肝硬化

肝硬化

肝硬化是肝脏永久性损伤或者结疤导致的情形(不是一种单独的疾病)。它会干扰或阻断血液流经肝脏,影响肝细胞正常代谢和调节功能。

 

病因

正常肝脏与肝硬化相比的说明。 由Mayo Clinic许可使用的图像
经梅奥诊所许可使用。 版权所有

肝硬化的主要原因如下:

  • 慢性酒精中毒
  • 由病毒感染引起的慢性病毒性肝炎(乙型、丙型与丁型肝炎)
  • 代谢性疾病如α-1-抗胰蛋白酶缺乏症,半乳糖血症和糖原储存障碍
  • 遗传性疾病如威尔逊病和血色素沉着症
  • 原发性胆汁性胆管炎(PBC)和原发性硬化性胆管炎(PSC)等疾病引起的胆汁性肝硬化
  • 因处方药物出现严重反应,或长期处于有毒环境中而导致的中毒性肝炎
  • 反复发作的心脏衰竭与肝脏充血

 

婴幼儿肝硬化

因胆管缺失或受损导致的胆道闭锁病,是婴儿肝硬化的最常见的原因。 由于肝脏内胆汁淤积,婴儿会于出生第一个月后出现黄疸。 在某些情况下可以通过外科手术生成新的导管,来恢复正常的胆汁分泌。有些情况下需要进行肝脏移植。

 

早期症状

患者在肝硬化早期时症状较少。 个人可能察觉到的症状包括:

  • 食欲不振
  • 恶心
  • 体重减轻
  • 疲劳
  • 虚弱
  • 衰竭

 

肝功能衰退时会怎么样?

当肝脏功能衰退时,蛋白质如白蛋白的合成减少,导致体液聚集于腿部(腿部水肿)或腹腔(腹水)。

由于凝血所需蛋白质的减少,肝硬化患者容易流血和瘀伤。因为沉积于皮肤中的合成物,有些患者甚至可能会感觉到强烈的瘙痒。

 

肝硬化后期

An illustration showing what the liver looks like with cirrhosis, including varices where variceal bleeding occurs. Image used with permission from Mayo Clinic
经梅奥诊所许可使用。 版权所有

在肝硬化的后期,会出现黄疸;而因为胆汁水平不足,胆结石更常见。 硬化的肝脏再无法有效地去除毒素,导致血液中的毒素积累,进而损害精神功能,并会导致性情改变和潜在的昏迷。 大脑中毒素积累的早期迹象(肝性脑病),表现为忽视个人仪表、反应迟钝、健忘、注意力不集中或睡眠节律改变。肝脏正常的解毒过程受损,药物无法被妥善地过滤,导致人体对药物及其副作用的敏感度增加。

通常情况下,肠道和脾脏的血液通过门静脉泵入肝脏。 但是,肝硬化会阻止血液通过肝脏的正常流动,因而可能导致肝脏和脾脏的肿胀,并进而迫使肠内血液经由其他血管找到绕道肝脏的新路径。 其中一些主要在胃部和食道中的新路径血管出现“静脉曲张”,变得胀大。 曲张的静脉会因为升高的血压(门静脉高压)和薄弱的管壁而破裂,导致胃和食管出血。

 

诊断

肝硬化可以通过以下医学检查而诊断:

      • 可识别的症状
      • 身体检查
      • CAT扫描(电脑轴向断层扫描)
      •  超声波
      •  放射性同位素肝/脾扫描
      • 肝脏活检

一旦确定有肝硬化,建议立即进行治疗。

 

治疗

治疗肝硬化的目的是阻止或延缓疾病进展,最大限度地减少肝细胞损伤并减少并发症。

若肝硬化由酒精引起,患者必须停止饮酒以阻止疾病的进展。 对于肝硬化的大多数其他原因,通常也建议停止饮酒。 病毒性肝炎引起的肝硬化可以用抗病毒药物治疗,以减少肝细胞损伤。 也可以给药以控制肝硬化的症状。 例如,称为“利尿剂”的药物用于去除多余的液体并防止水肿和腹水复发。 然而,低盐饮食对于治疗腹水患者也是必不可少的。 药物治疗可以改善与肝硬化相关的心理状况。 可以给予泻药,例如乳果糖,以帮助吸收毒素并加速它们从肠中排出。 肝硬化的严重后果可能是门静脉高压引起的出血。 可以给予药物,如β受体阻滞剂,以减少门静脉高压症。 即使出现并发症,通常也可以治疗。 如果患者因胃或食道的静脉曲张出血,医生可以通过插入口腔和食道的柔性管(内窥镜),在在这些静脉周围套扎橡皮筋。 有时候,为这些静脉注射硬化剂(凝固剂)以止血。 在紧急情况下,门腔分流术(缓解门静脉压力和静脉曲张)或 肝移植 可能是必要的。

资源

营养指南《肝硬化营养指南》

本指南涵盖了与所有肝硬化患者相关的一般主题。 还解决了具体的营养问题,这在其他时候可能会有所帮助。 指南是整个肝硬化期间使用的工具。 它还包括适合所有人的食谱,可以进行调整以适应食物过敏、饮食限制和喜好。

点击此处 下载副本。 要申请印刷版本,请发电邮至 申请印刷品

 

支持

全国帮助热线:

这一支持资源可以让您和您的亲人在诊断之后找到答案,帮助您了解您的疾病,并为您提供所需的资源。 你可以打电话 1-800-563 5483 , 东部时间周一至周五,上午9 点至下午5 点。

病友支持网络:

这是一个由肝病患者组成的全国性网络,供患者们分享各自的经历。它是由加拿大肝脏基金会组织,旨在将有同样经历的人联系在一起,包括家中有肝病患者的人,照顾肝病患者的人,或曾被诊断为患有肝病的人,令人们可以与有相同经历者讨论自己的顾虑。

如果您想与您所在地区的病友支持者建立联系,或者想加入病友支持网络,请致电全国帮助热线 1-800-563 5483,或发送电子邮件 Chinese@liver.ca

助人助己! 

如果您对刚刚阅读的信息,或我们网站上的任何信息不满意,请花一点时间,发邮件至chinese@liver.ca,告诉我们您对所希望看到的内容的意见和建议。请在您的电子邮件的主题行中包含您要评论的页面。

Cirrhosis

Cirrhosis 

Cirrhosis is a condition (not a disease) that results from permanent damage or scarring of the liver. This leads to a blockage of blood flow through the liver and prevents normal metabolic and regulatory processes.


Causes

An illustration of a normal liver compared to liver cirrhosis. Image used with permission by Mayo Clinic
Used with permission from Mayo Clinic. All rights reserved

The major causes of cirrhosis are as follows:

  • chronic alcoholism
  • viral infections caused by chronic viral hepatitis (types B, C and D)
  • metabolic diseases such as alpha-1-antitrypsin deficiency, galactosemia and glycogen storage disorders
  • inherited diseases such as Wilson disease and hemochromatosis
  • biliary cirrhosis resulting from diseases such as primary biliary cholangitis (PBC) and primary sclerosing cholangitis (PSC)
  • toxic hepatitis caused by severe reactions to prescribed drugs or prolonged exposure to environmental toxins
  • repeated bouts of heart failure with liver congestion

 

Cirrhosis in Babies

Biliary atresia, a condition caused by absent or injured bile ducts, is the most common cause of cirrhosis in babies. These babies are jaundiced after their first month of life due to a build-up of bile in the liver. New ducts can be surgically formed in some cases restoring normal bile secretion. Transplantation is required in other cases.

 

Early Symptoms

People in the early stages of cirrhosis have few symptoms. Some symptoms an individual may notice include:

  • loss of appetite
  • nausea
  • weight loss
  • fatigue
  • weakness
  • exhaustion

 

What happens as liver functions decreases?

As liver function decreases, fewer proteins such as albumin are produced resulting in fluid accumulation in the legs (edema) or abdomen (ascites).

Individuals with cirrhosis may bleed and bruise easily due to a decrease in proteins required for blood clotting. Some people may even experience intense itching due to products that are deposited in the skin.

 

What problems are associated with the later stages of cirrhosis?

An illustration showing what the liver looks like with cirrhosis, including varices where variceal bleeding occurs. Image used with permission from Mayo Clinic
Used with permission from Mayo Clinic. All rights reserved

In the later stages of cirrhosis, jaundice occurs and gallstones are more common because insufficient levels of bile reach the gallbladder. A cirrhotic liver no longer removes toxins effectively leading to toxin accumulation in the blood, which in turn can impair mental function and lead to personality changes and possibly coma. Early signs of toxin accumulation in the brain (Hepatic Encephalopathy) may include neglect of personal appearance, unresponsiveness, forgetfulness, concentration problems or changes in sleeping habits. Because the normal cleansing process is impaired by cirrhosis, drugs are not properly filtered resulting in an increased sensitivity to drugs and their side-effects.

Normally, blood from the intestines and spleen is pumped to the liver through the portal vein. However, cirrhosis blocks the normal flow of blood through the liver. This can lead to swelling of the liver and potentially the spleen. Blood from the intestines, is then forced to find a new way around the liver through new vessels. Some of these new blood vessels called "varices" which form primarily in the stomach and esophagus become quite large. These varices may rupture due to high blood pressure (portal hypertension) and thin vessel walls, causing bleeding in the upper stomach or esophagus.

 

Diagnosis

Cirrhosis is often diagnosed by medical analysis of the following:

  • identifiable symptoms
  • physical examination
  • CAT scan (computerized axial tomography)
  • ultrasound
  • radioisotope liver/spleen scan
  • liver biopsy

Once it is determined that liver disease is present, immediate treatment is recommended.

 

Treatment

Treatments of cirrhosis are aimed at stopping or delaying the disease progression, minimizing liver cell damage and reducing complications. When cirrhosis is caused by alcohol, the patient must stop drinking to halt progression of the disease. For most other causes of cirrhosis, cessation of alcohol is also generally recommended.  Cirrhosis caused by viral hepatitis may be treated with antiviral drugs to reduce liver cell injury. Medications can also be given to control the symptoms of cirrhosis.  For example, drugs called "diuretics" are used to remove excess fluid and to prevent edema and ascites from recurring. However, a low salt diet is also essential to treat those with ascites.  Drug therapy can improve altered mental function associated with cirrhosis. Laxatives, such as lactulose, may be given to help absorb toxins and speed their removal from the intestines.  A serious consequence of cirrhosis may be bleeding as a result of portal hypertension.  Medications, such as beta blockers, may be prescribed to reduce portal hypertension.   Even when complications develop, they can usually be treated. If the patient bleeds from the varices of the stomach or esophagus, the doctor can place rubber bands around these veins through a flexible tube (endoscope) that is inserted through the mouth and esophagus. Occasionally these veins are injected with a sclerosing (hardening) agent to stop bleeding.  In critical cases, a portacaval shunt (which relieves the pressure in the portal vein and varices) or a liver transplant may be necessary.

Support

National Help Line:
This support resource gives you and your loved one somewhere to turn for answers after diagnosis, helps you understand your disease, and provides you with the resources you need.  You can call 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM EST.

The Peer Support Network:
This is a national network of people living with liver disease that have offered to share their experiences with others. It was developed by the Canadian Liver Foundation as a means to link Canadians like you who have a family member who has liver disease, who care for someone who suffers from liver disease, or who have been diagnosed with a liver disease, to talk about your concerns with a peer in a similar situation.

If you would like to be connected with a peer supporter in your area, or would like to join the peer support network, please call the National Help Line at 1 (800) 563-5483 or email Billie Potkonjak.

Help us help you! 
If you are not satisfied with the information you just read or any information on our website, please take a moment to send us your comments and suggestions on the type of content you would like to find on liver.ca. Please include the page you are commenting about in the subject line of your email.