自身免疫性肝炎 – 加拿大肝脏基金会

自身免疫性肝炎

自身免疫性肝炎是一种慢性肝脏炎症疾病。

描述这种疾病的最好方法是将这个词分解为复合词。顾名思义,自身免疫性肝炎是指机体自身免疫系统攻击肝脏导致的慢性肝脏炎症 —— 这种炎症可轻可重。在绝大多数患者中, 自身免疫性肝炎的特征是有时会缓解,有时又会加重。

成因

自身免疫系统攻击自体肝脏的具体原因机制还不清楚。某些特定类型的白细胞(人体血液内一种抵抗感染的细胞)除了攻击入侵的病原体(如细菌和病毒)外,还似乎错误地将自体肝脏细胞当成是外源性物质,而开始攻击这些细胞。由此导致的损伤即为慢性肝炎。其他常见的可导致慢性肝脏炎症的病因包括乙型和丙型肝炎病毒、某些药物、肝脏内过量金属如铜和铁等。除此之外还有一些很罕见的引至慢性活动性肝炎的病因。

会传染,或者会遗传吗?

自身免疫性肝炎绝对没有传染性。普遍认为自身免疫性肝炎不属于遗传性疾病,但自身免疫性疾病在一些家族中有多发趋向。就是说,如果父母患有自身免疫性肝炎,孩子发生自身免疫性甲状腺、肝脏或关节疾病的风险要稍微高一些。但这种风险只是比普通人群高一点点,所以没有必要进行基因咨询。

症状

许多患者根本没有症状。 病人会感觉非常健康。 在常规血液检查时,可以通过肝脏产生的某些酶的水平升高来检测病症。 其他患者可能会出现疲劳、食欲下降、困倦、甚至肌肉或关节酸痛或疼痛。 一些患者可能会留意到皮肤和眼白的黄疸或黄染变色为初期症状。

诊断线索

An illustration showing a patient receiving a liver biopsy. The person lays on a table, holding hands with a visitor while a doctor inserts a needle into the patient's right side. Image used with permission by Mayo Clinic
Used with permission from Mayo Clinic. All rights reserved.

血液测试几乎总是会显示肝脏产生的ALT和AST酶的升高。 另外,其他血液检测将揭示针对不同细胞部分的抗体,例如抗平滑肌抗体和抗核因子。 你的医生为你做身体检查时,可能会发现一些预示着慢性肝病的异常情形,如肝脏变大、黄疸及皮肤上可见的某些迹象。 最后,通常需要进行肝脏活组织检测以确认诊断。


肝脏活
组织检查

肝脏活组织检查,是通过局部麻醉妥善僵冻后,再将细小的空心针插入身体至肝脏处。 活组织检查有非常低的出血风险,以及某些与手术相关的不适感,但通常绝大多数患者都可以忍受。

治疗

一些非常轻微或非活动性疾病的患者可能不需要任何类型的积极治疗。 当需要积极的药物治疗时,皮质类固醇是第一 治疗选择。 皮质类固醇与用于增强肌群的合成代谢类固醇完全不同。 皮质类固醇如泼尼松是有效的抗炎药物,可减少包括肝脏在内的所有部位的炎症。 医生可能选择替代或者除皮质类固醇外的其他抗炎活性药物,如硫唑嘌呤、霉酚酸酯或甲氨喋呤。 所有这些抗炎药都有一些副作用,医生会详细向你解释。

大约90%的患者在使用皮质类固醇降低了肝脏炎症后,仍需要使用药物(例如硫唑嘌呤)维持缓解效果。约10%的患者不需要维持性药物,而可以多年保持病情缓和,无症状也无活跃的肝脏炎症。由于病情强度差异,即便使用药物维持治疗,有些患者的炎症仍然会周期性复发。此类复发,通常使用皮质类固醇进行短暂性治疗。

替代/补充疗法

没有替代疗法或补充疗法被证实可有效治疗自身免疫性肝炎。尤其是奶蓟或其活性成分水飞蓟素,经研究并未显示出有益的效果。泼尼松等标准治疗被证明可以延缓或预防肝硬化的进展,从而挽救生命。 推迟或弃用标准治疗方法,而寄希望予替代疗法,是非常不明智的。

有治愈法吗

尚无。我们对自身免疫性肝炎的确切病因还未完全了解,所以还没有方法能根治自身免疫性肝炎。在大多数情况下,类固醇和其他抗炎药物当然可以控制炎症。 然而,在炎症持续的某些患者中,或者直到很晚才被检测和诊断的患者中,肝硬化可能会出现。 肝硬化 是肝病的病症,其特征是破坏了肝脏正常结构的大量的瘢痕组织。

即使发生肝硬化,患有轻度疾病而没有活动性炎症的患者通常也可以保持健康,可以安然无恙地生活数年或数十年。 如果炎症持续,肝硬化通常会恶化,最终达到称为“终末期肝功能衰竭”的阶段。 如果达到这个阶段, 肝脏移植 可以用于某些患者,成功治疗病情。

移植后复发

是的,复发可能会发生,但非常罕见。 用于防止身体免疫系统排斥新肝脏的抗排斥药物,与用于治疗自身免疫性肝炎的药物相同或类似,因此通常会阻止自身免疫性肝炎的复发。

有什麽方法可以帮助肝脏自愈吗?

没有直接帮助的方法。但是,您可以摄取健康均衡的饮食、不吸烟、不喝酒或仅适量饮酒的方式,为肝脏提供有益的运作环境,从而助益于肝脏健康。 肥胖可能导致肝脏中的脂肪沉积,且会增加移植手术的风险。 因此,如果你超重,争取逐步而持续地减重。 在日常生活中引入运动:您可以享受散步、游泳、园艺、伸展活动。 请记住,对于任何减重计划,健康的饮食和运动都是重要的组成部分。

将来会找到治愈方法吗?

全球范围内有许多实验室正在进行自身免疫性肝炎的全方位研究,特别是对于其原因和治疗方法的研究。在资助此类重要研究方面,加拿大肝脏基金会走在最前沿。 总有一天我们将治愈此疾病。

支持

全国帮助热线:
这一支持资源可以让您和您的亲人在诊断之后找到答案,帮助您了解您的疾病,并为您提供所需的资源。 你可以在东部时间周一至周五,上午9点至下午5点拨打电话 1-800-563 5483咨询。

病友支持网络:
这是一个由肝病患者组成的全国性网络,供患者们分享各自的经历。它是由加拿大肝脏基金会组织,旨在将有同样经历的人联系在一起,包括家中有肝病患者的人,照顾肝病患者的人,或曾被诊断为患有肝病的人,令人们可以与有相同经历者讨论自己的顾虑。 如果您想与您所在地区的同行支持者联系或希望加入同行支持网络,请拨打全国帮助热线 1-800-563 5483 ,或发电子邮件 Chinese@liver.ca咨询。

助人助己! 

如果您对刚刚阅读的信息,或我们网站上的任何信息不满意,请花一点时间,发邮件给我们,告诉我们您对所希望看到的内容的意见和建议。请在您的电子邮件的主题行中包含您要评论的页面。点击发送电子邮件。

Autoimmune Hepatitis

Autoimmune Hepatitis

Autoimmune hepatitis is a disease characterized by chronic inflammation of the liver.

The best way to describe this disease is to break the term down into its composite words. Autoimmune refers to the body’s own immune system attacking another part of the body. Hepatitis refers to inflammation of the liver, which can range from mild to severe. In the vast majority of patients, autoimmune hepatitis is marked by fluctuating levels of intensity, with relapses and remissions. 


Causes

The exact mechanism whereby the body’s own immune system attacks the liver is not yet known. It appears that certain types of white blood cells (the type of blood cell that usually fights infection), in addition to attacking foreign substances (e.g. germs and viruses) misread liver cells as foreign substances and start attacking these cells. The type of damage that follows is known as chronic hepatitis. A number of other conditions can cause identical patterns of liver damage. These include viruses such as hepatitis B and hepatitis C, certain types of drugs, and overload of certain metals such as copper and iron in the liver. There are also much rarer causes of chronic active hepatitis.

 

Is it contagious or hereditary? 

It is absolutely not contagious. It is generally not considered an inherited disease but a tendency to autoimmune diseases may run in some families. That is, children of patients with autoimmune hepatitis may be at slightly increased risk of developing autoimmune diseases of the thyroid or liver or arthritis. The risk, however, is only slightly greater than the normal population and thus genetic counselling is not necessary. 

 

Symptoms

In many patients there will be no symptoms at all. The patient will feel perfectly healthy. The condition may be detected on a routine blood test by an elevation in levels of certain enzymes that the liver makes. Other patients may experience fatigue, decreased appetite, drowsiness, or even aches or pains in the muscles or joints. Some patients may notice jaundice or yellowish discoloration of the skin and whites of the eyes as the first symptom. 

 

Clues to Diagnosis

An illustration showing a patient receiving a liver biopsy. The person lays on a table, holding hands with a visitor while a doctor inserts a needle into the patient's right side. Image used with permission by Mayo Clinic
Used with permission from Mayo Clinic. All rights reserved.


Blood tests will almost always reveal elevations of ALT and AST enzymes that the liver makes. In addition, other blood tests will reveal antibodies directed against parts of different cells, such as anti-smooth muscle antibody and antinuclear factor. Your doctor, on examining you, may find abnormalities suggestive of chronic liver disease such as a large liver, jaundice, and certain signs noticeable on the skin. Finally, a liver biopsy is usually necessary to confirm the diagnosis. 

 


Liver Biopsy

A liver biopsy involves passing a small hollow-core needle into the liver after appropriate freezing with local anaesthetic. There is a very small risk of bleeding from the biopsy and some modest discomfort associated with this procedure, but it is generally well tolerated by the vast majority of patients.

 

Treatment

Some patients with very mild or inactive disease may not need any type of active treatment. When active drug treatment is needed, corticosteroids are the treatment of first choice. Corticosteroids are completely different from anabolic steroids used to build muscle mass. Corticosteroids such as prednisone are potent anti-inflammatory drugs which will reduce inflammation in all sites, including the liver. Your doctor may choose in addition to, or in place of corticosteroids, other drugs with anti-inflammatory activity, such as azathioprine, mycophenilate mofetil or methotrexate. All these anti-inflammatory drugs have some side effects which your doctor will explain to you in detail. 

Approximately 90% of patients require some form of treatment (usually azathioprine) to maintain remission after the steroids have reduced the initial inflammation. About 10% do not require any maintenance therapy and remain in remission with no symptoms and no active inflammation in the liver, for many years. Due to the variable intensity of the disease, even with maintenance treatment, patients may suffer from relapses of inflammation periodically. Such relapses are usually treated by a temporary course of steroids. 

 

Alternative/Complimentary Therapies

No alternative or complementary therapies have been shown to be effective in treating autoimmune hepatitis. In particular, milk thistle or its active ingredient, silymarin, has been studied, and has no beneficial effect. Standard treatments such as prednisone have been proven to delay or prevent progression to cirrhosis and thus save lives. It is ill-advised to delay or not take standard treatments in the hope that alternative remedies may work. 

 

Is there a cure?

Not yet. Since we do not know exactly what causes autoimmune hepatitis, we do not yet have a medical cure for the condition. Steroids and other anti-inflammatory drugs can certainly control the inflammation in the majority of cases. However, in certain patients in whom the inflammation continues or who have not been detected and diagnosed until very late in the course, cirrhosis can occur. Cirrhosis is a condition characterized by increased scar tissue that destroys the normal architecture of the liver.

Even if cirrhosis occurs, patients who have a mild disease without active inflammation generally do well and can live many years or decades without problems. If inflammation continues, the cirrhosis usually worsens, eventually reaching a stage called end-stage liver failure. If this stage has been reached, liver transplantation can be used in some patients to successfully treat the condition. 

 

Recurrence After Transplant

Yes, this can occur but is very uncommon. The drugs used to prevent rejection of the new liver by the body’s immune system are the same or similar to those used to treat autoimmune hepatitis so recurrence is usually blocked. 

 

Is there anything I can do to help my liver heal itself?

No, not directly. However, you can help by giving your liver favourable working conditions, by eating a healthy well-balanced diet, not smoking, and drinking alcohol only in modest amounts or abstaining altogether. Obesity may result in fat deposits in the liver and increases the surgical risk with transplantation. Therefore, if you are overweight, strive for a gradual and sustained weight loss. Introduce exercise into your routine: you can enjoy walking, swimming, gardening, stretching. Please remember that a healthy diet and exercise are important components of any weight-loss regimen. 

 

Will we one day find a cure?

Research into all aspects of autoimmune hepatitis, but particularly into its causes and treatment is going on in many different laboratories in the world. The Canadian Liver Foundation is at the forefront of funding this important research. Someday we will have a cure. 

Support

National Help Line:
This support resource gives you and your loved one somewhere to turn for answers after diagnosis, helps you understand your disease, and provides you with the resources you need.  You can call 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM EST.

The Peer Support Network:
This is a national network of people living with liver disease that have offered to share their experiences with others. It was developed by the Canadian Liver Foundation as a means to link Canadians like you who have a family member who has liver disease, who care for someone who suffers from liver disease, or who have been diagnosed with a liver disease, to talk about your concerns with a peer in a similar situation.

If you would like to be connected with a peer supporter in your area, or would like to join the peer support network, please call the National Help Line at 1 (800) 563-5483 or email Billie Potkonjak.

Help us help you! 
If you are not satisfied with the information you just read or any information on our website, please take a moment to send us your comments and suggestions on the type of content you would like to find on liver.ca. Please include the page you are commenting about in the subject line of your email.