溶酶体酸性脂肪酶缺乏症(LALD)

溶酶体酸性脂肪酶缺乏症(LALD)

溶酶体酸性脂肪酶缺乏症(LALD)是一种慢性,进行性遗传性疾病。 患有LALD的儿童和成人不具有某些脂质(脂肪)分解所需的功能完全的酶。 由于这种缺乏,这些脂质在器官(包括肝脏和脾脏)和整个身体的细胞中积聚,导致它们不能正常工作。 这可能会导致 脂肪肝疾病肝硬化 (肝脏结疤)与肝衰竭。

原因

LALD是由于溶酶体酸脂肪酶(LAL)的缺乏引起的。LAL酶素对于调节低密度脂蛋白(LDL)至关重要。低密度脂蛋白通常被以为是“不好的胆固醇”,与心血管病相关。如果体内没有LAL酶素,脂粒会积聚在细胞中的溶酶体部分。过量的脂肪积聚会导致严重的健康问题,比如可造成对肝脏等器官的损害。

婴幼儿LALD

婴幼儿体内的LAL酶素非常低时,就会导致早期LALD的病发,也称作“酸性脂酶缺乏症(WD)”。据估计每年有8个新生儿患有LALD。如果父母具有波斯人与犹太人的血统,新生儿病发率会稍高。LALD若发生于新生儿身上,病情会迅速恶化,病儿常于出生后六个月内出现致命的并发症。患有此病症的婴儿会出现肝衰竭;因为无法吸收食物中的营养,他们无法正常地生长发育。患病的婴儿通常活不过一岁之久。

儿童与成年LALD

晚期LALD病发也称为“胆固醇酯沉积症(CESD)”,影响儿童与成人。据估计每,CESD的患病率为1/40,000。LAL酶素的缺乏导致脂肪积聚于肝脏、脾脏与身体其他部分。在儿童与成人中,患者可能感觉健康且无症状,此病症可能不容易被识别。过多的脂质积聚于肝脏,导致肝脏功能紊乱、体积变大,最终可能会引起肝脏结疤及肝衰竭。此外,血液内脂质过高会引起心血管并发症,如冠心病(CAD)和中风。

心血管系统,肝脏,脾脏和消化道的图示诊断

LALD的某些体征与症状与其他一些常见疾病类似,因此LALD的患者要经过几个月甚至数年才会被准确诊断出来。同时,由于最初的体征与症状一般较轻微,病人与医护人员可能很长时间内不会怀疑是渐进式疾病。 测试LAL酶素活跃性的血液检查可以做出最终的、准确的LALD诊断。基因检测也可以诊断LALD。想了解有关检测的详情,请咨询您的医生。

症状

患有LALD的婴儿,儿童和成人经历一系列严重的健康问题。 LAL酶的缺乏会导致许多身体器官(包括肝脏,脾脏,肠道,血管壁和其他器官中)的脂肪物质积聚。

许多LALD的体征不易察觉,只能通过血液检测和医生的检查被发现。但是,婴幼儿LALD有一些共同的症状与体征,包括:

• 不能正常生长发育
• 不能从食物中吸收营养,排便油腻
• 持续腹泻和呕吐
• 腹部肿胀
• 黄疸(皮肤与眼睛黄染)。

儿童与成人LALD通常完全没有体征与症状。随着肝脏损害的加重,症状可能包括:

• 腹部因体液积聚而变大 (腹水))
• 容易有淤青或者出血
• 黄疸(皮肤与眼睛黄染)。

治疗

目前尚未有批准的LALD治疗方法。为了预防血管壁的脂肪沉积的过早形成,可使用控制胆固醇的药物。短期使用重组人体LAL的酶素替代疗法的研究显示出一定的希望,但研究仍在进行当中。

支持 

全国帮助热线:
全国帮助热线提供一个地方,让您和亲人在诊断之后可以咨询,帮助您了解您的疾病,并为您提供所需的资源。 你可以打电话 1-800-563 5483。 周一至周五,从XNUMX AM到XNUMX PM EST。

病友支持网络:
这是一个由肝病患者组成的全国性网络,供患者们分享各自的经历。它是由加拿大肝脏基金会组织,旨在将有同样经历的人联系在一起,包括家中有肝病患者的人,照顾肝病患者的人,或曾被诊断为患有肝病的人,令人们可以与有相同经历者讨论自己的顾虑。

如果您想与您所在地区的病友支持者建立联系,或者想加入病友支持网络,请致电全国帮助热线 1-800-563 5483 , 或发送电子邮件 Chinese@liver.ca

 

助人助己!  如果您不满意在我们网站上看到的资讯,请用少少时间写下您的评语及您想了解的信息,通过电子邮件发送给我们。请于电子邮件的“主题”处标明您所浏览的网页的内容。 发送电子邮件。

Lysosomal Acid Lipase Deficiency (LALD)

Lysosomal Acid Lipase Deficiency (LALD)

Lysosomal acid lipase deficiency (LALD) is a chronic, progressive, inherited disease. Children and adults with LALD do not have a fully functioning enzyme that is needed for the breakdown of certain lipids (fats). As a result of this deficiency, these lipids accumulate in organs (including the liver and spleen) and cells throughout the body causing them to not work properly. This can lead to fatty liver diseasecirrhosis (scarring of the liver) and liver failure.


Cause

LALD is caused by a deficiency of an enzyme called lysosomal acid lipase (LAL). The LAL enzyme plays a major role in the control of lipid particles known as low density lipoproteins (LDL), a type of cholesterol referred to as “bad cholesterol” which can be linked to cardiovascular disease. Without this enzyme, harmful amounts of various lipid particles build up in a part of the cell known as the lysosome. This fat accumulation, can lead to significant health consequences including damage to the liver and other organs.

 

LALD in Infants

Very low levels of the LAL enzyme lead to early onset LALD, also known as Wolman disease (WD). It is estimated that LALD occurs in about 8 live births per year. However, the rate may be higher if the parents are of Persian-Jewish ancestry. LALD presents in infants as a rapidly progressive disease with life-threatening complications occurring most frequently within the first six months of life. Infants with this disease develop liver failure and cannot grow properly because they have difficulty absorbing nutrients from food. Affected infants generally do not survive past one year of age.

 

LALD in Children and Adults

Late onset LALD is also known as cholesteryl ester storage disease (CESD) and can affect children and adults. It is estimated that the prevalence of CESD is 1 in 40,000 individuals. The deficiency of the LAL enzyme leads to a build-up of fat in the liver, spleen and other parts of the body. In children and adults, the disease may not be easily recognized because individuals may feel well and have no symptoms. Many lipids accumulate in the liver, and as a result, the liver becomes dysfunctional and may become enlarged. Ultimately, scarring and liver failure may occur. In addition, high levels of lipids in the blood can lead to cardiovascular complications, such as coronary artery disease (CAD) and stroke.

 

An illustration of the cardio-vascular system, liver, spleen and digestive tractDiagnosis

Because some of the signs and symptoms associated with LALD are similar to those of other more common disorders, it may take months or even years for people with LALD to get an accurate diagnosis. Also, since the initial signs and symptoms may seem rather mild, patients and healthcare providers may not suspect a progressive disease for a long time. An accurate and definitive diagnosis of LALD can be made with a blood test that measures the activity of the LAL enzyme. LALD can also be diagnosed through genetic testing. You need to consult your healthcare professional regarding testing for LALD.

 

Symptoms

Infants, children and adults who suffer from LALD experience a range of serious health problems. The lack of the LAL enzyme can lead to a build-up of fatty material in a number of body organs including the liver, spleen, gut, in the wall of blood vessels and other organs. 

Many signs of LALD may not be visible and can only be determined through blood tests and examination by a healthcare provider. However, some common symptoms and signs of LALD in infants may include:

• Failure to grow
• Difficulty absorbing nutrients from food (malabsorption), presence of fat in feces
• Persistent diarrhea and vomiting
• Swollen belly
• Jaundice (yellowing of the skin and eyes).

The signs and symptoms of LALD in children and adults may not be present at all. As the liver damage progresses, symptoms may include:

• Enlarged abdomen from fluid accumulation (ascites)
• Easy bruising or bleeding
• Jaundice (yellowing of the skin and eyes).

 

Treatment

Currently there are no approved treatments for LALD. Medication to control cholesterol levels is recommended in order to prevent the early development of fat deposits in blood vessels. Use of enzyme replacement therapy with recombinant human LAL in short-term studies has shown some promise but this is still under investigation.

 

Support 

National Help Line:
This support resource gives you and your loved one somewhere to turn for answers after diagnosis, helps you understand your disease, and provides you with the resources you need.  You can call 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM EST.

The Peer Support Network:
This is a national network of people living with liver disease that have offered to share their experiences with others. It was developed by the Canadian Liver Foundation as a means to link Canadians like you who have a family member who has liver disease, who care for someone who suffers from liver disease, or who have been diagnosed with a liver disease, to talk about your concerns with a peer in a similar situation.

If you would like to be connected with a peer supporter in your area, or would like to join the peer support network, please call the National Help Line at 1 (800) 563-5483 or email Billie Potkonjak.

Help us help you! 
If you are not satisfied with the information you just read or any information on our website, please take a moment to send us your comments and suggestions on the type of content you would like to find on liver.ca. Please include the page you are commenting about in the subject line of your email.