原发性硬化性胆管炎

原发性硬化性胆管炎

原发性硬化性胆管炎(PSC)是一种肝脏疾病,其中胆管(胆汁从肝脏流向胆囊和肠道的小管)由于炎症和疤痕逐渐减小。 结果,通常由肝脏带来的胆汁在肝脏内积聚,然后损害肝细胞。  这种疾病有时可能局限于肝内的胆管,但大多数情况下它也会影响肝脏外的大胆管。

虽然原发性硬化性胆管炎一直被认为是一种罕见疾病,但最近的研究表明,它比最初的想法更常见。 该疾病可以单独发生,但通常与结肠炎症性疾病如慢性溃疡性结肠炎相关。 原发性硬化性胆管炎影响两性,但在男性更常见。 PSC最常出现在30和50的年龄段之间。

原因

目前,确切原因尚不清楚。 然而,研究表明,遗传变化在这种情况下发挥作用,因为它经常发生在一个家庭的几个成员中。 原发性硬化性胆管炎患者的直系亲属患病风险增加。 已知会引起肝炎的病毒并未与原发性硬化性胆管炎相关。 在许多情况下,PSC与炎症性肠病有关。 这表明可能存在两种疾病的共同原因。 PSC也可能与另一种称为的慢性肝病并存自身免疫性肝炎.并存。这种情况大多发生在儿童和年轻人身上。

症状

原发性硬化性胆管炎的发病过程很複杂并且不可预测,患者可能在患病好多年以后才出现以下症状:

  • 皮肤搔痒;
  • 疲劳
  • 黄疸(皮肤和眼睛发黄)
  • 间断发热、寒颤。

如果患有原发性硬化性胆管炎的人出现发烧和发冷,应立即去医院。 最终,在PSC的高级阶段,肝硬化可能会出现,并出现肝衰竭迹象。

诊断

肝脏的一个例证,显示胆囊,胆囊管,肝管和胆总管。 图片经Mayo Clinic许可使用
经梅奥诊所许可使用。 版权所有

因为患者可能患病多年而无症状,所以许多患者往往由于肝脏异常在血液检查发现肝脏功能异常时,才得以诊断。为确诊PSC,额外的诊断测试,如磁共振成像(MRI / MRCP)或ERCP来确认PSC。

内窥镜逆行胰胆管造影术(ERCP)结合使用X射线和内窥镜,内窥镜是一种长而柔软的发光管。 通过内窥镜,医生可以看到胃和十二指肠的内部,并将染料注射到胆管树和胰腺的导管中,以便在X射线上看到它们。 随着磁共振技术的改进,这种诊断PSC的非侵入性方法正在被更频繁地使用。

治疗

目前原发性硬化性胆管炎没有特殊的治疗方法。但是,这种疾病的症状可以通过抗生素、维生素与药物来控制,以减轻搔痒和改善胆汁流动。

有时,使用称为内窥镜检查的手术插入支架可能在短期内有效缓解黄疸和其他症状。

当疾病进展为肝功能衰竭时, 肝脏移植 可以考虑。 85至90成人患者的肝移植成功。

 

支持

全国帮助热线:

这一支持资源可以让您和您的亲人在诊断之后找到答案,帮助您了解您的疾病,并为您提供所需的资源。 你可以打电话 1-800-563 5483 , 周一至周五,从9 AM到5 PM EST。

病友支持网络:

这是一个由肝病患者组成的全国性网络,供患者们分享各自的经历。它是由加拿大肝脏基金会组织,旨在将有同样经历的人联系在一起,包括家中有肝病患者的人,照顾肝病患者的人,或曾被诊断为患有肝病的人,令人们可以与有相同经历者讨论自己的顾虑。

如果您想与您所在地区的同行支持者联系或希望加入同行支持网络,请拨打全国帮助热线 1-800-563 5483 ,或电子邮件 Chinese@liver.ca

助人助己!  如果您对刚刚阅读的信息,或我们网站上的任何信息不满意,请花一点时间,发邮件给我们,告诉我们您对所希望看到的内容的意见和建议。请在您的电子邮件的主题行中包含您要评论的页面。请点击此处发送电子邮件。

Primary Sclerosing Cholangitis

Primary Sclerosing Cholangitis

Primary sclerosing cholangitis (PSC) is a liver disease in which the bile ducts (small tubes through which bile flows from the liver to the gall bladder and intestines) progressively decrease in size due to inflammation and scarring.  As a result, bile that is normally carried out of the liver accumulates within the liver, which then damages liver cells. The disease may sometimes be confined to the bile ducts within the liver but most often it also affects the large bile ducts outside the liver as well.


Incidence

Although primary sclerosing cholangitis has been considered a rare disease, recent studies suggest that it is more common than originally thought. The disease may occur alone, but frequently exists in association with inflammatory diseases of the colon, such as chronic ulcerative colitis.  Primary sclerosing cholangitis affects both sexes, but is more common in men. PSC is most often seen between the ages of 30 and 50.

 

Cause

At the present time, the exact cause is unknown. However, research has demonstrated that genetic changes play a role in this condition because it often occurs in several members of a family. Immediate family members of someone with primary sclerosing cholangitis have an increased risk of developing the condition. Viruses known to cause hepatitis have not been associated with primary sclerosing cholangitis. In many cases, PSC occurs in association with inflammatory bowel disease. This suggests that a common cause for both diseases may exist.  PSC may also coexist with another chronic liver disease called autoimmune hepatitis. This most often occurs in children and young adults.

 

Symptoms

The course of primary sclerosing cholangitis is unpredictable and not well understood. A person can have the disease for many years before symptoms develop. They may include:

  • itching
  • fatigue
  • jaundice (yellowing of the skin and eyes)
  • episodes of fever, chills and abdominal pain which may indicate an infection within the bile duct.

If a person who suffers from primary sclerosing cholangitis develops fever and chills, he/she should go to the hospital immediately.  Eventually in the advanced stages of PSC, cirrhosis may develop with signs of liver failure. 

 

Diagnosis

An illustration of the Liver, showing the Gallbladder, cystic duct, hepatic duct and common bile duct. Image used with permission from Mayo Clinic
Used with permission from Mayo Clinic. All rights reserved

Since individuals may have no symptoms whatsoever for many years, the disease is often diagnosed because of abnormal liver blood tests. Additional diagnostic tests such as magnetic resonance imaging (MRI/MRCP) or ERCP may be necessary to confirm PSC.  

Endoscopic retrograde cholangiopancreatography (ERCP) combines the use of x-rays and an endoscope, which is a long, flexible, lighted tube. Through the endoscope, the physician can see the inside of the stomach and duodenum, and inject dyes into the ducts in the biliary tree and pancreas so they can be seen on x-rays.  With improvements to magnetic resonance techniques, this non-invasive way to diagnose PSC is being used more frequently.   

 


Treatment

Presently, there is no known specific treatment for primary sclerosing cholangitis.  However, symptoms of this disease can be treated with varying success by antibiotics, vitamins and medications to control itching and improve bile flow.  

Sometimes, insertion of a stent with a procedure known as endoscopy may be effective short-term in alleviating jaundice and other symptoms. 

When the disease has progressed to liver failure, liver transplantation may be considered.  Liver transplantation is successful in 85 to 90 per cent of adult patients.

 

Support

National Help Line:
This support resource gives you and your loved one somewhere to turn for answers after diagnosis, helps you understand your disease, and provides you with the resources you need.  You can call 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM EST.

The Peer Support Network:
This is a national network of people living with liver disease that have offered to share their experiences with others. It was developed by the Canadian Liver Foundation as a means to link Canadians like you who have a family member who has liver disease, who care for someone who suffers from liver disease, or who have been diagnosed with a liver disease, to talk about your concerns with a peer in a similar situation.

If you would like to be connected with a peer supporter in your area, or would like to join the peer support network, please call the National Help Line at 1 (800) 563-5483 or email Billie Potkonjak.

Help us help you! 
If you are not satisfied with the information you just read or any information on our website, please take a moment to send us your comments and suggestions on the type of content you would like to find on liver.ca. Please include the page you are commenting about in the subject line of your email.