脂肪肝病

脂肪肝病

当一个人的饮食超过他或她的身体可以处理的脂肪量时,脂肪组织会在肝脏中慢慢积贮。脂肪肝在超重者或肥胖者中较常见,但也会发生在体重正常的成年人身上。如果脂肪积贮超过肝脏的5%,此肝脏便被视为脂肪肝。 虽然此情形可能不会造成即刻损伤,但是肝脏中多余的脂肪可能会令肝脏易受进一步的损害,例如发炎与结疤。

An illustration showing the difference between a normal liver and a liver that has nonalcoholic fatty liver disease
Used with permission from Mayo Clinic. All rights reserved

Street signals directing to a survey被诊断为非酒精性脂肪肝炎( NASH)?

我们希望听取您的反馈。请完成此调查,分享您的经验。您可以帮助改善预防、诊断、治疗及NAFLD或NASH风险者的生活质量。助己助人

什么是非酒精性脂肪肝(NAFLD)?

非酒精性脂肪肝病(NAFLD) 是一种影响少饮酒至不饮酒者的肝脏疾病。顾名思义,NAFLD的主要特征是过多脂肪存贮于肝细胞中。NAFLD是加拿大最普遍的肝脏疾病,影响着约20%的加拿大人。

NAFLD 多见于超重或者肥胖者中,特别是身体中段(腰部)有大量脂肪积聚者。它也可能发生于体重在健康体重范围内,但进食很多糖类和脂肪类食物、腰部脂肪过多者身上。NAFLD显示出与代谢综合征密切相关——代谢综合征是一种以多种危险因素(粗腰围、高血压、高血糖、高胆固醇和血脂异常)为特点的健康问题,这些危险因素大大增加了许多慢性疾病的风险。

成因

加拿大脂肪肝病最常见的原因是肥胖。2018年,在18岁及以上的加拿大人中,近30%的人所报告的身高和体重属于超重或肥胖。

除肥胖外,脂肪肝病的营养原因有:

  • 饥饿及蛋白质营养不良
  • 长期使用全静脉营养(将营养剂直接注入血液的食物供应方法)
  • 治疗肥胖的肠道旁路手术
  • 体重骤降

某些病症往往伴发和引致脂肪肝病:

  • 糖尿病
  • 高脂血症(血脂上升)
  • 胰岛素抵抗及高血压

另外的成因包括:

  • 遗传因素
  • 药物和化学品

如何界定“超重”与“肥胖”?

A body mass index chart showing the risk for fatty liver
虽然很多人都觉得可以稍微减重,但只有少数人认为自己肥胖。身高体重指数(Body Mass Index,简称BMI)是广为使用的定义“超重”和“肥胖”的衡量方法。BMI以人的身高和体重为基础,计算出一个反映其体重健康与否的数字。

你可以用以下公式计算你的BMI:

BMI:
(以分斤为单位的体重)
________________
(以米为单位的身高)2

示例:某人身高1.70米,重80公斤:

BMI  = 80 ÷  (1.70 x 1.70) = 27.7.  点击此处 使用BMI计算器

体重过轻 正常 超重 肥胖
小于 18.5 19.6-24.9 25-29.9 30 及             以上

注意: 不同族裔稍存差异,例如,亚洲人的 BMI 健康区间偏低,介于18-23。

A green apple is wrapped up in a measuring tape commonly used to measure one's body腰围多少有关系吗?

过多的腹部脂肪,与脂肪肝病和其他健康风险如糖尿病等均有关连。腰围指标(因性别而异)可用于识别与过量腹部脂肪相关的健康风险:

  • 对于男性,若腰围超过102厘米(40 寸),健康风险便会增加;
  • 对于女性,若腰围超过88厘米(35 寸),健康风险便会增加。

保持测量方法的一致性很重要。最好的测量方法是:

  • 用尺子围绕肚脐以上两公分处的腰围。
  • 尺带贴紧,但不能勒到皮肤。
  • 放松,呼气,看尺子度数。

脂肪如何进入肝脏?

一个人从饮食中摄取的脂肪与糖类,通常会被肝脏及其他组织分解。如果摄取的脂肪或者单糖超过身体所需,脂肪便会被储存在脂肪组织内。脂肪积聚在肝脏的其他原因,可能是脂肪从身体其他部位转移至肝脏,或是肝脏无法将脂肪转化为可被清除的形态。

甚麽是非酒精性脂肪肝炎(NASH)?

NASH 即非酒精性脂肪肝炎,是非酒精性脂肪肝病(NAFLD)较为严重的情形。此情形中,肝脏发炎并出现结疤(纤维化)。

NASH可导致肝脏严重结疤,高达11%的患者会因肝病致命。一些NASH患者可能因为慢性肝衰竭而需要进行肝脏移植

儿童会有脂肪肝病吗?

目前儿童出现脂肪肝病的现象已愈见明显,主要原因是儿童肥胖的情况大幅上升。估计每10个加拿大儿童中,便有1个超重,几乎是十年前的三倍。脂肪肝影响约3 %的儿童,及2 5 %–55%的肥胖儿童。脂肪肝病可见于小至两岁的儿童中。

症状

一般来说,脂肪肝病并无症状。但有些人表示腹部近肝脏处不舒服、疲倦、浑身不自在,及若有若无的不适感。

诊断

脂肪肝病多见于超重及肥胖者(特别是粗腰围者)、血脂异常者(高胆固醇及高血脂)、胰岛素抵抗、及/或者肝脏检测结果异常者。
肝脏的超声波或者纤维化扫描( Fibroscan®)可检测到脂肪肝。在某些情况下,医生或会建议进行肝脏活组织检测 — 医生将细针插入肝脏,抽取组织样本,再进行显微镜检查。

治疗

一旦单纯性脂肪积聚,肝脏便容易受到进一步损害,而可能导致肝脏发炎及结疤(NASH)。脂肪肝的治疗方法视成因而定。目前,我们无法预测哪种病人会发展至NASH。

  • 建议肥胖者通过适当的营养与运动,逐步减轻体重。
  • 糖尿病及高血脂者,则应改善控制糖份和减低血脂水平。对于糖尿病患,一般建议选择无糖的低脂、低卡路里的饮食,再配合胰岛素或药物医治,以降低血糖水平。如果您有糖尿病,请咨询医护人员如何管理您的疾病。
  • 非超重且非糖尿病的 NASH 患者,建议选择少糖的低脂饮食。
  • 同时也要避免酒精及含糖食物,因为两者都会导致并促发脂肪肝病。
  • 建议增加运动量。
  • 脂肪肝患者应定期覆诊检查,并向营养师寻求有关饮食的建议。
  • 有研究显示咖啡(每日2-3杯)可能减缓肝脏受损的过程,降低脂肪肝病患者发展至肝癌的风险。

目前,尚没有一种经证实能有效治疗脂肪肝的药物。治疗通常基于生活方式的改变,通过适当的营养与运动逐步而持续地减重。脂肪肝现时已极为普遍,所以亦引起科学界的多方关注。现在的多个临床试验,均致力寻求脂肪肝病的不同疗法。

预防

通过选择健康的生活方式,你可以避免肥胖 —— 脂肪肝病的头号成因。请谨记,任何减轻体重的方法都需要健康饮食与运动双管齐下。以下是预防脂肪肝病的几点建议:

  • 如果你超重,要努力逐步而持续地减重。
  • 均衡饮食,选择低饱和脂肪、低糖份但高纤维的食物。
  • 培养运动习惯,每周最少运动四天。你可以选择散步、游泳、园艺、伸展活动等。
  • 避免喝酒。

取道肝脏健康,了解如何请 点击此处

支持

全国帮助热线:
这一支持资源可以让您和您的亲人在诊断之后找到答案,帮助您了解您的疾病,并为您提供所需的资源。 你可以在东部时间周一至周五,上午9点至下午5点拨打电话 1-800-563 5483咨询。

病友支持网络:
这是一个由肝病患者组成的全国性网络,供患者们分享各自的经历。它是由加拿大肝脏基金会组织,旨在将有同样经历的人联系在一起,包括家中有肝病患者的人,照顾肝病患者的人,或曾被诊断为患有肝病的人,令人们可以与有相同经历者讨论自己的顾虑。

如果您想与您所在地区的病友支持者联系或希望加入病友支持网络,请拨打全国帮助热线 1-800-563 5483 ,或发电子邮件 Chinese@liver.ca咨询。

助人助己! 
如果您不满意在我们网站上看到的资讯,请用少少时间写下您的评语及您想了解的信息,通过电子邮件发送至Chinese@liver.ca。请于电子邮件的“主题”处标明您所浏览的网页的内容。 
Angulo P. GI epidemiology: nonalcoholic fatty liver disease. Aliment Pharmacol Ther. 2007;25(8):883-9. doi:10.1111/j.1365-2036.2007.03246.x.
Barshop NJ, Sirlin CB, Schwimmer JB, Lavine JE. Review article: epidemiology, pathogenesis and potential treatments of paediatric non-alcoholic fatty liver disease. Aliment Pharmacol Ther. 2008;28(1):13-24. doi:10.1111/j.1365-2036.2008.03703.x.
Connor Gorber, S., M. Shields, M.S. Tremblay, and I. McDowell. 2008. The feasibility of establishing correction factors to adjust self-reported estimates of obesity. Health Reports. Statistics Canada Catalogue number 82-003, Vol. 19, no. 3. (accessed January 17th, 2017).
Health Canada. Obesity. 2006. (accessed April 3rd, 2019)
Lebovics E, Rubin J. Non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD): why you should care, when you should worry, what you should do. Diabetes Metab Res Rev. 2011;27(5):419-24. doi:10.1002/dmrr.1198.
Loomba R, Sanyal AJ. The global NAFLD epidemic. Nat Rev Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2013;10(11):686-90. doi:10.1038/nrgastro.2013.171.
Metabolic Syndrome. National Heart, Lunge, and Blood Institute (2019). US Department of Health & Human Services. Retrieved from https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/metabolic-syndrome
Ovchinsky N, Lavine JE. A critical appraisal of advances in pediatric nonalcoholic Fatty liver disease. Semin Liver Dis. 2012;32(4):317-24. doi:10.1055/s-0032-1329905.
Public Health Agency of Canada, Canadian Institute for Health Information. Obesity in Canada.; 2011:62.
WHO. Waist Circumference and Waist-Hip Ratio: report of WHO Expert Consultation. Geneva; 2011:39.

Fatty Liver Disease

Fatty Liver Disease

Fat in the liver typically develops when a person consumes more fat and sugars than his or her body can handle. This is more common in people who are overweight or obese, but can also occur in adults with healthy body weights. If that fat builds up to more than 5% of the liver, then the liver is considered to be a fatty liver. Although having this condition may not cause any immediate harm, there is a concern that the extra fat in the liver might make the liver vulnerable to further injury such as inflammation and scarring.

An illustration showing the difference between a normal liver and a liver that has nonalcoholic fatty liver disease
Used with permission from Mayo Clinic. All rights reserved

Street signals directing to a surveyDiagnosed with NASH?

We want to hear from you. Please share your experiences with us by completing this survey today. You can help to improve prevention, diagnosis, treatment and quality of life for people living with or at risk of developing NAFLD or NASH. Help Us Help You!

If the survey link prompts to the Carenity login page, please close the Carenity page and try the link again.  

What is Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease (NAFLD)?

Non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) is a liver disease affecting people who drink little to no alcohol. As the name implies, the main characteristics of NAFLD is too much fat stored in liver cells. NAFLD is the most common liver disease in Canada affecting about 20% of Canadians.

It tends to develop in people who are overweight or obese, particularly if they have lot of fat around the middle of their body (waist). It can also develop in a person whose body weight is in the healthy weight range, but who typically eats a lot of sugary and fatty foods and who has extra fat around the waist. NAFLD has shown to be strongly associated with metabolic syndrome- a health disorder characterized by a group of risk factors (large waist circumference, high blood pressure, high blood sugar levels, high cholesterol, and abnormal amounts of lipids in the blood) that greatly increase the risk of many chronic illnesses.

Causes

The most common cause of fatty liver disease in Canada is obesity. In 2018, almost 30% of Canadians 18 and older (roughly 7.3 million adults) reported height and weight that classified them as either overweight or obese.

Besides obesity, nutritional causes of fatty liver disease are:

  • Starvation and protein malnutrition
  • Long-term use of total parenteral nutrition (a feeding procedure that involves infusing nutrients directly into the bloodstream)
  • Intestinal bypass surgery for obesity
  • Rapid weight loss

Certain conditions often accompany and may contribute to fatty liver disease:

  • Diabetes mellitus
  • Hyperlipidemia (elevated lipids in the blood)
  • Insulin resistance and high blood pressure

Other causes include:

  • Genetic factors
  • Drugs and chemicals

How do we define “Overweight” and “Obese”?

A body mass index chart showing the risk for fatty liverAlthough many people feel they could lose some weight, few would consider themselves obese. A widely-used measure to define “overweight” and “obese” is the Body Mass Index (BMI). A BMI is a calculation based on your height and weight that gives a number that reflects either a healthy or unhealthy weight.

You can use the following formula to calculate your BMI: 

BMI:
Weight in kg
________________
(Height in meters)2

Example: for someone who is 1.70 meters tall who weighs 80 kilograms: 

BMI  = 80 ÷  (1.70 x 1.70) = 27.7. Click here to access the BMI Calculator

UnderweightNormalOverweightObese
Less than 18.519.6-24.925-29.930 or greater

Note: Different ethnic groups may differ slightly – for example, in Asian populations the healthy BMI is lower, ranging from 18 – 23.

A green apple is wrapped up in a measuring tape commonly used to measure one's bodyDoes the size of your waist matter?

Excess abdominal fat is associated with fatty liver disease and other health risks such as diabetes. Waist measurements – which differ according to gender – are used to identify the health risks associated with excess abdominal fat:

  • For men, health risks increase if your waist circumference is more than 102 cm (40 in.)
  • For women, health risks increase if your waist circumference is more than 88 cm (35 in.)

It is important to measure your waist circumference in a consistent way. The best way to do this is:

  • Wrap a measuring tape 2 cm higher than your belly button.
  • The tape should be snug but not pressing into your bare skin.
  • Relax, exhale and read the measurement.

How does fat get into the liver?

Fat and sugars from a person’s diet are usually broken down by the liver and other tissues. If the amount of fat or simple sugar intake exceeds what is required by the body, fat is stored in the fatty tissue. Other reasons for accumulation of fat in the liver could be the transfer of fat from other parts of the body or the inability of the liver to change it into a form that can be eliminated.

What is NASH?

NASH stands for non-alcoholic steatohepatitis and is the more serious form of NAFLD. In this condition, the liver becomes inflamed and has scarring (fibrosis).

NASH can lead to severe scarring in the liver and up to 11% may experience liver related deaths. Some people who have NASH may need a liver transplant due to chronic liver failure.

Can children develop fatty liver disease?

Fatty liver disease is now becoming evident in children, due in large part to an alarming increase in childhood obesity. It is estimated that one in 10 Canadian children is overweight – a number that has almost tripled in the last decade. Fatty liver disease affects almost 3% of children and 25 – 55% of obese children. Fatty liver disease can be found in children as young as two years of age.

Symptoms

In general, people with fatty liver disease have no symptoms. However, some people report discomfort in the abdomen at the level of the liver, fatigue, a general feeling of being unwell and vague discomfort.

Diagnosis

Fatty liver disease is usually suspected in people who are overweight and obese (particularly those with large waist circumferences), who have evidence of dyslipidemia (high cholesterol and lipids in the blood), insulin resistance and/or abnormal liver tests.

An ultrasound or Fibroscan® of the liver can show the presence of a fatty liver. In some cases, your doctor may advise a liver biopsy, a procedure where the physician inserts a needle into the liver and extracts  sample tissue, which is then examined under a microscope.

Treatment

Once there is a buildup of simple fat, the liver becomes vulnerable to further injury, which may result in liver inflammation and scarring (NASH). The treatment of fatty liver disease is related to the cause. At this time, it is not possible to predict which patients will develop NASH.

  • Individuals who are obese are advised to achieve a gradual and sustained weight loss through proper nutrition and exercise.
  • Those with diabetes and high lipids in their blood have to improve their sugar control and lower lipids levels. Usually, a lower fat, lower calorie diet with avoidance of sugary foods is recommended along with insulin or medications to lower blood sugar in people with diabetes. If you have diabetes, please see your healthcare provider who can advise you how to manage your diabetes.
  • For individuals with NASH who are not overweight and not diabetic, a diet with lower fat foods without a lot of added sugars is often recommended.
  • It is also recommended that people avoid drinking alcohol and sugary sweetened foods since they can cause and contribute to fatty liver disease.
  • Increasing physical activity is also recommended.
  • People with fatty liver disease should see their primary healthcare providers on a regular basis and seek out the advice of a dietitian regarding their diet.
  • Several studies have shown that drinking coffee (2-3 cups per day) may slow the progression of liver damage and reduce the risk of liver cancer in people who have fatty liver disease.

Currently, there is no medication proven to effectively treat fatty liver disease. The treatment is typically based on lifestyle modification, gradual and sustained weight loss through proper nutrition and exercise. Since it is now such a common condition, it has raised a lot of interest in the scientific community. There are now a number of clinical trials looking at various treatments of fatty liver disease.

Prevention

By adopting a healthy lifestyle, you may prevent obesity – the number one reason for fatty liver disease. Please remember that a healthy diet and exercise are important components of any weight-loss regimen. The following are some suggestions for preventing fatty liver disease:

  • If you are overweight, strive for a gradual and sustained weight loss.
  • Eat a well-balanced diet that is low in saturated fats and simple sugars and high in fibre.
  • Introduce exercise into your routine, at least four times a week. You can enjoy walking, swimming, gardening, stretching.
  • Avoid alcohol.

Take a detour towards liver health, to learn how click here

Support

National Help Line:
This support resource gives you and your loved one somewhere to turn for answers after diagnosis, helps you understand your disease, and provides you with the resources you need.  You can call 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM EST.

The Peer Support Network:
This is a national network of people living with liver disease that have offered to share their experiences with others. It was developed by the Canadian Liver Foundation as a means to link Canadians like you who have a family member who has liver disease, who care for someone who suffers from liver disease, or who have been diagnosed with a liver disease, to talk about your concerns with a peer in a similar situation.

If you would like to be connected with a peer supporter in your area, or would like to join the peer support network, please call 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM EST or email us.

Help us help you! 
If you are not satisfied with the information you just read or any information on our website, please take a moment to send us your comments and suggestions on the type of content you would like to find on liver.ca. Please include the page you are commenting about in the subject line of your email.

Angulo P. GI epidemiology: nonalcoholic fatty liver disease. Aliment Pharmacol Ther. 2007;25(8):883-9. doi:10.1111/j.1365-2036.2007.03246.x.
Barshop NJ, Sirlin CB, Schwimmer JB, Lavine JE. Review article: epidemiology, pathogenesis and potential treatments of paediatric non-alcoholic fatty liver disease. Aliment Pharmacol Ther. 2008;28(1):13-24. doi:10.1111/j.1365-2036.2008.03703.x.
Connor Gorber, S., M. Shields, M.S. Tremblay, and I. McDowell. 2008. The feasibility of establishing correction factors to adjust self-reported estimates of obesity. Health Reports. Statistics Canada Catalogue number 82-003, Vol. 19, no. 3. (accessed January 17th, 2017).
Health Canada. Obesity. 2006. (accessed April 3rd, 2019)
Lebovics E, Rubin J. Non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD): why you should care, when you should worry, what you should do. Diabetes Metab Res Rev. 2011;27(5):419-24. doi:10.1002/dmrr.1198.
Loomba R, Sanyal AJ. The global NAFLD epidemic. Nat Rev Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2013;10(11):686-90. doi:10.1038/nrgastro.2013.171.
Metabolic Syndrome. National Heart, Lunge, and Blood Institute (2019). US Department of Health & Human Services. Retrieved from https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/metabolic-syndrome
Ovchinsky N, Lavine JE. A critical appraisal of advances in pediatric nonalcoholic Fatty liver disease. Semin Liver Dis. 2012;32(4):317-24. doi:10.1055/s-0032-1329905.
Public Health Agency of Canada, Canadian Institute for Health Information. Obesity in Canada.; 2011:62.
WHO. Waist Circumference and Waist-Hip Ratio: report of WHO Expert Consultation. Geneva; 2011:39.