血色素沉着症

血色素沉着症

血色素沉着症是一种遗传性疾病,其中人体从饮食中吸收过多的铁。 血色素沉着病是加拿大最常见的影响327的遗传疾病之一。 通常,只有足够的铁才能满足人体的日常需求; 其余的通常通过肠道排出体外。 然而,在血色素沉着症中,在人体需要满足之后,铁继续被吸收并储存在不同的器官和组织中。

肝脏是首要的储存铁的器官,当其储存能力消耗怠尽时,铁会继续沉积在心脏、胰腺、脑垂体或身体其他部位。肝脏、心脏和胰腺是主要受损的器官,如果不加以治疗,这些器官可能会发生严重病变而导致死亡。

原因

血色沉着症是隐性遗传性疾病。患者通常有一对缺陷基因,这一对基因分别来自父母各一方。患者的兄弟姐妹有25%的机率亦患此病症。患者的子女不太可能遗传到此病,除非配偶一方也携带血色沉着症基因。

症状

患者从出生时,肝脏就开始储存肠道吸收的过多的铁质,但一般要经过20到30年,症状才会出现。 血色沉着症在早期可能没有信号,若早期症状出现,会表现为:

  • 疲劳
  • 在关节肿胀(关节炎),特别是中指和食指的指间关节。

血色沉着症晚期症状包括:

  • 腹部疼痛或压痛
  • 皮肤和眼睛发黄(黄疸)
  • 腹部膨胀(腹水)
  • 食管静脉曲张破裂出血(静脉曲张出血)
  • 糖尿病表现
  • 皮肤可能有青铜色或灰色
  • 过度饥饿和渴感
  • 尿频

血色沉着症如何影响其他器官?

过多的铁沉积在心脏肌细胞会引起心跳节律异常和心脏功能衰竭。表现为气短和脚踝水肿。

过多的铁沉积在脑垂体会引起性功能异常,男性表现为失去性慾和勃起不能,女性可表现为月经不规律。

诊断

正常肝脏与肝硬化和肝癌相比的说明血液检测(检测血液内铁的含量和组织内沉积的铁的含量)可以用来诊断血色沉着症。最常用的检测是转铁蛋白饱和度和血清铁含量。

基因检测是诊断血色沉着症的新技术。 该测试通常在省级区域实验室的血液样本上进行,该实验室专门进行DNA测试。 血色素沉着症基因的C282Y突变存在于典型血色病患者的90百分比以上。

其他诊断程序可能包括a 肝脏活检 确定是否存在肝损伤并评估其中储存的铁量。 基因测试减轻了许多患有血色素沉着症的年轻患者对肝脏活检的需求。

有那些人需要进行筛查?

一旦确诊患有血色素沉着症,应检查18年龄以上的配偶,兄弟姐妹和子女。 筛选对于兄弟姐妹来说是最重要的,因为他们有一个25百分比从父母遗传缺陷基因的机会。

基因筛查可以使疾病在铁元素过量沉积于器官之前就得到诊断。比较理想的方式是对家庭成员内的青少年进行筛查,幼龄儿童可以暂时不用筛查。

治疗

治疗的主要目的是减少体内储存的铁量。 这是通过称为静脉切开术或静脉切开术(放血)的程序完成的。 通常每周进行一次,与献血相似。 由于红细胞含有铁,这对于将氧气和营养物质输送到组织中是必不可少的,身体将吸取积聚的铁来代替丢失的红血细胞。

当然,治疗频度取决于体内沉积的铁的含量。如果沉积的铁不是很多,也可以数月进行一次,甚至两三年进行一次。一旦体内过多的铁通过放血治疗而减少,患者需要每年检测铁的含量。

需不需要节制饮食?

没有必要节制饮食。但是不能补充铁製剂或其它含铁元素的多种维生素和矿物质。维生素C能够促进食物中铁的吸收,应儘量避免或与进食相隔四小时以上。应该避免饮酒,因为酒精也可以增加铁的吸收。

血色沉着症经治疗后组织病变能逆转吗?

如果在进展为 肝硬化(肝组织内结疤严重)之前开始治疗,肝脏内的病变尚可逆转。但是,在已经发生肝硬化的血色沉着症患者中肝癌.的发生机率会增加。 所以早期诊断和治疗很关键,因为可以避免危及生命的肝癌併发症的发生。

支持

全国帮助热线:

这一支持资源可以让您和您的亲人在诊断之后找到答案,帮助您了解您的疾病,并为您提供所需的资源。 你可以打电话 1-800-563 5483 , 周一至周五,从9 AM到5 PM EST。

病友支持网络:

这是一个由肝病患者组成的全国性网络,供患者们分享各自的经历。它是由加拿大肝脏基金会组织,旨在将有同样经历的人联系在一起,包括家中有肝病患者的人,照顾肝病患者的人,或曾被诊断为患有肝病的人,令人们可以与有相同经历者讨论自己的顾虑。 如果您想与您所在地区的同行支持者联系或希望加入同行支持网络,请拨打全国帮助热线 1-800-563 5483 ,或电子邮件 Chinese@liver.ca

助人助己!  如果您对刚刚阅读的信息,或我们网站上的任何信息不满意,请花一点时间,发邮件给我们,告诉我们您对所希望看到的内容的意见和建议。请在您的电子邮件的主题行中包含您要评论的页面。请点击此处发送电子邮件。

Hemochromatosis

Hemochromatosis

Hemochromatosis is an inherited disease in which the body absorbs too much iron from the diet. Hemochromatosis is one of the most common genetic diseases in Canada affecting 1 in 327 Canadians. Normally, only enough iron to meet the body's daily requirements is absorbed; the remainder is usually excreted through the bowels. In hemochromatosis, however, iron continues to be absorbed and stored in different organs and tissues long after body needs are met. 

The liver is the first organ to store iron and when its storage capacity is exhausted, the iron continues to accumulate in the heart, the pituitary gland and elsewhere in the body. If untreated, damage to the liver, heart, and pancreas may eventually lead to death.


Cause

Hemochromatosis is hereditary. In order to have the disease, a patient must have inherited two defective genes, one from each parent. Siblings of an affected individual have a 25 percent chance of getting this disease. Children are less likely to be affected since the other parent must be a carrier of a hemochromatosis gene. 

 

Symptoms

The liver begins to retain iron at birth, but it may take 20 to 30 years before symptoms manifest themselves. In the early stages of hemochromatosis, there may be no signs, but when symptoms begin to appear, they include:

  • fatigue
  • swelling in the joints (arthritis), particularly in the knuckles of the middle and index fingers

In the later stages of the disease, symptoms include:

  • abdominal pain or tenderness
  • yellowing of the skin and eyes (jaundice)
  • distention of the abdomen (ascites)
  • bleeding from dilated veins in the esophagus (variceal bleeding)
  • development of diabetes
  • the skin may have a bronze or grey colour
  • excessive hunger and thirst
  • frequent urination

 

How does hemochromatosis affect other organs?

Iron accumulation in the heart muscle may produce irregular heart rhythm and heart failure causing shortness of breath and swelling of the ankles. 

When iron is deposited in the pituitary gland, it can lead to sexual dysfunction, loss of libido and impotence in men, and menstrual irregularities in women.

 

Diagnosis

An illustration of a normal liver compared to cirrhosis and liver cancerBlood tests to measure the iron level in the blood and the total amount of iron deposited in the tissues are done to detect hemochromatosis. The most common tests are the transferrin saturation and serum ferritin.

A new development is a genetic test for hemochromatosis. The test is usually done on a blood sample in a provincial regional lab specializing in DNA testing. The C282Y mutation of the hemochromatosis gene is present in greater than 90 percent of typical hemochromatosis patients. 

Additional diagnostic procedures may include a liver biopsy to determine if liver damage is present and to assess the amount of iron stored there. The genetic test has alleviated the need for liver biopsy in many young patients with hemochromatosis.

 

Who should be screened?

As soon as a person is diagnosed as having hemochromatosis, the spouse, brothers, sisters, and children over the age of 18 should be checked. Screening is of greatest importance for siblings, since they have a 25 
percent chance of inheriting the defective genes from their parents.

Genetic screening has allowed for the diagnosis at birth before iron overload has developed. It is probably ideal to test for hemochromatosis within families in teenagers rather than in very young children.

 

Treatment

The primary aim of treatment is to reduce the amount of iron stored in the body. This is accomplished by a procedure known as venesection or phlebotomy (blood letting). It is usually done on a weekly basis and is similar to making a blood donation. Since the red blood cells contain iron, essential for transporting oxygen and nutrients to the tissues, the body will draw on the accumulated iron to replace the lost red blood cells.

Treatment may take months, or even up to two or three years, depending on the amount of iron that has accumulated. Once the excess iron has been removed by blood-letting, the person must continue to have the amount of body iron monitored annually.

 

Is a special diet necessary?

No. However, iron supplements or multi-vitamins and mineral preparations containing iron should not be used. Also, vitamin C, which enhances the absorption of iron when consumed with food, should be avoided or only taken four hours before or after a meal. The consumption of excess alcohol should be avoided as it also enhances the absorption of iron.

 

Can tissue damage be reversed?

Injury to the liver is reversible provided treatment is started before cirrhosis (scarring of the liver) has developed. However, there is an increased risk of liver cancer in people with hemochromatosis who have cirrhosis.

The early detection and treatment of hemochromatosis are crucial in preventing the complications of this potentially fatal disease. 

Support

National Help Line:
This support resource gives you and your loved one somewhere to turn for answers after diagnosis, helps you understand your disease, and provides you with the resources you need.  You can call 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM EST.

The Peer Support Network:
This is a national network of people living with liver disease that have offered to share their experiences with others. It was developed by the Canadian Liver Foundation as a means to link Canadians like you who have a family member who has liver disease, who care for someone who suffers from liver disease, or who have been diagnosed with a liver disease, to talk about your concerns with a peer in a similar situation.

If you would like to be connected with a peer supporter in your area, or would like to join the peer support network, please call the National Help Line at 1 (800) 563-5483 or email Billie Potkonjak.

Help us help you! 
If you are not satisfied with the information you just read or any information on our website, please take a moment to send us your comments and suggestions on the type of content you would like to find on liver.ca. Please include the page you are commenting about in the subject line of your email.