Alpha-1抗胰蛋白酶缺乏症 – 加拿大肝脏基金会

Alpha-1抗胰蛋白酶缺乏症

α-1抗胰蛋白酶缺乏症是一种遗传性疾病,大约每1,200 – 2,000个活产婴儿中会有一例。 在这种情况下,肝脏产生具有不同形状分子的异常α-1抗胰蛋白酶。这种异常的α-1抗胰蛋白酶在肝脏的细胞中被“卡住”,进而积聚、干扰细胞功能并最终导致肝脏纤维化。 由于α-1抗胰蛋白酶无法离开肝脏,导致血液内和身体其他部位的蛋白质含量降低,因此在需要它的地方(例如肺部),其活性降低。肺部α-1抗胰蛋白酶的缺失,会导致组织损伤,特别是那些暴露于长期吸入的刺激物(如香烟烟雾)的组织。大多数被诊断患有α-1抗胰蛋白酶缺乏症的人,在成年期患有严重的肺部疾病。少数被诊断患有α-1抗胰蛋白酶缺乏症者,是由于肝脏内的异常情况而在儿童期被诊断出来的。

什么是α-1抗胰蛋白酶?

Alpha-1抗胰蛋白酶是肝脏中产生的蛋白质。 其功能之一是保护肺免受炎症细胞产生的酶,如中性粒细胞 – 弹性蛋白酶。 这些酶的目的是杀死细菌,但如果控制不当,也会对肺组织造成损害。

原因

α1-抗胰蛋白酶缺乏症是遗传性疾病。婴儿必须获得两方缺陷基因(父母双方各一)才有可能发展出病症。

父母中只有一方是α1-抗胰蛋白酶缺乏症的人不会患上此病,但他们是这种缺乏症的“基因携带者”。他们的α-1抗胰蛋白酶水平低于正常值,但不会引起明显的健康问题。如果父母双方都是缺乏症基因携带者,那麽他们的下一代中,患有α-1抗胰蛋白酶缺乏症的风险为四分之一, 可能每四个孩子会有一个患上α1- 抗胰蛋白酶缺乏症。

 发展至肝病的风险

由于不明原因,只有15%的α-1抗胰蛋白酶缺乏症患儿会在儿童期出现肝脏疾病。出现肝病者中,大约一半会康复,但是他们仍然缺乏α-1抗胰蛋白酶,因此处于日后出现并发症的风险中,包括成年期的肺部、肝脏和皮肤疾病。另外50% 未能康复的儿童,会在儿童期发展至恶化性的肝纤维化,面临肝硬化 和肝衰竭的风险。

成年人也可能会因为α-1抗胰蛋白酶缺乏症,而在生命后期发展至肝脏炎症和肝脏损害的迹象。  

症状

一个显示腹水的图示,腹部积液。 经Elise Walmsley许可使用的插图
经Elise Walmsley许可使用。 版权所有

α-1抗胰蛋白酶缺乏症的症状通常以三种方式之一存在:

  • 婴儿因肝细胞炎症和梗阻引起的黄疸。
  • 任何年龄的儿童或成年人,由于无关的原因进行血液检查中,发现肝酶升高。
  • 任何年龄的儿童或成年人,出现肝硬化并发症,包括黄疸,腹水和静脉曲张出血。

诊断

通过特定测试鉴定血液中α1-抗胰蛋白酶水平很低,并且鉴定出血液中异常的蛋白质,即可确诊此症。健康者体内的正常蛋白称为“M”,异常蛋白质称为“Z”。

应进行额外的血液检查以评估肝脏功能。在某些情况下,可能需要进行 肝脏活检 。也可能需要进行呼吸试验、胸部X线检查和血液检查,以评估受影响者的肺功能。

 

治疗

肝脏疾病

轻度肝病可能无需特殊治疗。随着肝病的进展,许多方法可以帮助维持肝功能并减少与α-1抗胰蛋白酶缺乏症有关的肝脏并发症。 此类疗法的实例包括良好的蛋白质 – 能量营养,维生素补充,门静脉高压的治疗和静脉曲张的筛查,以及腹水管理。在极少数情形中,疾病会发展至肝衰竭,则肝脏移植可能被认为是最终的治疗方法。

肺部疾病

多年的肺部受伤可导致肺气肿。通常儿童没有肺部疾病的迹象,此情况发生在成年期。在某些情况下,吸烟、哮喘和肺部感染会进一步导致肺部疾病的发展。因此,强烈建议患有α-1抗胰蛋白酶缺乏症患者不要吸烟、不要暴露于二手烟中。肺部疾病的症状应由呼吸科医生(专门诊治肺部疾病的医生)进行监测和治疗。

所有医疗和营养疗法都应在医疗保健专业人员的指导下进行。

技术支持

全国帮助热线: 全国帮助热线提供一个地方,让您和亲人在诊断之后可以咨询,帮助您了解您的疾病,并为您提供所需的资源。 你可以打电话 1-800-563 5483。 周一至周五,从XNUMX AM到XNUMX PM EST。

病友支持网络: 这是一个由肝病患者组成的全国性网络,供患者们分享各自的经历。它是由加拿大肝脏基金会组织,旨在将有同样经历的人联系在一起,包括家中有肝病患者的人,照顾肝病患者的人,或曾被诊断为患有肝病的人,令人们可以与有相同经历者讨论自己的顾虑。

如果您想与您所在地区的病友支持者建立联系,或者想加入病友支持网络,请致电全国帮助热线 1-800-563 5483 ,或电子邮件 Chinese@liver.ca

 

助人助己!  如果您对刚刚阅读的信息,或我们网站上的任何信息不满意,请花一点时间,发邮件给我们,告诉我们您对所希望看到的内容的意见和建议。请在您的电子邮件的主题行中包含您要评论的页面。请点击发送电子邮件。

Alpha-1 Antitrypsin Deficiency

Alpha-1 Antitrypsin Deficiency

Alpha-1 antitrypsin deficiency is an inherited condition occurring in approximately one in 1,200 to 2,000 live births. In this condition, the liver produces abnormal alpha-1 antitrypsin with molecules that are a different shape.  This abnormal alpha-1 anti-trypsin gets “stuck” in the cells of the liver, where it accumulates, disturbs cell function and ultimately leads to liver fibrosis.  Failure of alpha-1 antitrypsin to leave the liver leads to a decreased amount of the protein in blood and in other parts of the body, so its activity is low where it is needed (for example, in the lungs).   A lack of alpha-1 antitrypsin in the lungs causes tissue damage, particularly in those exposed to chronic inhaled irritants, like cigarette smoke.  Most people who are diagnosed with alpha-1 antitrypsin deficiency present with significant lung disease in adulthood.  A small number of those diagnosed with alpha-1 antitrypsin deficiency are identified in childhood as a result of abnormalities within the liver.  

What is alpha-1 antitrypsin?

Alpha-1 antitrypsin is a protein produced in the liver.  One of its functions is to protect the lungs from enzymes produced by inflammatory cells, such as neutrophil-elastase. These enzymes are aimed at killing bacteria but can also cause damage to lung tissue if not properly controlled.


Causes

Alpha-1 antitrypsin deficiency is hereditary. In order to have the disease, a child must inherit two defective genes, one from each parent.

People who have only one gene for alpha-1 antitrypsin deficiency do not have the disease, but they are “carriers” of the deficiency. Their alpha-1 antitrypsin levels are lower than normal, but this does not cause any obvious health problems.  In families where both parents are carriers of the gene for the disease, there is a one in four risk that a child will have alpha-1 antitrypsin deficiency.

 

Risk of Developing Liver Disease

For unknown reasons, only 15 per cent people with alpha-1 antitrypsin deficiency will show signs of liver disease in childhood.  Of that group, about half will recover but they continue to be deficient in alpha-1 antitrypsin, putting them at risk for future complications of the disease, including lung, liver and skin disease in adulthood.  The remaining 50 per cent of these children will develop worsening liver fibrosis and are at risk of liver cirrhosis and liver failure during childhood. 

Adults may also develop signs of liver inflammation and liver damage later in life as the result alpha-1 antitrypsin deficiency.

 

Symptoms

An illustration showing ascites, a build up of fluid in the abdomen. Illustration used with permission from Elise Walmsley
Used with permission from Elise Walmsley. All rights reserved


Symptoms of alpha-1 antitrypsin deficiency most often present in one of three ways:

  • As an infant who has jaundice that is caused by inflammation and obstruction of the liver cells.
  • As a child or adult of any age who is found to have increased liver enzymes when blood work is drawn for an unrelated reason.
  • As a child or adult of any age who has complications of liver cirrhosis including jaundice, ascites, and variceal haemorrhage.

 

Diagnosis

A diagnosis is established by demonstrating a very low level of alpha-1 antitrypsin in the blood and by identifying the abnormal protein in blood by specific testing.  In healthy individuals the normal protein is called “M”. The abnormal protein is called “Z”.

Additional blood tests should be performed to evaluate liver function. In some cases, a liver biopsy may be needed. Breathing tests, chest x-ray and blood work may also be performed to assess lung function in those affected.

 

Treatment

Liver disease
Mild liver disease may need no specific treatment.  As liver disease progresses, many things can help to maintain liver function and reduce complications of liver disease associated with alpha-1 antitrypsin deficiency. Examples of such therapies include good protein-energy nutrition, vitamin supplementation, management of portal hypertension and screening for varices, and the management of ascites.  In rare instances where the disease progresses to liver failure, liver transplantation may be indicated as definitive treatment.

Lung disease
Over many years, injury to the lungs can result in emphysema.  Typically children do not have signs of lung disease and this happens in adulthood. In some, smoking, asthma and lung infections further contribute to the development of lung disease. For this reason, it is strongly recommended that individuals with alpha-1 antitrypsin deficiency refrain from smoking and from being exposed to second-hand smoke.  The symptoms of lung disease should be monitored and treated by a respirologist, a physician who specializes in lung disease.

All medical and nutritional therapies  should be under the guidance of healthcare professionals.

 

Support

National Help Line:
This support resource gives you and your loved one somewhere to turn for answers after diagnosis, helps you understand your disease, and provides you with the resources you need.  You can call 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM EST.

The Peer Support Network:
This is a national network of people living with liver disease that have offered to share their experiences with others. It was developed by the Canadian Liver Foundation as a means to link Canadians like you who have a family member who has liver disease, who care for someone who suffers from liver disease, or who have been diagnosed with a liver disease, to talk about your concerns with a peer in a similar situation.

If you would like to be connected with a peer supporter in your area, or would like to join the peer support network, please call the National Help Line at 1 (800) 563-5483 or email Billie Potkonjak.

 

Help us help you! 
If you are not satisfied with the information you just read or any information on our website, please take a moment to send us your comments and suggestions on the type of content you would like to find on liver.ca. Please include the page you are commenting about in the subject line of your email.