甲型肝炎

甲型肝炎

病毒性肝炎影响数以千计的加拿大人,导致短期疾病或慢性发炎,严重的甚至危及生命。最常见的病毒性肝炎有甲型、乙型和丙型病毒性肝炎。三种最常见的病毒性肝炎形式之一是甲型肝炎。甲型肝炎是由甲型肝炎病毒引起的一种具有潜在危险的肝脏疾病。

如何会感染上甲型肝炎?

甲型肝炎通过与感染者密切接触或通过食用甲型肝炎污染的食物或饮用水传播。 因为病毒是在感染者的粪便(粪便)中发现的,所以吃感染者准备的食物在使用洗手间后没有正确地洗手,是获得病毒的一种方法。

从被污水污染的水中吃生的或未煮熟的海鲜和贝类,或者吃被污染的水冲洗过的沙拉蔬菜是其他被感染的方式。 分享药物使用设备,或与感染者发生性接触也可以给你甲型肝炎。

虽然经常被认为是“旅行者的疾病”,但甲型肝炎可以在加拿大签约。 加拿大的甲型肝炎爆发或恐慌通常与餐馆和杂货店中受感染的食品处理人员或受污染的农产品有关。

谁最容易感染甲型肝炎?

如果您有以下情形,感染甲型肝炎的风险增加:

  • 到甲型肝炎常见地区(如加勒比海,南美洲)旅行,
  • 与新感染甲型肝炎的人一起生活,
  • 使用注射毒品并共用污染的毒品准备/注射器具,
  • 是监狱中的囚犯,或者
  • 涉及口腔/肛门接触的性行为

甲型肝炎的症状是什么?

并不是所有感染甲型肝炎的人都有症状。学龄前儿童感染经常没有症状,而且一般儿童感染症状轻于成年人。症状可能开始于感染病毒后15至50天。

当你第一次感染甲型肝炎病毒时,它被称为急性感染。 急性甲型肝炎感染的典型症状包括疲劳,恶心和呕吐,腹部不适,黄疸(眼睛和皮肤白色变黄),尿黑,低烧和食欲不振。

感染甲型肝炎的人年龄越大,越有可能经历严重的症状。有的人感觉症状会持续一至两周,有的则会持续数月。甲型肝炎很罕见会引致死亡。然而,对于已经存在慢性肝病的人,包括慢性乙型和丙型肝炎,感染甲型肝炎而发生严重併发症的机会较高。

如何避免甲型肝炎?

甲型肝炎疫苗非常安全并且能有效预防甲型肝炎病毒感染。它需要注射两次,每次相隔六个月。注射甲型肝炎疫苗后,免疫力可以持续20年。也可以使用甲型和乙型肝炎联合疫苗。由于百分之四十的甲型肝炎病例与旅行有关,所以建议在旅行前六周注射疫苗。

考虑这些额外的安全预防措施:

  • 在使用洗手间之前,特别是在准备食物之前和进食前,经常和彻底洗手。
  • 避免生或未煮熟的食物。
  • 如果您正前往甲型肝炎高发国家旅行,
    • 喝瓶装或开水,刷牙也用。
    • 喝不加冰的瓶装饮料。
    • 避免生菜,包括沙拉。
    • 避免在街头摊贩进食。
    • 自己动手清洗新鲜水果和蔬菜。

甲型肝炎可以治疗吗

没有特别针对甲型肝炎的药物。这病会慢慢自然痊愈,但每个人完全康复的时间不尽相同。患病痊愈后,意味着您对甲型肝炎病毒具有终生的免疫力,以后不会再感染甲型肝炎。

以下是处理症状的一些方法:

  • 你会感到疲惫,可能没有多少精力。 您可能需要减少日常活动,休假停止工作或学习以便康复。
  • 恶心和呕吐可能会导致你失去食欲。 尝试吃小零食和软食品,如汤或吐司。
  • 你可能看起来“黄色”。一旦你变黄,你就不再具有传染性。 没有必要孤立自己。 让你周围的人知道靠近你是可以的。
  • 尽量不要喝酒。 您的肝脏可能无法处理酒精,酒精可能会使您的症状更糟。
  • 在服用非处方药或补充药物之前,先与您的医生交谈。 没有一种替代疗法被证明有助于治疗甲型肝炎。

支持

全国帮助热线:

这一支持资源可以让您和您的亲人在诊断之后找到答案,帮助您了解您的疾病,并为您提供所需的资源。 你可以打电话 1-800-563 5483 , 周一至周五,从9 AM到5 PM EST。

病友支持网络:

这是一个由肝病患者组成的全国性网络,供患者们分享各自的经历。它是由加拿大肝脏基金会组织,旨在将有同样经历的人联系在一起,包括家中有肝病患者的人,照顾肝病患者的人,或曾被诊断为患有肝病的人,令人们可以与有相同经历者讨论自己的顾虑。

如果您想与您所在地区的病友支持者建立联系,或者想加入病友支持网络,请致电全国帮助热线 1-800-563 5483,(加拿大东部时间周一至周五,上午九点至下午五点)或发电子邮件至 Chinese@liver.ca

助人助己! 

如果您不满意在我们网站上看到的资讯,请用少少时间写下您的评语及您想了解的信息,通过电子邮件发送至Chinese@liver.ca。请于电子邮件的“主题”处标明您所浏览的网页的内容。 点击此处发送电子邮件。

Hepatitis A

Hepatitis A

Viral hepatitis strikes thousands of Canadians resulting in short-term illness, chronic infections and even life-threatening consequences. One of the three most common forms of viral hepatitis is hepatitis A. Hepatitis A is a potentially serious form of liver disease caused by the hepatitis A virus which attacks the liver. 

 

How do I get hepatitis A? 

Hepatitis A is spread through close contact with an infected person, or by eating hepatitis A contaminated food or drinking water. Because the virus is found in the stool (feces) of infected people, eating food prepared by an infected person, who does not wash his/her hands properly after using the washroom, is one way of getting the virus. 

Eating raw or undercooked seafood and shellfish from water polluted with sewage, or eating salad greens that are rinsed in contaminated water are other ways of becoming infected. Sharing drug-use equipment, or having sexual contact with an infected person can also give you hepatitis A. 

While often considered to be a ‘traveller’s disease’, hepatitis A can be contracted in Canada. Hepatitis A outbreaks or scares in Canada are most often associated with infected food handlers in restaurants and grocery stores or with contaminated produce. 

 

Who is most at risk of getting hepatitis A?

You have an increased risk of hepatitis A if you:

  • travel to regions where hepatitis A is common (e.g. The Caribbean, South America),
  • live with someone who is newly infected with hepatitis A,
  • use injection drugs and share contaminated drug preparation/injection materials,
  • are in inmate in jail, or
  • have sex involving oral/anal contact


What are the symptoms of hepatitis A?

Not all people infected with hepatitis A virus will have symptoms. Pre-school children often have no symptoms, and, in general, children will have milder symptoms than adults. Symptoms may occur 15 to 50 days from the time you first come in contact with the hepatitis A virus.

When you first become infected with the hepatitis A virus it is called acute infection. Typical symptoms of an acute hepatitis A infection include: fatigue, nausea and vomiting, abdominal discomfort, jaundice (yellowing of the whites of the eyes and skin), dark urine, low grade fever and loss of appetite.

The older you are when you get hepatitis A, the more likely that you will experience more severe symptoms. Some people feel sick for one to two weeks, while in others the symptoms may last several months. Hepatitis A rarely causes death. However, persons with pre-existing chronic liver disease, including chronic hepatitis B and C, are at increased risk of serious complications from this infection.

 

How can I avoid getting hepatitis A?

There is a safe and effective vaccine that can protect you from getting hepatitis A. The vaccine is usually given in two doses six months apart. The vaccine will give you protection for up to 20 years. A combined vaccine for hepatitis A and hepatitis B is also available. Since up to 40% of the reported cases of hepatitis A occur in travellers, it is advisable to protect yourself with a hepatitis A vaccination six weeks before you leave.

Consider these additional safety precautions:

  • Wash your hands frequently and thoroughly especially after using the washroom, before preparing food and before eating.
  • Avoid raw or undercooked food.
  • If you are travelling to countries with high rates of hepatitis A:
    • Drink bottled or boiled water and use it for brushing your teeth.
    • Drink bottled beverages without ice.
    • Avoid uncooked food including salads.
    • Avoid food from street vendors.
    • Peel and wash fresh fruits and vegetables yourself.

 

Can hepatitis A be treated?

There is no drug treatment for hepatitis A. The disease will eventually run its course and an infected person will recover completely although recovery time varies for each person. Recovery from this virus infection means that you are protected for life from getting it again.

The following are some ways of dealing with the symptoms: 

  • You will feel tired and may have very little energy. You may need to take time off from daily activities, work or school to recover.
  • Nausea and vomiting may cause you to lose your appetit. Try to eat small snacks and soft foods such as soup or toast.
  • You may look "yellow." Once you become yellow, you are no longer infectious. There is no need to isolate yourself. Let people around you know it is OK to be near you.
  • Try not to drink alcohol. Your liver may not be able to process alcohol and alcohol may make your symptoms worse.
  • Talk to your doctor before taking over-the-counter medications or complementary medicine. None of the alternative therapies have proved helpful in treating hepatitis A.

Support

National Help Line:
This support resource gives you and your loved one somewhere to turn for answers after diagnosis, helps you understand your disease, and provides you with the resources you need.  You can call 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM EST.

The Peer Support Network:
This is a national network of people living with liver disease that have offered to share their experiences with others. It was developed by the Canadian Liver Foundation as a means to link Canadians like you who have a family member who has liver disease, who care for someone who suffers from liver disease, or who have been diagnosed with a liver disease, to talk about your concerns with a peer in a similar situation.

If you would like to be connected with a peer supporter in your area, or would like to join the peer support network, please call the National Help Line at 1 (800) 563-5483 or email Billie Potkonjak.

Help us help you! 
If you are not satisfied with the information you just read or any information on our website, please take a moment to send us your comments and suggestions on the type of content you would like to find on liver.ca. Please include the page you are commenting about in the subject line of your email.