吉尔伯特综合症

吉尔伯特综合症

Gilbert’s 综合症是一种颇常见、轻度的肝脏疾病。患者的血清胆红素出现中度、波动性的升高。血清胆红素是由肝脏向胆汁排泌的一种黄色色素。

 什么是胆红素,它如何代谢?

正常情况下血液中也存在一些胆红素。因为当衰老的红血球在骨髓、脾脏和其他器官内分解后,红血球内的血红素会转变成胆红素。胆红素经血液送达肝脏,在肝细胞内经过一系列化学反应被排泌入胆汁。随胆汁排入肠道后再经过一些化学反应,之后胆红素会随粪便排出体外。然而,当红血球分解过多或胆红素代谢和排泌过程出现异常时,体内增加的胆红素可以引起黄疸(皮肤和/或眼睛发黄)。 Gilbert’s 综合症的患者胆红素水平时高时低,有时也会在正常水平;即使是升高也不会到危险水平。  

谁人患上Gilbert’s 综合症的机会最高?

科学家相信这是一种遗传性疾病。据估计百分之三至七的成人患有Gilbert’s 综合症。男性比较常见,而且一般在青春期或成年时(20岁到30多岁)才会出现症状。  

症状

一些患者症状很不明显或根本不知道患病。然而,一些患者可能有轻度黄疸,表现为眼睛发黄。其他症状可能会有肠胃不适、疲劳、虚弱和腹部痛,但是不知道这些症状是否直接与胆红素水平偏高有关。  

诊断

Gilbert’s 综合症通常因为其他问题在验血时意外被发现。在飢饿时或併发其他疾病时(例如流感),胆红素亦会增加。为避免误诊,医生应该将这一良性疾病和其他导致黄疸的严重肝脏疾病区分开。

诊断一般需要结合临床病史、体格检查、血液和尿液检测而确定。  

治疗

Gilbert’s 综合症极少数需要接受治疗,患有此症一般可以和正常人一样生活。

支持

全国帮助热线:

这一支持资源可以让您和您的亲人在诊断之后找到答案,帮助您了解您的疾病,并为您提供所需的资源。 你可以打电话 1-800-563 5483。 周一至周五,从XNUMX AM到XNUMX PM EST。

病友支持网络:

这是一个由肝病患者组成的全国性网络,供患者们分享各自的经历。它是由加拿大肝脏基金会组织,旨在将有同样经历的人联系在一起,包括家中有肝病患者的人,照顾肝病患者的人,或曾被诊断为患有肝病的人,令人们可以与有相同经历者讨论自己的顾虑。

如果您想与您所在地区的病友支持者建立联系,或者想加入病友支持网络,请致电全国帮助热线 1-800-563 5483 ,或电子邮件 Chinese@liver.ca

助人助己!  如果您对刚刚阅读的信息,或我们网站上的任何信息不满意,请花一点时间,发邮件给我们,告诉我们您对所希望看到的内容的意见和建议。请在您的电子邮件的主题行中包含您要评论的页面。请点击此处发送电子邮件。

Gilbert’s Syndrome

Gilbert's Syndrome

Gilbert’s syndrome is a fairly common, mild liver disorder that is caused by an inherited deficiency of an enzyme involved in the metabolism of bilirubin. In people with Gilbert’s syndrome, the bilirubin is typically mildly elevated and often fluctuates. At times, it may be within the normal range whereas at other times, the level may be higher than normal, but not dangerously so.

 

What is bilirubin and how is it metabolized?

Small amounts of bilirubin are normally present in the blood. Bilirubin is produced from the natural breakdown of hemoglobin (the red pigment of red blood cells) in bone marrow, the spleen, and other organs. It is carried to the liver in the blood where it undergoes a series of chemical changes and is excreted into the bile. It undergoes further chemical changes within the intestine, and from there passes out of the body. However, when red blood cells break down excessively (called hemolysis) or there is interference in the normal processes for bilirubin metabolism or bile excretion, the amount of bilirubin increases. High levels of bilirubin in the blood may produce jaundice (a yellow discoloration of the skin and/or eyes), and in the urine may produce a tea-coloured appearance.

 

Who is at risk?

Gilbert’s syndrome is an inherited disorder. It is estimated that between three to seven per cent of all adults have Gilbert’s syndrome. It is much more common in males, and usually first appears when people are in their teens or early adulthood (20s and 30s).

 

Symptoms

Most patients with Gilbert’s syndrome have no symptoms. However, some people may develop mild jaundice, and the whites of the eyes may be yellow. Others report non-specific complaints (e.g. fatigue, weakness and abdominal pain), however, it is unclear whether these symptoms are directly related to higher levels of bilirubin.

 

Diagnosis

Often Gilbert’s syndrome is diagnosed by chance when blood is examined for another reason. Specifically, the serum bilirubin is found to be elevated whereas the other liver tests are usually normal. Serum bilirubin may increase with fasting or during another illness such as influenza. To avoid misdiagnosis, the physician must distinguish between this benign disorder and other more serious causes of elevated bilirubin levels.

The diagnosis can usually be made by clinical history, physical examination, and blood tests.

 

Treatment

Gilbert’s syndrome does not require treatment. People with the disorder lead normal, healthy lives.

Support

National Help Line:
This support resource gives you and your loved one somewhere to turn for answers after diagnosis, helps you understand your disease, and provides you with the resources you need.  You can call 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM EST.

The Peer Support Network:
This is a national network of people living with liver disease that have offered to share their experiences with others. It was developed by the Canadian Liver Foundation as a means to link Canadians like you who have a family member who has liver disease, who care for someone who suffers from liver disease, or who have been diagnosed with a liver disease, to talk about your concerns with a peer in a similar situation.

If you would like to be connected with a peer supporter in your area, or would like to join the peer support network, please call the National Help Line at 1 (800) 563-5483 or email Billie Potkonjak.

Help us help you! 
If you are not satisfied with the information you just read or any information on our website, please take a moment to send us your comments and suggestions on the type of content you would like to find on liver.ca. Please include the page you are commenting about in the subject line of your email.