Occasionally Wilson disease is not evident until well past middle-age. The diagnosis can be confirmed with blood tests measuring serum copper and ceruloplasmin, a blood protein that contains copper. Measurements of how much copper is excreted in the urine over a 24-hour period are also useful for making the diagnosis. Another diagnostic test for this disease is finding Kayser-Fleischer rings due to accumulation of copper in the cornea, sometimes visible as brown rings around the iris, but usually requiring special eye examination. Despite the copper accumulation, eyesight is not affected. Copper in the bloodstream may cause red blood cells to breakdown, causing anemia or gallstones. 

The gene responsible for Wilson disease has been discovered. Conclusive genetic testing is now available to diagnose affected brothers and sisters before they show disease symptoms. Individuals who are found to have the gene defect can be treated before problems arise. 

 

Treatment

Once diagnosed, effective treatments are available to treat Wilson disease, even in advanced stages. The toxic concentration of copper in the body must be removed. Reaccumulation of copper must be prevented. This is done with the use of a decoppering agent such as D-penicillamine or with high-dose zinc. These medications are pills, taken 2-3 times per day. Except for those individuals with liver failure, most people affected by Wilson disease do not require liver transplantation.

 

Is there a cure?

The treatment does not correct the fundamental flaw in liver function.  Therefore, to prevent reaccumulation of copper in the body, treatment must be continued throughout the person's entire lifetime. Individuals who tolerate the treatment and take it consistently generally enjoy good health and normal life expectancy. 

 

Precautions

Since the gene transmitting the disease is recessively inherited, siblings of an affected individual have a 25 per cent chance of being affected. Therefore, when a new case is diagnosed, all siblings must be screened for the disease. Parents and children of affected individuals should also be screened. 

 

What else can we learn?

The Canadian Liver Foundation is proud to have supported research that helped in the discovery of the "Wilson disease gene". Now that the gene defect has been identified, more research is needed to identify all the ways changes in the gene can cause Wilson disease.

The Canadian Liver Foundation raises funds for research into liver diseases such as Wilson disease. Our mandate is to reduce the incidence and impact of all liver diseases.  Research will provide a much better understanding of the disease and could make a cure available in the future.  

Support

National Help Line:
This support resource gives you and your loved one somewhere to turn for answers after diagnosis, helps you understand your disease, and provides you with the resources you need.  You can call 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM EST.

The Peer Support Network:
This is a national network of people living with liver disease that have offered to share their experiences with others. It was developed by the Canadian Liver Foundation as a means to link Canadians like you who have a family member who has liver disease, who care for someone who suffers from liver disease, or who have been diagnosed with a liver disease, to talk about your concerns with a peer in a similar situation.

If you would like to be connected with a peer supporter in your area, or would like to join the peer support network, please call the National Help Line at 1 (800) 563-5483 or email Billie Potkonjak.

Help us help you! 
If you are not satisfied with the information you just read or any information on our website, please take a moment to send us your comments and suggestions on the type of content you would like to find on liver.ca. Please include the page you are commenting about in the subject line of your email.