雷氏综合症

雷氏综合症

雷氏综合症是儿童常见呼吸道感染的罕见并发症,包括水痘。 雷氏综合症在学龄儿童和青少年中最为常见,但婴儿中也有发生。 这种疾病在成年人中很少见。

症状

在流感或水痘发作三至七天后呕吐开始时,应怀疑雷氏综合征。 通常在8到12小时内呕吐变得越来越严重。 当呕吐持续超过12小时,或呕吐与大脑混乱迹象相关时,如凝视咒语,木僵,deli妄或奇怪行为,请致电您的医生。

到雷氏综合症较后期时,患儿表现出性格上的转变,例如攻击性行为和对时间、地点和人物认知障碍他其他症状包括意识障碍、言语模煳、易激惹、谵妄、尖叫和挣扎及不认得父母,这一阶段属医疗急症。

虽然雷氏综合征可随时发生,但在1月,2月和3月最常见,与流感和类似呼吸道感染相关。 大约三分之一的雷氏综合征病例以水痘并发症的形式出现,通常在皮疹出现后三到四天。

在疾病的第一天呕吐,特别是伴有腹泻时,通常不是由于雷氏综合征引起的。 在这种情况下,儿童通常会保持警觉和活跃。 他们可能患有急性传染性胃肠炎。

诊断

Reye综合征的诊断基于近期流感样疾病,持续性呕吐和呕吐的历史血液检查。 在Reye综合征的情况下,检测结果应该显示血清丙氨酸转氨酶(ALT)水平与正常胆红素水平的升高。 其他可能的原因,如脑膜炎和脑炎也应该在做出最终诊断之前排除。

几乎所有Reye氏综合征病例都会增加某些肝酶(如ALT)的血清浓度。 每个评估儿童的医院急诊室医生都应该能够紧急测量ALT。  

治疗

当血清ALT升高与不明原因的呕吐相关时,应将儿童送入医院并用静脉输液进行治疗。 Reye综合征在deli妄或昏迷发展之前得到诊断和早期治疗时,有很好的恢复机会。 没有及时诊断的儿童可能会昏迷并死亡。  

预防

据信阿司匹林可能促成瑞氏综合征的发展。 在获得确凿的证据之前,医生建议客户不要使用阿司匹林治疗水痘,并且在爆发流感样疾病期间。 对乙酰氨基酚是首选的退热药物。

许多非处方药包含阿司匹林(乙酰水杨酸),钠或铋水杨酸盐。 在将药物给予您的孩子之前,请咨询您的药剂师。  

支持

全国帮助热线: 全国帮助热线提供一个地方,让您和亲人在诊断之后可以咨询,帮助您了解您的疾病,并为您提供所需的资源。 你可以打电话 1-800-563 5483。 周一至周五,从9 AM到5 PM EST。

病友支持网络: 这是一个由肝病患者组成的全国性网络,供患者们分享各自的经历。它是由加拿大肝脏基金会组织,旨在将有同样经历的人联系在一起,包括家中有肝病患者的人,照顾肝病患者的人,或曾被诊断为患有肝病的人,令人们可以与有相同经历者讨论自己的顾虑。

如果您想与您所在地区的病友支持者建立联系,或者想加入病友支持网络,请致电全国帮助热线 1-800-563 5483 ,或电子邮件 Chinese@liver.ca

助人助己!  如果您对刚刚阅读的信息,或我们网站上的任何信息不满意,请花一点时间,发邮件给我们,告诉我们您对所希望看到的内容的意见和建议。请在您的电子邮件的主题行中包含您要评论的页面。请点击此处发送电子邮件。

Reye’s Syndrome

Reye's Syndrome

Reye's syndrome is a rare complication of common childhood respiratory infections, including chickenpox. Reye's syndrome is most common in school-aged children and teenagers, but cases also occur in infants. The illness is rare in adults.


Symptoms

Reye's syndrome should be suspected when vomiting begins three to seven days after the onset of a flu or chickenpox. Usually the vomiting becomes increasingly severe over a period of eight to 12 hours. When vomiting persists for more than 12 hours, or vomiting is associated with signs of brain disorder, such as staring spells, stupor, delirium or strange behaviour, call your doctor.

In the later stage of the disease, the child shows personality changes such as aggressive behaviour and disorientation. Other symptoms may include confusion, slurred speech, agitated delirium with screaming and struggling, and an inability to recognize parents. This stage is a medical emergency.

Although Reye's syndrome can occur anytime, it is most frequent in January, February and March, in association with influenza and similar respiratory infections. About one-third of the cases of Reye's syndrome occur as a complication of chickenpox, usually three or four days after the rash appears.

Vomiting on the first day of illness, especially when accompanied with diarrhea, is not typically due to Reye's syndrome. In such cases, children are usually alert and active. They may be suffering from acute infectious gastroenteritis.

 

Diagnosis

Diagnosis of Reye's syndrome is based on a recent history of flu-like illness, persistent vomiting and blood tests. In the case of Reye's syndrome, test results should show an elevation of serum alanine aminotransferase (ALT) levels with normal bilirubin levels. Other possible causes such as meningitis and encephalitis should also be excluded prior to making a final diagnosis.

Almost all cases of Reye's syndrome have increased serum concentrations of certain liver enzymes such as ALT. Every hospital emergency room physician who evaluates children should be able to measure the ALT on an emergency basis.

 

Treatment

When there is an elevation in serum ALT associated with unexplained vomiting, the child should be admitted to the hospital and treated with intravenous fluids. There is an excellent chance of recovery when Reye's syndrome is diagnosed and treated early, before delirium or coma has developed. Children who are not diagnosed early may lapse into coma and die.

 

Prevention

It is believed that aspirin may contribute to the development of Reye's syndrome. Until conclusive evidence is obtained, doctors advise clients against the use of aspirin to treat chickenpox and during outbreaks of influenza-like disease. Acetaminophen is the preferred anti-fever medicine.

Many over-the-counter remedies contain aspirin (acetyl-salicylic acid), sodium or bismuth salicyclates. Consult with your pharmacist about a drug's contents before giving it to your child.

 

Support

National Help Line:
This support resource gives you and your loved one somewhere to turn for answers after diagnosis, helps you understand your disease, and provides you with the resources you need.  You can call 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM EST.

The Peer Support Network:
This is a national network of people living with liver disease that have offered to share their experiences with others. It was developed by the Canadian Liver Foundation as a means to link Canadians like you who have a family member who has liver disease, who care for someone who suffers from liver disease, or who have been diagnosed with a liver disease, to talk about your concerns with a peer in a similar situation.

If you would like to be connected with a peer supporter in your area, or would like to join the peer support network, please call the National Help Line at 1 (800) 563-5483 or email Billie Potkonjak.

Help us help you! 
If you are not satisfied with the information you just read or any information on our website, please take a moment to send us your comments and suggestions on the type of content you would like to find on liver.ca. Please include the page you are commenting about in the subject line of your email.