非酒精性脂肪性肝炎(NASH)

非酒精性脂肪性肝炎(NASH)

非酒精性脂肪性肝炎(NASH)是非酒精性脂肪肝的更严重形式。 术语“脂肪性肝炎”是指具有炎症的脂肪肝,换句话说,与酒精性肝病相似的持续损伤。 就NASH而言,这种情况发生在那些不饮酒或t适量饮酒的人身上。  

NASH和NAFLD的区别

非酒精性脂肪肝病(NAFLD)是北美地区非常常见的疾病。 据估计,20%的加拿大人口有NAFLD,约4%的加拿大人有NASH。 虽然单纯性脂肪肝是一种相当良性的状况,但NASH常常伴随着持续的肝损伤,并可导致肝硬化,肝癌和肝脏移植的需要。

原因

肥胖是与NAFLD和NASH最为相关的情形。

除了肥胖之外,NAFLD和NASH的营养成因如下:

  • 饥饿和蛋白质营养不良
  • 长期使用全胃肠外营养(一种将营养物直接注入血流的喂食手术)
  • 肠道搭桥手术治疗肥胖症
  • 快速减肥

有些病症往往触发和引致脂肪肝:

  • 糖尿病
  • 高脂血症(血液中脂肪含量升高)
  • 胰岛素抵抗和高血压

其他原因包括:

  • 遗传因素
  • 药物和化学品

症状

一般来说,NAFLD和NASH患者没有症状。 然而,有些人反映腹部肝脏部位不适,疲劳,整体感觉不舒服和若有若无的不适感。

诊断

NAFLD和NASH通常多见于超重和肥胖者(特别是那些腰围较大的人),血脂异常(血液中胆固醇和血脂高)者,胰岛素抵抗和/或肝功能异常者。 肝脏超声波或Fibroscan®可以显示脂肪肝的存在。 在某些情况下,医生可能会建议进行肝活检,即医生将针头插入肝脏并提取样本组织,然后在显微镜下检查。

治疗

尚未发现对于NASH的最佳治疗方案。 通常建议人们避免饮酒,因为它是导致NAFLD的另一个原因。 病人需要知道自己患NASH的风险因素,比如,如果他们患有糖尿病则应该改善血糖控制,并需要持续减轻体重。

目前,对NASH还未有行之有效的药物治疗。 现时由于这种情况很普遍,NASH已经令科学界产生了很大的兴趣。 现在有许多临床试验正在研究NASH的各种治疗方法。

患有NASH的患者会发生什么?

NASH的长期发展尚未清楚。 在大多数情况下,NASH似乎是一种慢性进行性疾病。 然而,NASH患者中肯定会有一小部分发展为肝硬化,肝癌,最终导致肝功能衰竭。

支持

全国帮助热线:
这种支持资源可以让您和您所爱的人在诊断后找到答案,帮助您了解您的疾病,并为您提供所需的资源。 你可以打电话 1-800-563 5483 , 周一至周五,从9 AM到5 PM EST。

病友支持网络:
这是一个由肝病患者组成的全国性网络,供患者们分享各自的经历。它是由加拿大肝脏基金会组织,旨在将有同样经历的人联系在一起,包括家中有肝病患者的人,照顾肝病患者的人,或曾被诊断为患有肝病的人,令人们可以与有相同经历者讨论自己的顾虑。

如果您想与您所在地区的病友支持者建立联系,或者想加入病友支持网络,请致电全国帮助热线 1-800-563 5483 , 或发送电子邮件 Chinese@liver.ca

 

助人助己!  如果您对刚刚阅读的信息,或我们网站上的任何信息不满意,请花一点时间,发邮件给我们,告诉我们您对所希望看到的内容的意见和建议。请在您的电子邮件的主题行中包含您要评论的页面。请点击此处发送电子邮件。

NASH

Non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH)

Non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH) is the more severe form of non-alcoholic fatty liver disease. The term ‘steatohepatitis’ means a fatty liver with inflammation or, in other words, ongoing damage similar to that of alcoholic liver disease. In the cases of NASH, this occurs in those who do not drink alcohol or drink in moderation.

Difference between NASH and NAFLD

Non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) is a very common condition in North America. It is estimated that 20% of the Canadian population has NAFLD and that approximately 4% of Canadians have NASH. While a simple fatty liver is a rather benign condition, NASH is often associated with ongoing liver damage and can lead to cirrhosis of the liver, liver cancer, and the need for a liver transplant.

Causes

Obesity is the condition most often associated with NAFLD and NASH.

Besides obesity, nutritional causes of NAFLD and NASH are:

  • Starvation and protein malnutrition
  • Long term use of total parenteral nutrition (a feeding procedure that involves infusing nutrients directly into the blood stream)
  • Intestinal bypass surgery for obesity
  • Rapid weight loss

Certain conditions often accompany and may contribute to fatty liver disease:

  • Diabetes mellitus
  • Hyperlipidemia (elevated fat levels in the blood)
  • Insulin resistance and high blood pressure

Other causes include:

  • Genetic factors
  • Drugs and chemicals

Symptoms

In general, people with NAFLD and NASH have no symptoms. However, some people report discomfort in the abdomen at the level of the liver, fatigue, a general feeling of being unwell, and vague discomfort.

Diagnosis

NAFLD and NASH are usually suspected in people who are overweight and obese (particularly those with a large waist circumferences), who have evidence of dyslipidemia (high cholesterol and lipids in the blood), insulin resistance and/or abnormal liver tests. An ultrasound or Fibroscan® of the liver can show the presence of a fatty liver. In some cases, your doctor may advise a liver biopsy, a procedure where the physician inserts a needle into the liver and extracts a sample tissue, which is then examined under a microscope.

Treatment

Optimal treatment for NASH has not yet been established. People are advised to address their risk factors for NASH i.e. to improve their blood sugar control/monitoring if they are diabetic and achieve a gradual and sustained weight loss. It is usually recommended that those diagnosed with NASH should avoid drinking alcohol. Lifestyle modification and excellent control of other possible illnesses is important for all patients with NAFLD and NASH.

Currently, there is no proven treatment with medication for NASH. Since it is now such a common health condition, NASH has raised much interest in the scientific community. There are numerous clinical trials looking at various treatments of NASH and several promising drug therapies that are anticipated to pave the way for new and more effective treatment options.

What could happen to people with NASH?

Currently, the long-term outlook of people with NASH is not well understood. In most cases, NASH seems to be a slowly progressive disease. However, there is a small proportion of NASH patients whose cirrhosis will become more severe, possibly leading to liver cancer or liver failure. In chronic liver failure, a liver transplant may be needed.

Support

National Help Line:
This support resource gives you and your loved one somewhere to turn for answers after diagnosis, helps you understand your disease, and provides you with the resources you need.  You can call 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM EST.

The Peer Support Network:
This is a national network of people living with liver disease that have offered to share their experiences with others. It was developed by the Canadian Liver Foundation as a means to link Canadians like you who have a family member who has liver disease, who care for someone who suffers from liver disease, or who have been diagnosed with a liver disease, to talk about your concerns with a peer in a similar situation.

If you would like to be connected with a peer supporter in your area, or would like to join the peer support network, please call the National Help Line at 1 (800) 563-5483 Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM EST or email us.

Help us help you! 
If you are not satisfied with the information you just read or any information on our website, please take a moment to send us your comments and suggestions on the type of content you would like to find on liver.ca. Please include the page you are commenting about in the subject line of your email.